Due to issues caused by the Crowdstrike update, the Colorado Department of Revenue, Taxation Division is experiencing service disruptions. There currently is no timeline for when service levels are fully restored.


Daily Vehicle Rental Fee

The daily vehicle rental fee is imposed on all: 

  • Motor vehicle rentals of 30 days or less, and
  • Car sharing rentals lasting 24 hours or longer. 

Motor vehicle means any self-propelled vehicle with a gross vehicle weight rating of twenty-six thousand pounds or less that is designed primarily for travel on public highways and is generally and commonly used to transport people and property over public highways and low-speed electric vehicles. Low-power or electric scooters, electrical assisted bicycles, wheelchairs, or vehicles moved solely by human power are not motor vehicles.

Car sharing rental means the rental of a motor vehicle through an online platform that connects third-party vehicle owners with drivers to enable peer-to-peer car sharing within Colorado.

This fee is reported and paid using the Daily Vehicle Rental Fee Return (located below). Returns are filed on a monthly basis and must be filed by the 20th day of the month, following each reporting period. A return must be filed even if no fee is due.

The daily vehicle rental fee is calculated by multiplying the number of days each vehicle was rented during the month by the daily vehicle rental fee rate. If a vehicle is rented twice on the same day, each customer is charged this fee. If a vehicle is rented for more than 30 consecutive days by the same person, the rental is exempt from the daily vehicle rental fee. If a rental overlaps more than one period, report the number of days the vehicle was rented in each period separately.

Rentals made to the federal government for official use are not subject to the daily vehicle rental fee.

The rate may increase each year to adjust for inflation. Per statute, the Department is required to publish the new rate annually by April 15 for the upcoming rate effective in July. The rates are listed below:

Daily Vehicle Rental Fee Rates



Paper Form

Online Filing?

June 2022 and prior$2.00DR1777 (2015)View Only
July 2022 through June 2023$2.05DR1777 (2022)Yes
July 2023 through June 2024$2.13DR 1777 (2022)Yes

July 2024 through June 2025


DR 1777 (2022)