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Prepaid Wireless Return
(See form on page 3)
General Instruction

Who must file a return:
All retailers and sellers who sell prepaid wireless telecommunication services must collect a prepaid 
wireless 911 charge, a telecommunications relay service (TRS) charge, and a prepaid wireless 988 
charge. The 911 and 988 charges are based on the number of transactions, and the TRS charge is 
based on the dollar amount of the telecommunication services sold. Lifeline-only providers who offer 
free prepaid lifeline services must pay the 911 and 988 charge on the number of transactions sold. An 
exemption is allowed on the TRS charge for the imputed value of federally supported lifeline services. 
The charges must be collected at the time a consumer purchases prepaid wireless service at a retail 
location in Colorado or on any purchase made by a consumer who has a Colorado address or whose 
mobile phone number is associated with a Colorado location.
When returns must be filed: 
Returns are due on the same day as the Colorado Sales / Use Tax Return. A return must be filed even 
if no balance is due. If no charge is due, enter zero on the total remitted line. This return must be filed 
or postmarked on or before the 20th of the month. 
Records: 
A copy of this return and records of both purchases and sales including sales invoices and purchase 
orders, must be retained for a period of three years. The burden of proof for exempt sales rests with 
the vendor. Retain copies of sales tax reports. Records must be available for inspection by authorized 
representatives of the Colorado Department of Revenue.

Return Instructions 
Line 1: Enter the number of prepaid wireless telecommunication transactions in the 911 charge and 

988 charge columns, including transactions of federally supported lifeline services. Enter 
the dollar amount sold in the TRS charge column. Include wholesale, retail, on-line and 
recharge sales, and the imputed value of federally supported lifeline services. The imputed 
value of federally supported lifeline services is the total value of the services as reimbursed 
by the Federal Communications Commission (FCC). 

Line 2: Enter the number of resale transactions in the 911 and 988 charge columns and the dollar 
amount sold in the TRS column. 

Line 3: Enter the imputed value of federally supported  lifeline services included on line 1.

Line 4: Add lines 2 and 3. Enter total prepaid  wireless telecommunication service not subject to 
the charge. 

Line 5: Subtract line 4 from line 1. Enter net prepaid  wireless telecommunication service subject to 
the charge. 

Line 6: Enter the 911 and 988 rates for the filing period. The TRS charge is already listed on this line.

Charge 2022 2023 2024 2025
911 $1.63 $1.71 $1.88 $2.09
988 $0.18 $0.27 $0.14 $0.07
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Line 7:	 Multiply line 5 by rate on line 6. Enter 911, 988, and TRS charge due. 

Line 8:	 Enter any additional 911, 988, and TRS charge collected from your customers not included 
on line 7. 

Line 9:	 Total charge collected. Add lines 7 and 8. 

Line 10:	 Service fee - If return is filed and paid on or before the due date, multiply line 9 by 3.3% 
(0.033). Enter amount. 

Line 11:	 Net 911, 988, and TRS charge due - Subtract line 10 from line 9. Enter amount. 

Line 12:	 Total charge due - Add all columns of line 11. Enter amount. 

Line 13:	 Penalty - If return and/or payment are filed after the due date, multiply line 12 by 10% (.10), 
plus  1/2% (.005) for each additional month, not to exceed 18%. Enter amount. 

Line 14:	 Interest - If return and/or payment is remitted after the due date, multiply line 12 by interest 
rate listed in Tax Topics: Penalties and Interest. Enter amount. 

Line 15:	 Total Remitted - Add lines 12, 13, and 14. Enter the total amount to remit with return. Check 
box if payment is made electronically. Make check or money order payable to the Colorado 
Department of Revenue. Write the account number on your check. 

Mail return and payment to: 
Colorado Department of Revenue
Denver, CO 80261-0009



Prepaid Wireless Return
Make checks or money orders payable to:
Colorado Department of Revenue

Mail to:
Colorado Department of Revenue, Denver, CO 80261-0009

Write your account number on your check and make a copy of the return for your records.
 Account Number  FEIN  SSN  Period (MM/YY-MM/YY)

–

Business Name or Taxpayer Last Name First Name Due Date (MM/DD/YY)

Address City State ZIP

0526-108Check if amended return 

  911 Charge   988 Charge   TRS Charge
1. Number of prepaid wireless transactions for 

the 911 and 988 charge. Dollar amount of 
prepaid wireless telecommunications sold for 
the TRS charge.  1

Number of Transactions Number of Transactions

$ 0 0 
2. Amount of line 1 sold to other licensed dealers 

for resale  2
Number of Transactions Number of Transactions

$ 0 0
3. Imputed value of federally supported lifeline  

services reported on line 1  3 $ 0 0
4. Total prepaid wireless telecommunication service 

not subject to the charge (add lines 2 and 3)  4
Number of Transactions Number of Transactions

$ 0 0
5. Net prepaid wireless telecommunication service 

subject to the charge (subtract line 4 from line 1)  5
Number of Transactions Number of Transactions

$ 0 0
6. 911 charge, 988 charge, and TRS charge rates  6 0.001
7. 911, 988, and  TRS charge due  

(multiply line 5 by rate on line 6)  7 $ 0 0 $ 0 0 $ 0 0

8. Excess 911, 988, and TRS charge collected  8 $ 0 0 $ 0 0 $ 0 0
9. Total 911, 988, and TRS charge collected (add 

lines 7 and 8)  9 $ 0 0 $ 0 0 $ 0 0

10. Service fee (multiply line 9 by 3.3% (.033))  10 $ 0 0 $ 0 0 $ 0 0
11. Net 911, 988, and  TRS charge due (subtract 

line 10 from line 9)  11 $ 0 0 $ 0 0 $ 0 0

12. Total charge due (add all columns of line 11)  12 $ 0 0
13. Penalty (multiply line 12 by 10% (0.1), plus 1/2% (.005) for each additional month,  

not to exceed 18%.)   13 $ 0 0

14. Interest (multiply line 12 by interest rate found in Tax Topics: Penalties and Interest).  14 $ 0 0

15. Total Remitted  (add lines 12, 13, and 14) Paid Electronically 15
$ 0 0

The State may convert your check to a one time electronic banking transaction. Your bank account may be debited as early as the same day received by the State. If converted, 
your check will not be returned. If your check is rejected due to insufficient or uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may collect the payment amount directly from your 
bank account electronically.

Signed under penalty of perjury in the second degree.
Signature Date (MM/DD/YY) Phone Number
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