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Tax Topics: Penalties and Interest

If a taxpayer does not pay their tax by the applicable 

due date, they will owe penalty and interest. Interest 

rates may vary from year to year and are shown in the 

table appearing later in this publication. Penalty 

calculations vary depending on the type of tax (such as 

income tax, sales tax, severance tax, etc.). Taxpayers 

can calculate and pay the applicable penalty and 

interest on any late or amended return. The 

Department will issue a notice of deficiency for any 

unpaid penalty and interest that is due. In addition to 

interest and penalties for the late payment of tax, 

there are several other types of penalties that may be 

imposed under certain circumstances. 

This publication is designed to provide general 

guidance regarding penalties and interest for various 

Colorado taxes and is intended to supplement other 

guidance publications available online at 

Tax.Colorado.gov/guidance-publications. Nothing in 

this publication modifies or is intended to modify the 

requirements of Colorado’s statutes and regulations. 

Taxpayers are encouraged to consult their tax advisors 

for guidance regarding specific situations. 

Interest on late payments 

The interest due on the late payment of tax accrues 

from the original due date of the tax to the date the 

tax is paid. Since the interest rate may differ from year 

to year, it may be necessary to use multiple rates to 

calculate interest due. For example, if the tax was due 

April 15, 2022, but was not paid until October 1, 2023, 

the interest rate for 2022 will be used to calculate the 

interest accrued from April 15, 2022, to December 31, 

2022, and the interest rate for 2023 will be used to 

calculate the interest accrued from January 1, 2023, to 

October 1, 2023. 

Both the discounted and regular interest rates for each 

calendar year are shown in the following table. The 

discounted rate applies if the taxpayer pays the tax 

prior to the issuance of a notice of deficiency or if the 

taxpayer pays or makes an agreement to pay the tax 

within 30 days of the issuance of the notice of 

deficiency for the unpaid tax. These criteria for the 

discounted rate are prescribed by law. If the taxpayer 

does not meet the criteria necessary to qualify for this 

discounted interest rate, the regular rate applies. 

Interest accrues for only that part of the year in which 

the tax was due but not paid. For example, if tax due 

April 15, 2022, was paid on August 24, 2022, interest 

does not accrue over the entirety of 2022. Instead, 

interest accrues for only the 131 days between the due 

date and the date of payment. The daily interest rate 

used to compute interest accrued over partial years 

can be calculated by dividing the annual rate by 365 

days (or 366 days for leap years). 

Annual Interest Rates on Tax Underpayments 

Calendar year Discounted rate Regular rate 

2016 3% 6% 

2017 4% 7% 

2018 4% 7% 

2019 5% 8% 

2020 6% 9% 

2021 3% 6% 

2022 3% 6% 

2023 5% 8% 

2024 8% 11% 

2025 9% 12% 

https://tax.colorado.gov/guidance-publications
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Example 

A taxpayer files a 2021 individual income tax return on 

February 22, 2024. The return reports a total of $1,000 

in tax and $800 of wage withholding, resulting in a $200 

underpayment of tax, which the taxpayer pays with the 

return. The due date for 2021 income tax was April 15, 

2022, so interest accrues on the $200 underpayment 

from that due date to February 22, 2024, when the tax 

was paid. The taxpayer is eligible for the discounted 

interest rate because the tax is paid prior to the 

issuance of any notice of deficiency. Interest is 

calculated from April 15, 2022, to December 31, 2022, 

at an annual rate of 3%, for all of 2023 at an annual 

rate of 5%, and from January 1, 2024, to February 22, 

2024, at an annual rate of 8%. A total of $16.59 interest 

is calculated as follows: 

➢ $4.27 of interest is calculated at an annual rate of 

3% for the 260 days between the April 15, 2022, 

due date and the end of the calendar year on 

December 31, 2022. 

➢ $10.00 of interest is calculated at an annual rate 

of 5% for the full year of 2023. 

➢ $2.32 of interest is calculated at an annual rate of 

8% for the 53 days between January 1, 2024, and 

February 22, 2024, when the tax was paid. 

International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) 

The above interest rates do not apply to IFTA. Please 

visit the International Fuel Tax Agreement website for 

IFTA interest rates. 

Penalties 

Colorado law authorizes several kinds of civil tax 

penalties. The calculation of these penalties varies 

depending on the tax type and the circumstances in 

which the penalty is imposed. The most common of 

these penalties are for late payment of tax or for the 

failure to file a required return. More severe penalties 

may also be charged under a variety of other 

circumstances, such as negligence, fraud, or willful 

failure to file. 

This publication discusses only civil penalties and does 

not address any criminal penalties that may be imposed 

by law. 

Penalties for late filing and payment of tax 

If a taxpayer does not file a return or pay the tax due 

by the applicable due date, the taxpayer will owe a 

penalty. The calculation of such penalties varies by tax 

type and are described below. 

Cigarette tax 

The cigarette tax penalty for failure to file is $100. The 

cigarette tax penalty for late payment is a percentage 

of the unpaid tax equal to 10% plus ½% for each month 

the tax remains unpaid, not to exceed a total of 18%. 

Consumer use tax 

The consumer use tax penalty for failure to file, pay, or 

correctly account for the tax due is the greater of $15 

or a percentage of the unpaid, unaccounted, or 

incorrectly accounted tax equal to 10% plus ½% for 

each month the tax remains unpaid, not to exceed a 

total of 18%. 

https://www.iftach.org/
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Fuel excise tax 

The fuel excise tax penalty for failure to file is $100. 

The fuel excise tax penalty for late payment is the 

greater of $30 or a percentage of the unpaid tax equal 

to 10% plus ½% for each month the tax remains unpaid, 

not to exceed a total of 18%. 

International Fuel Tax Agreement (IFTA) 

The IFTA penalty failing to file, late filing, or 

underpaying the taxes due is the greater of $50 or 10% 

of the unpaid tax. 

Income tax 

The income tax penalty for late filing or payment is the 

greater of $5 or a percentage of the unpaid tax equal 

to 5% plus ½% for each full or partial month the tax 

remains unpaid, not to exceed a total of 12%. 

Liquor excise tax 

The liquor excise tax penalty for late payment is a 

percentage of the unpaid tax equal to 10% plus 1% for 

each month the tax remains unpaid. 

Marijuana sales tax and marijuana excise tax 

The marijuana sales and excise tax penalties for failure 

to file, pay, or correctly account for the tax due is the 

greater of $15 or a percentage of the unpaid, 

unaccounted, or incorrectly accounted tax equal to 10% 

plus ½% for each month the tax remains unpaid, not to 

exceed a total of 18%. 

Nicotine products tax 

The nicotine products tax penalty of $25 for failure to 

file is imposed if no tax is due. The nicotine products 

tax penalty for late payment is a percentage of the 

unpaid tax equal to 10% plus ½% for each month the tax 

remains unpaid. 

Passenger mile tax 

The passenger mile tax penalty for failure to file and 

pay the tax due is a percentage of the unpaid tax equal 

to 10% plus ½% for each month the delinquency 

continues, not to exceed a total of 18%. If the taxpayer 

files but fails to pay the tax due, the late payment 

penalty is 3% of the unpaid tax for each month the tax 

remains unpaid. 

Retailer’s use tax 

The retailer’s use tax penalty for failure to file, pay, or 

correctly account for the tax due is the greater of $15 

or a percentage of the unpaid, unaccounted, or 

incorrectly accounted tax equal to 10% plus ½% for 

each month the tax remains unpaid, not to exceed a 

total of 18%. Late payment of tax will also result in a 

disallowance of the service fee. 

Sales tax  

The sales tax penalty for failure to file, pay, or 

correctly account for the tax due is the greater of $15 

or a percentage of the unpaid, unaccounted, or 

incorrectly accounted tax equal to 10% plus ½% for 

each month the tax remains unpaid, not to exceed a 

total of 18%. Late payment of tax will also result in a 

disallowance of the service fee. 

Severance tax 

The severance tax penalty for late payment is the 

greater of $30 or 30% of the tax assessed. 

Tobacco products tax 

The tobacco products tax penalty of $25 for failure to 

file is imposed if no tax is due. The tobacco products 

tax penalty for late payment is a percentage of the 

unpaid tax equal to 10% plus ½% for each month the tax 

remains unpaid, not to exceed a total of 18%. 
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Wage withholding tax 

The wage withholding tax penalty for late filing or 

payment is the greater of $5 or a percentage of the 

unpaid tax equal to 5% plus ½% for each full or partial 

month the tax remains unpaid, not to exceed a total of 

12%. 

Other tax penalties 

In addition to penalties for failure to file or pay tax in a 

timely manner, the Department may impose a variety 

of other, often more severe penalties under certain 

circumstances. Other penalties that the Department 

may impose include the following penalties. 

Cigarette tax 

A cigarette tax penalty is imposed for the purchase or 

possession of unstamped cigarette. 

Fuel excise tax 

Fuel excise tax penalties may be imposed for the 

following reasons: 

➢ failure or refusal to file or pay; 

➢ filing of an incorrect or fraudulent return; 

➢ acting as a distributor, supplier, terminal 

operator, importer, exporter, or carrier without a 

valid license; and 

➢ blending dyed diesel without a valid license 

Income tax 

Income tax penalties may be imposed for the following 

reasons: 

➢ underpayment of estimated tax; 

➢ failure to pay a notice and demand for payment 

(“collection penalty”); 

➢ fraudulent or willful failure to file; 

➢ filing a fraudulent, frivolous, or willfully false 

return; 

➢ fraudulent failure to pay tax when due or willful 

attempt to evade tax; 

➢ negligence or disregard for laws, rules, or 

regulations, without intent to defraud; and 

➢ tax preparer’s willful or reckless disregard for 

applicable laws or rules. 

Marijuana sales tax and marijuana excise tax 

Marijuana sales tax and marijuana excise tax penalties 

may be imposed for fraud with intent to evade tax. 

They may also be imposed for negligence or intentional 

disregard of rules and regulations, without intent to 

defraud. 

Nicotine products tax 

A nicotine products tax penalty is imposed for the 

possession of untaxed nicotine products. 

Oil and gas severance tax withholding 

Oil and gas severance tax withholding penalties are 

imposed for failure to withhold and failure to file an 

annual reconciliation. 
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Passenger mile tax 

A passenger mile tax penalty is imposed for filing a 

false or fraudulent return with intent to evade tax. A 

penalty is also imposed for inclusion of an error in 

required records, either negligently or knowingly. 

Sales tax 

Sales tax penalties may be imposed for the following 

reasons: 

➢ fraud with intent to evade tax; 

➢ negligence or intentional disregard of rules and 

regulations, without intent to defraud; 

➢ unregistered vending machine; and 

➢ making retail sales without a valid license. 

Severance tax 

A severance tax penalty is imposed for negligence or 

disregard for law. 

Tobacco products tax 

A tobacco products tax penalty is imposed for 

possession of untaxed nicotine or tobacco products. 

Use tax 

Use tax penalties may be imposed (with respect to 

either consumer use tax or retailer’s use tax) for the 

following reasons: 

➢ fraud with intent to evade tax; and 

➢ negligence or intentional disregard of rules and 

regulations, without intent to defraud. 

Wage withholding tax 

Wage withholding tax penalties may be imposed for the 

following reasons: 

➢ failure to pay a notice and demand for payment 

(“collection penalty”); 

➢ fraudulent or willful failure to file; 

➢ filing a fraudulent, frivolous, or willfully false 

return; 

➢ fraudulent failure to pay tax when due or willful 

attempt to evade tax; 

➢ negligence or disregard for laws, rules, or 

regulations, without intent to defraud; and 

➢ tax preparer’s willful or reckless disregard for 

applicable laws or rules. 

Collection penalties 

Certain collection penalties authorized by law are not 

specific to a particular tax type and may be imposed 

for a variety of the taxes the Department administers. 

Corporate officer’s penalty 

A corporate officer’s penalty may be imposed on 

corporate officers or the members of a partnership or 

LLC for willful failure to collect, account for, and pay 

over any tax administered by the Department or for 

willfully attempting to evade or defeat any such tax or 

the payment thereof. Please see 1 CCR 201-1, Rule 39-

21-116.5 for additional information. 

Recurring distraint warrant penalty (RDWP) 

A penalty is imposed for the repeatedly failing, 

neglecting, or refusing to pay delinquencies and 

thereby requiring the issuance of distraint warrants to 

enforce the collection of unpaid taxes. 

https://www.sos.state.co.us/CCR/DisplayRule.do?action=ruleinfo&ruleId=1935&deptID=19&agencyID=122&deptName=Department%20of%20Revenue&agencyName=Taxation%20Division&seriesNum=1%20CCR%20201-1
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Returned check penalty 

A penalty is imposed for any check remitted to the 

Department for payment of tax, but that is returned to 

the Department unpaid due to insufficient funds, a 

closed account, or a stop payment order. 

Additional resources 

The following is a list of statutes and rules pertaining 

to tax penalties and interest. This list is not, and is not 

intended to be, an exhaustive list of authorities that 

govern the tax treatment of every situation. Individuals 

and businesses with specific questions should consult 

their tax advisors. 

Statutes and rules 

➢ § 24-35-114, C.R.S. Civil penalty for unpaid 

checks. 

➢ § 39-21-109, C.R.S. Interest on underpayment, 

non-payment, or extensions of time for payment 

of tax. 

➢ § 39-21-110.5, C.R.S. Rate of interest to be fixed. 

➢ § 39-21-114, C.R.S. Methods of enforcing 

collection. 

➢ § 39-21-116.5, C.R.S. Penalties - repeal. 

➢ § 39-22-621, C.R.S. Interest and penalties. 

➢ § 39-26-115, C.R.S. Deficiency due to negligence. 

➢ § 39-26-118, C.R.S. Recovery of taxes, penalty, 

and interest – repeal. 

➢ § 39-26-204, C.R.S. Periodic return – collection.  

➢ § 39-26-714, C.R.S. Vending machines – definitions. 

➢ § 39-27-105, C.R.S. Collection of tax on gasoline 

and special fuel - rules - repeal. 

➢ § 39-28-107, C.R.S. Unstamped packages. 

➢ § 39-28-108, C.R.S. Penalty. 

➢ § 39-28.5-106, C.R.S. Returns and remittance of 

tax - civil penalty. 

➢ § 39-28.5-110, C.R.S. Prohibited acts - penalties. 

➢ § 39-28.6-107, C.R.S. Returns and remittance of 

tax - civil penalty - rules. 

➢ § 39-28.6-111, C.R.S. Prohibited acts - penalties. 

➢ § 39-28.8-201, C.R.S. Retail marijuana sales tax - 

administration - enforcement. 

➢ § 39-28.8-301, C.R.S. Retail marijuana excise tax - 

administration - enforcement. 

➢ § 39-29-115, C.R.S. Penalties and interest. 

➢ § 42-3-308, C.R.S. Taxpayer statements - payment 

of tax - estimates - penalties. 

➢ § 42-3-309, C.R.S. Permit to be secured - records 

kept - penalties. 

➢ § 44-3-503, C.R.S. Excise tax - records - rules - 

definition. 

➢ Rule 39-21-116.5. Penalties for Officers or 

Members. 

➢ IFTA Articles of Agreement R1220 and R1230 

Forms and guidance 

⮚ Tax.Colorado.gov 

⮚ Tax.Colorado.gov/guidance-publications 

⮚ International Fuel Tax Agreement website 

https://tax.colorado.gov/
https://tax.colorado.gov/guidance-publications
https://www.iftach.org/

