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Disclosure of Colorado Expenditures and Revenues
** Due to rounding, the values in each chart may not sum to 100%

Revenues by Source

Source Percent
Taxes 37.8%
Charges for Goods & Services 18.4%
License, Permits & Fines 2.6%
Interest & Rents 0.8%
Federal Grants & Contracts 37.7%
Other  2.7%

Expenditures by Function

Function Percent
Education 36.5%
Social Assistance 37.7%
Business, Community, & Consumer Affairs 6.4%
Justice 5.3%
Transportation 4.3%
Other  9.9%



3

Disclosure of Average Taxes Paid by Income Group - 2020
Type of 
Taxes 
Paid Category

$0 
under 
$15K ¹

$15K 
under 
$30K

$30K 
under 
$40K

$40K 
under 
$50K

$50K 
under 
$70K

$70K 
under 
$100K

$100K 
under 
$150K

$150K 
under 
$200K

$200K 
and 
over Average ²

State
Individual 
Income $158 $404 $796 $1,132 $1,655 $2,520 $3,959 $5,888 $17,255 $3,007

State Sales and Use $308 $318 $407 $445 $517 $625 $869 $987 $2,272 $663
State Gasoline $82 $88 $121 $135 $156 $175 $195 $206 $346 $155

State

Driver License 
and Vehicle 
Registration 
Fees $96 $108 $138 $146 $161 $184 $208 $223 $353 $168

State
Alcoholic 
Beverages $2 $3 $4 $6 $6 $8 $11 $22 $37 $9

State
Cigarettes and 
Tobacco $48 $44 $55 $53 $55 $53 $46 $38 $46 $49

State

Total State 
Taxes Paid by 
Taxpayers $696 $966 $1,521 $1,916 $2,550 $3,565 $5,288 $7,365 $20,310 $4,051

Local
Residential 
Real Property $958 $1,234 $1,404 $1,531 $1,694 $2,224 $3,121 $4,364 $11,332 $2,648

Local Sales and Use $505 $522 $667 $729 $846 $1,024 $1,423 $1,617 $3,722 $1,086

Local
Specific 
Ownership ³ $133 $152 $199 $212 $236 $274 $313 $337 $545 $248

Local
Occupational 
Privilege 4 $11 $13 $14 $14 $14 $15 $15 $15 $15 $14

Local

Total Local 
Taxes Paid by 
Taxpayers $1,607 $1,921 $2,284 $2,487 $2,791 $3,536 $4,872 $6,334 $15,614 $3,995

Federal
Individual 
Income $558 $1,179 $2,069 $2,923 $4,554 $7,697 $12,913 $21,830 $99,531 $13,226

Federal Medicare $97 $265 $415 $535 $710 $995 $1,436 $1,984 $4,035 $972
Federal Social Security $416 $1,135 $1,775 $2,287 $3,038 $4,255 $6,141 $8,484 $10,189 $3,568

Federal

Total Federal 
Taxes Paid by 
Taxpayers $1,071 $2,579 $4,260 $5,744 $8,302 $12,948 $20,490 $32,297 $113,755 $17,766

Total

Total Taxes 
Paid By 
Taxpayers $3,375 $5,466 $8,065 $10,147 $13,643 $20,048 $30,650 $45,996 $149,678 $25,813

Total

Total Taxes 
Paid by 
Employers 5 $378 $1,159 $1,956 $2,563 $3,431 $4,807 $6,960 $9,599 $11,899 $4,027

Source: Colorado and Federal income tax return data and the United States Department of Labor’s Bureau of Labor 
Statistics Consumer Expenditure Survey
Note: The values presented in this table are estimates because actual values are not known. Income includes taxable and 
nontaxable income as well as transfer payments (such as public assistance, supplemental security income, and nutrition 
assistance).
¹  Households estimated to have negative income are excluded from this table because their taxes paid cannot be estimated. 

Negative income is associated with self-employment, investment losses, and other losses.
²  The Average represents the total taxes paid divided by the total number of income tax returns. The Average was calculated for 

each row by multiplying the average tax paid for each income group by the number of returns in that income group, and then 
summing those values together and dividing by the total number of returns. 

³  Specific ownership taxes are local property taxes on motor vehicles.
4  The occupational privilege tax is also known as the “head” tax.
5  Employers pay taxes to Medicare and Social Security on the employees’ behalf. This is distinct from the Medicare and Social 

Security taxes paid by individuals. 
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How To Use This Filing Guide
This filing guide will assist you with completing your Colorado Income Tax Return. Please read 
through this guide before starting your return. Once you have all of the information for your return, file 
it and pay any amount due on a computer, smartphone or tablet using our free and secure system 
at Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline. You may also file using private e-File software or with a paid tax 
preparer. Filing electronically significantly reduces the chance of errors. If you cannot file electronically, 
mail your return as instructed.
Please ensure that you submit any supporting forms, schedules, and documentation as requested in 
the instructions. All Colorado income tax forms and guidance publications are available at our official 
website, Tax.Colorado.gov.
The following symbols appear throughout this guide and point out important information, reminders 
and changes to tax rules.

This points out a topic that is the source of common filing errors. Filing your return on Revenue 
Online will reduce the risk of errors; however, it is important to understand the information on 
your return. Errors cause processing delays and erroneous bills.
This points out subtractions and tax credits that require you to provide supporting 
documentation. Not submitting the required documentation will cause processing delays or 
denial of the subtractions and credits. These documents can be scanned and attached to your 
electronic filing through Revenue Online or most tax software, mailed with the DR 1778 or 
included with your paper return.
In-depth tax information is available in our easy to understand guidance publications, which include 
examples and worksheets. This symbol lets you know when such a publication is available for a 
subject. All guidance publications are available at Tax.Colorado.gov/guidance-publications.

Filing Information
Who Must File This Tax Return
Generally, you must file a Colorado income tax return if you:

• Are required to file a federal income tax return with the IRS for the tax year, or 

• Have a Colorado income tax liability for the tax year,
And you are:

• A full-year Colorado resident (you must file DR 0104 or DR 0104EZ), or

• A part-year Colorado resident who received taxable income while residing here (you must file 
DR 0104 with DR 0104PN), or

• Not a Colorado resident, but received income from Colorado sources (you must file DR 0104 
with DR 0104PN).
Colorado residents must file a Colorado return if they are required to file an income tax return 
with the IRS, even if they do not have a Colorado tax liability. Otherwise, the Department may 
file a return on your behalf and our return might not consider your unique tax situation. Also, the 
only way to determine if you are entitled to a refund is to file a return.

Due Date
Your Colorado income tax return and payment for any tax owed are due April 15. Revenue Online will 
accept returns as timely filed until midnight. Mailed returns and payments must be postmarked by April 15. 
An automatic extension to file is granted until October 15, but there is no extension to pay. If you need 
to make a payment before filing, see form DR 0158-I in this book. If a due date falls on a weekend or legal 
holiday, the return or payment will be due the next business day.

https://www.colorado.gov/revenueonline/_/
http://Tax.Colorado.gov
http://Tax.Colorado.gov/guidance-publications
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Deceased Persons
A surviving spouse or personal representative may file a return for a deceased taxpayer. A personal 
representative can be an executor, administrator, or anyone who is in charge of the deceased 
taxpayer’s property. If a deceased taxpayer had tax withheld, a return must be filed to get a refund.

Enter the Return
•	 Use the deceased taxpayer’s federal filing status for the tax year. For a joint return, also enter the 

surviving spouse’s information.

•	 Mark the Deceased checkbox after the deceased taxpayer’s name.

•	 Enter the address where you want to receive any correspondence from the Department 
regarding the return.

•	 Claim all credits, subtractions, and deductions to which the deceased taxpayer is entitled.
Sign the Return
•	 A surviving spouse must sign on the appropriate line and write “Filing as Surviving Spouse” 

after the signature.

•	 A legal representative must complete the Third Party Designee section, sign in place of the 
deceased, and write “Filing as Legal Representative” after the signature.
You must submit with the return:
•	 A copy of the death certificate; and
•	 If applicable, a Claim for Refund on Behalf of a Deceased Taxpayer (DR 0102).

Filing Status
You must file using the same filing status on both your federal and Colorado income tax returns. 
Any two individuals who legally file a joint federal income tax return must also file a joint 
Colorado income tax return. Individuals filing jointly must enter the taxpayer and spouse in the 
same order on both the federal and Colorado returns. For married filing separately, do not list 
your spouse’s information on your return.

Claiming Credits from a Partnership or S Corporation
To claim a tax credit as a partner or shareholder, obtain Colorado form DR 0106K from the partnership 
or S corporation. Enter the credit from DR 0106K on your return, and submit a copy of DR 0106K 
with your return. The partnership or S corporation must also file DR 0106K with their return, and 
the Department will verify your credit claim by reviewing the partnership or S corporation’s return.

Instructions for the DR 0104
First, complete the federal income tax return you will file with the IRS. You will use information from 
that return on your Colorado return. Colorado income tax is based on your federal taxable income, 
which has already considered your deductions.

Residency Status
Mark the appropriate box for your residency status. If you are filing a joint return, and one person is 
a full-year Colorado resident and the other is either a part-year resident or a nonresident, mark the 
Part-Year Resident/Nonresident box.

Part-Year Colorado Residents and Nonresidents
Tax is prorated so that it is calculated only on income received in Colorado or from sources within 
Colorado. We recommend you review Income Tax Topics: Part-Year Residents & Nonresidents if this 
applies to you. You will calculate your prorated tax by completing the DR 0104PN. You must submit 
the DR 0104PN along with the DR 0104.
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Persons Traveling or Residing Abroad
If you are traveling or residing outside the United States on April 15, the deadline for filing your return 
is June 15. If you need additional time to file your return, you will automatically have until October 15 
to file. Interest is due on any tax paid after April 15. To avoid any late payment penalties, you must 
pay 90% of your tax liability by April 15, file your return by October 15 and pay any remaining tax 
due at the time of filing. If the due date falls on a weekend or legal holiday, return will be due the next 
business day. When filing your return, mark the “Abroad on Due Date” box on Revenue Online or 
the paper return.

Active Duty Military
Under federal law, a military servicemember’s state of legal residence does not change solely as 
the result of the servicemember’s assignment for service in another state. Consequently, a Colorado 
resident who enters into military service will remain a Colorado resident unless they officially change 
their state of legal residence as described in DD Form 2058. 
In general, military servicemembers who are Colorado residents are subject to the same income 
tax filing requirements as other Colorado residents, even if they are serving in another state. 
These requirements are described on the preceding page, under the heading “Who Must File 
This Tax Return.” 
However, a military servicemember who spends at least 305 days of the tax year stationed outside of 
the United States on active military duty may elect to be treated as a nonresident. The servicemember 
may make this election by filing a return and checking the applicable box on Form 104PN.
Military servicemembers who are stationed in Colorado, but are not Colorado residents, are not 
required to pay Colorado tax on their military income. However, any other Colorado source income of 
a nonresident servicemember is subject to Colorado taxation.
Please see Tax.Colorado.gov/military-servicemembers for additional information.

These rules also apply generally to a servicemember’s spouse who is residing with the 
servicemember either inside or outside of Colorado in compliance with the servicemember’s 
military orders. If a servicemember and their spouse are nonresidents stationed in Colorado, 
any wages earned by the spouse for work performed in Colorado are not subject to Colorado 
taxation. The military spouse must complete a DR 1059, provide a copy to their employer when 
hired for employment, and submit a copy to the Department, along with a copy of their military ID 
card, with their Colorado return each year. The DR 1059 may be filed through Revenue Online, 
with DR 1778, or included with a DR 0104 filed by paper.

Taxpayer and Spouse Information 
Enter the following information in the provided fields. If filing jointly, enter your spouse’s information. 
Otherwise, leave the spouse’s information blank. 

• First name, last name, and date of birth. 

• Social Security Number (S S N) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (I T I N).

• The following information from your current driver license or state identification card: The state of 
issuance, the last four characters of the ID number, and the date of issuance.

• Your mailing address and phone number. The Department will use the address provided to mail 
letters regarding your income tax account.

Dependents
Enter the name, Social Security Number (S S N) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (I T I N), 
and year of birth for all of your dependents. 

https://tax.colorado.gov/military-servicemembers
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Check the “Deceased” box for a child who was born and died in this tax year and was not assigned 
an S S N or I T I N. Unless this box is checked, each dependent listed must have an S S N or I T I N 
issued by the IRS on or before the due date for this return (including extensions).

If you check the “Deceased” box, you must submit a copy of the child’s birth certificate, death 
certificate, or hospital records showing a live birth with your return.

If you have more than five dependents, you must file your return electronically. You can use our free 
and secure system at Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline, private e-File software, or a paid tax preparer. 
Filing electronically significantly reduces the chance of errors.

Who qualifies as your dependent?
For Colorado income tax purposes, your dependents will generally be the same as the dependents 
you claimed on IRS form 1040. The instructions for IRS form 1040 and IRS Publication 501, can help 
you determine whether a person is your dependent. There may be additional or different requirements 
for you to claim a particular Colorado tax credit for a dependent. However, you should list all of your 
dependents in this section even if you cannot claim them for any Colorado tax credits.

Does the dependent qualify for the Colorado child tax credit?
If a dependent meets the following requirements, check the Child Tax Credit box. In general, the 
dependent must be a qualifying child for federal income tax purposes in order to check the box. 

• The dependent must be your son, daughter, stepchild, foster child, brother, sister, half brother, half 
sister, stepbrother, or stepsister, or a descendant of any of them (for example, your grandchild, 
niece, or nephew) (see Relationship Test in the Qualifying Child section of IRS Publication 501).

• The dependent must be under age 17 at the end of the tax year.

• The dependent must have lived with you for more than half of the tax year (see Residency Test in 
the Qualifying Child section of IRS Publication 501).

• The dependent must not have provided more than half of their own support for the tax year (see 
Support Test in the Qualifying Child section of IRS Publication 501).

• The dependent must not be filing a joint return for the tax year (unless that joint return is filed only to claim 
a refund of withheld income tax or estimated tax paid) (see Joint Return Test in the Qualifying Child 
section of IRS Publication 501).

If you check the Child Tax Credit box, go to form DR 0104CN to determine whether you qualify for the 
Colorado child tax credit.

Colorado Health Coverage Easy Enrollment
Colorado taxpayers can now share certain information from their state tax return with the Colorado 
Health Benefit Exchange (Connect for Health Colorado) and the Colorado Department of Health Care 
Policy & Financing to find out if they qualify for free or reduced-cost health coverage (Colorado Law: 
39-21-113(25) C.R.S). If you give your permission, the Department of Revenue will share only the 
information on form DR 0104EE which includes:

• Name and date of birth for you, your spouse, and everyone listed on your taxes as your 
dependent (your tax household).

• Social Security Number (S S N) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (I T I N) for you, your 
spouse, and your dependents. (This is optional for each person.)

• Your address, phone number, and email address so they can contact you.

• Your income.

• Whether you filed your return electronically or on paper.

https://www.colorado.gov/revenueonline/_/
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This information will only be used to check if you can enroll in health coverage and qualify for help 
paying for coverage. For more information about getting health coverage, visit Connect for Health 
Colorado at https://connectforhealthco.com.
To see if you or members of your household qualify for free or reduced-cost health coverage, check 
the box on DR 0104 page 3 if: 

• At least one person in your household does not have health coverage; and

• You give permission for the Colorado Department of Revenue to share the information on Form 
DR 0104EE with Connect for Health Colorado (the Colorado Health Benefit Exchange) and the 
Department of Health Care Policy & Financing.

To share your information, complete form DR 0104EE and submit it with your return. If you 
are using software, the software may autofill the form for you, but check it to make sure it is 
accurate and complete. 

Instructions for the DR 0104EE
Section A: Household Contact Information
Complete this information so Connect for Health Colorado can contact you to help you enroll in 
health coverage. Make sure your name, phone number, email address, and mailing address are 
correct and complete. 

Section B: Household Member and Income Information
Complete this information so Connect for Health Colorado can check if you or members of your 
household qualify for free or reduced-cost health coverage. Your household includes yourself, your 
spouse, and everyone you claim as a dependent on your federal income tax return. Dependents are 
usually children who live with you but may include other relatives you support financially. 
Line 1: Enter your tax household size here. Include yourself, your spouse, and everyone you 
claim as a dependent on your federal income tax return.
Line 2: Enter your adjusted gross income from your federal income tax form 1040, 1040 SR, or 
1040 SP, line 11.
Line 3: Enter the information about yourself, your spouse, and dependents in the table below. For each 
person the Social Security Number (S S N) or Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (I T I N) is optional.

Line 1 Federal Taxable Income
Enter your federal taxable income from your federal income tax form 1040, 1040 SR, or 
1040 SP, line 15.
If your federal taxable income is a negative amount, enter the amount as negative on your Colorado 
return. On a paper return, put the negative amount in parentheses, for example ($1,234). 

Do not enter your total income or wages on this line because it will make your tax too high. 
The Department will compare the amount you list here to the return you file with the IRS, so be 
careful to complete this correctly.

Additions
Line 2 State Addback
You must enter on line 2 any state income tax deducted on Schedule A of their federal return, subject 
to certain limitations. If you are a partner or shareholder in a partnership or S corporation that claimed 
a federal deduction for state income taxes, you must also include on line 2 your distributive or pro rata 
share of any state income tax deducted by the partnership or S corporation. Your distributive or pro 

https://connectforhealthco.com
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rata share of state income taxes deducted by a partnership or S corporation should appear on line 9 
of the Colorado form DR 0106K that you received from the partnership or S corporation.
Taxpayers are not required to enter on line 2 any general sales taxes they deducted on Schedule A of 
their federal return.

For additional information, please see the Department publication Income Tax Topics: State Income 
Tax Addback, available online at Tax.Colorado.gov/individual-income-tax-guidance-publications.

Line 3  Qualified Business Income Deduction Addback
There are two cases where you may be required to add back the amount of a deduction for qualified 
business income under section 199A of the Internal Revenue Code.
If you claimed a deduction for qualified business income under section 199A of the Internal Revenue 
Code (IRS form 1040, line 13), and your adjusted gross income is greater than $500,000 ($1,000,000 
if filing jointly) (IRS form 1040, line 11), you are required to add to federal taxable income an amount 
equal to that deduction. You must add back the entire deduction regardless of the extent to which 
your adjusted gross income exceeds the threshold. This addback does not apply to a taxpayer who is 
required to file a federal Schedule F, Profit or Loss From Farming, with their federal income tax return.
Alternatively, if you are a partner in a partnership that made a SALT Parity Election or a shareholder in 
an S corporation that made a SALT Parity Election, you are required to add to federal taxable income 
an amount equal to your qualified business income under section 199A of the Internal Revenue Code. 
You must add back the entire deduction regardless of your adjusted gross income. This addback 
is not limited to the deduction taken with respect to the electing partnership or S corporation. The 
partnership or S corporation will indicate that it made the election by marking the SALT Parity Election 
box on the Colorado K-1 (DR 0106K) issued to you.

Line 4 Standard or Itemized Federal Deduction Addback 
Taxpayers who have federal adjusted gross income exceeding $300,000 in tax year 2024 may be 
required to add back itemized or standard deductions over a certain amount in this line. 
If your federal return filing status was single, married filing separately or head of household 
AND the following conditions apply:

Your federal adjusted gross income as reported on line 11 of IRS Form 1040 exceeds $300,000 and
Your itemized or standard deductions on line 12 of IRS Form 1040 exceed $12,000. 

Then the required addback amount is calculated by subtracting $12,000 from the amount on line 12 
of IRS Form 1040. This amount should be reduced by any state income tax deduction from Schedule 
A of your federal return that is already added back on line 2 of Colorado Individual Income Tax 
Return DR 0104. 
The required addback is not reduced by any amount of state income tax addback on line 2 of your Colorado 
form 104 attributable to your share of state income tax deducted by a partnership or S corporation.
If the filing status for your federal return was married filing jointly AND the following conditions apply:

Your federal adjusted gross income as reported on line 11 of IRS Form 1040 exceeds $300,000 and 
Your itemized or standard deductions on line 12 of IRS Form 1040 exceed $16,000.

Then the required addback amount is calculated by subtracting $16,000 from line 12 of IRS Form 1040. 
This amount should also be reduced by any state income tax deduction from Schedule A of your federal 
return that is already added back on line 2 of Colorado Individual Income Tax Return DR 0104. 
The required addback is not reduced by any amount of state income tax addback on line 2 of your Colorado 
form 104 attributable to your share of state income tax deducted by a partnership or S corporation.

https://tax.colorado.gov/individual-income-tax-guidance-publications
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Line 5 Business Meals Deduction Addback
Enter on line 5 the full amount of any federal deduction claimed for business meals on line 24b of 
Schedule C of Form 1040. Also include on line 5 any business meals addition from line 10 in Column 
A on any Colorado K-1 (DR 0106K) issued to you by a partnership or S corporation.

Line 6 Non-qualifying Distribution addback (CollegeInvest Tuition Savings)
An account holder must make an addition on their Colorado return for any distribution, refund, or withdrawal 
from a qualified state tuition program for any reason other than one of the following qualifying reasons: 

•	 To pay qualified higher education expenses (discussed in Department publication Income Tax 
Topics: 529 Contribution Subtraction);

•	 As a result of a beneficiary’s death or disability;

•	 As a result of receiving a scholarship during the tax year in an amount equal to or greater than the 
distribution, refunds, or withdrawals made; or

•	 As a result of a change in the designated beneficiary for the account, as described in Chapter 7 of 
IRS Publication 970.

Line 7 Non-qualifying Distribution addback (Colorado ABLE)
An account holder must make an addition on their Colorado return for any distribution, refund, or withdrawal 
from a qualified ABLE program if used for a purpose other than one of the following qualifying reasons: 

•	 To pay qualified disability expenses (discussed in Department publication Income Tax Topics: 
ABLE Subtraction);

•	 As a result of a beneficiary’s death or disability;

•	 As a result of a change in the designated beneficiary for the account, as described in the “ABLE 
Account” section of IRS Publication 907.

Line 8 Other Additions
Enter the sum of the following and specify which addition(s) in the text box:

•	 Bond interest: Interest earned from bonds issued by any state or political subdivision, but 
not bonds issued by the State of Colorado or its political subdivisions on or after May 1, 1980. 
Subtract the amortization of bond premiums and expenses (required to be allocated to interest 
income by the Internal Revenue Code) from the gross amount of state and local bond interest. 
We recommend that you read the Individual Income Tax Guide if this applies to you.

•	 Charitable gross conservation easement: Federal charitable deduction for a 
conservation easement that is also claimed for a Colorado tax credit. Complete the 
DR 1305 Part D.

•	 Alien labor: Expenses for unauthorized alien labor services. We recommend that you read the 
Individual Income Tax Guide if this applies to you.

•	 Partnership/Fiduciary: Any fiduciary adjustment that increases your federal taxable income and 
any other Colorado additions from line 11 in Column A on any Colorado K-1 (DR 0106K) issued to 
you by a partnership or S corporation. 

•	 Expenses you incurred with respect to expenditures made at, or payments made to, a club that 
restricts membership on the basis of sex, sexual orientation, gender identity, gender expression, 
marital status, race, creed, religion, color, ancestry or national origin.

•	 Distributions from a medical savings account not made for an eligible expense.
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Line 9 Subtotal
Enter the sum of lines 1 through 8.

Line 10 Subtractions from the DR 0104AD Schedule, line 25
Transfer the amount from the DR 0104AD line 25 to report any subtractions from your Federal 
Taxable Income. These subtractions will change your Colorado Taxable Income from the amount 
of Federal Taxable Income. See instructions in the income tax booklet for additional guidance on 
completing this schedule. Do not enter negative amounts. To ensure faster processing of your paper 
return, the amount entered on line 10 must exactly match the amount on the DR 0104AD. You must 
submit the DR 0104AD with your return.

Line 11 Colorado Taxable Income
Subtract line 10 from line 9. This is your Colorado taxable income and is the figure used to determine 
how much Colorado tax is owed, if any.

Part-Year Residents or Nonresidents, go to the DR 0104PN. 
Full-Year Residents, continue to Line 12
Line 12 Colorado Tax
The income tax rate is currently 4.25%. Full-year residents should refer to the tax table in this booklet. 
Determine the tax for the amount on line 11. Part-year residents and nonresidents should transfer 
the apportioned tax amount from the DR 0104PN line 36. You must submit the DR 0104PN along 
with the DR 0104.

Line 13 Alternative Minimum Tax
Enter the amount of any Alternative Minimum Tax. Generally, if you owe alternative minimum tax on 
your federal income tax return, you will also owe it for your Colorado return. We recommend that you 
read the Individual Income Tax Guide if this applies to you.

Line 14 Recapture of Prior Year Credits
Enter any credit claimed in prior years that is subject to recapture under Colorado law.

Line 15 Subtotal
Sum of lines 12 through 14.

Tax Credits
Visit Tax.Colorado.gov/Income-Tax-Credits to read more about which tax credits can be claimed on this form.

Line 16 Nonrefundable Credits
Complete the DR 0104CR to claim various nonrefundable credits. Transfer the amount from the 
DR 0104CR line 63 to this line. The nonrefundable credits used from the DR 0104CR combined 
with the total nonrefundable credits from lines 17, 18 and 19 cannot exceed line 15. To ensure faster 
processing of your paper return, the amount entered on line 16 must exactly match the amount on the 
DR 0104CR. You must submit the DR 0104CR with your return.

Scan and submit any required documentation through Revenue Online E-Filer 
Attachment, attach to your electronic return or mail paper documentation with the DR 1778 
E-Filer Attachment.

Line 17 Nonrefundable Enterprise Zone Credits
Use your tax software, Revenue Online or the DR 1366 to calculate the total amount of 
Nonrefundable Enterprise Zone Credits being used to offset the current year tax liability. Complete 
the DR 1366 and transfer line 26 to this line. The total Nonrefundable Enterprise Zone Credit used 
combined with nonrefundable credits from lines 16, 18 and 19 cannot exceed the amount on line 15. 

https://tax.colorado.gov/income-tax-credits
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You must submit the DR 1366 and a copy of each certificate with your return. 
The Department strongly recommends electronic filing for taxpayers with enterprise zone 
credits. Failure to file electronically may result in delays processing your return.

Line 18 Nonrefundable CHIPS Zone Credit
Use your tax software, Revenue Online or the DR 1370 to calculate the total amount of 
Nonrefundable CHIPS Zone Credit being used to offset the current year tax liability. Complete the 
DR 1370 and transfer line 22 to this line. The total Nonrefundable CHIPS Zone Credit used combined 
with the nonrefundable credits from lines 16, 17, and 19 cannot exceed the amount on line 15. 

You must submit the DR 1370 and a copy of each certificate with your return.
The Department strongly recommends electronic filing for taxpayers with CHIPS Zone 
credits. Failure to file electronically may result in delays processing your return.

Line 19 Strategic Capital Tax Credits
Use your tax software, Revenue Online or the DR 1330 to calculate the total amount of 
nonrefundable Strategic Capital Tax Credits being used to offset the current year tax liability. 
Complete the DR 1330 and transfer amount on line 8b to this line. The total nonrefundable 
Strategic Capital Tax Credits used combined with nonrefundable credits from lines 16, 17 and 18 
cannot exceed the amount on line 15. 

You must submit the DR 1330 and a copy of each certificate with your return. 
The Department strongly recommends electronic filing for taxpayers with 
Strategic Capital Tax credits. Failure to file electronically may result in delays 
processing your return.

Line 20 Net Income Tax
Sum of lines 16, 17, 18 and 19. Subtract that sum from line 15. This cannot be a negative number.

Line 21 Colorado Income Tax Withheld
Enter the sum of all Colorado income tax withheld as reported on any W-2, W-2G and 1099 statements.

Submit your Colorado withholding forms with your return. If filing electronically, scan and attach 
them to your return or submit them as an E-Filer Attachment at Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline.
Failure to submit your withholding forms will result in this amount being adjusted. Do not include 
withholding for federal income tax, income tax from another state, or income tax from local 
governments. Withholding from Colorado real estate sales by nonresidents or nonresident 
beneficiary withholding should be included only on line 25.

Line 22 Prior-year Estimated Tax Carryforward
Enter the amount, if any, from your 2023 Colorado DR 0104 line 37.

Line 23 Quarterly Estimated Payments
Carefully review your payment(s) before completing this line. Use Revenue Online 
(Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline) to verify estimated taxes paid on your account. Doing so will reduce 
processing delays. Most taxpayers who have made quarterly estimated payments used the DR 
0104EP to remit these payments. Refer to the Individual Income Tax Guide for more information 
about Estimated Payments.

Line 24 Extension Payment
Enter the amount, if any, you remitted with the DR 0158-I to ensure 90% of your tax was paid by the 
filing due date.

https://www.colorado.gov/revenueonline/_/
https://www.colorado.gov/revenueonline/_/
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Line 25 Other Prepayments
Enter the sum of payments remitted on your behalf because you received Colorado income from:

•	 an estate or trust as a beneficiary – remitted using the DR 0104BEP, and/or

•	 a real estate transaction that closed during the tax year for which you are filing this return – 
remitted using the current DR 1079.

Be sure to mark corresponding box(es) as appropriate.

Line 26 Gross Conservation Easement Credit
Complete all applicable parts of the DR 1305. Enter the amount from the DR 1305G line 33. You must 
submit the DR 1305G with your return.

Line 27 Innovative Motor Vehicle and Innovative Truck Credits for a Vehicle You 
Purchased or Leased

Enter the total from form DR 0617 line 10. For more information, refer to the Department guidance 
publications regarding these credits.

For each vehicle or truck for which you are claiming a credit, you must submit with your return:
•	 A completed DR 0617;

•	 A copy of the purchase invoice or lease agreement; and

•	 Proof of permanent Colorado registration.
If you assigned the credit to a financing entity or motor vehicle dealer, you cannot claim the 
credit. If you are a motor vehicle dealer or financing entity with assigned credits, use form DR 
0619 and line 29 below instead.

Line 28 Refundable Credits
Complete the DR 0104CR to claim various refundable credits. Transfer the amount from the DR 0104CR 
line 23 to this line. You must submit the DR 0104CR with your return.

See the DR 0104CR for the required documentation for the credit claimed. Submit using Revenue 
Online, attach to an electronically filed return as a PDF or include with your paper return.

Line 29 Additional Credit from Form DR 0619
Enter the amount form DR 0619 line 3 or 10 if you are:

•	 A motor vehicle dealer or financing entity that accepted assignment of innovative motor vehicle or 
innovative truck credits; or

•	 A qualified retailer that sold qualified electric bicycles with the required discount.
Submit the DR 0619 when claiming credit on this line.

Line 30 Subtotal
Sum of lines 21 through 29.

Modified Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) for TABOR Sales Tax Refund
Lines 31 through 34 are only used to calculate your TABOR amount, and do not affect your 
Colorado tax liability.

Line 31 Federal Adjusted Gross Income
Enter your adjusted gross income from your federal income tax form1040, 1040 SR, or 1040 SP line 11.
If your federal adjusted gross income is a negative amount, enter the amount as negative on 
your Colorado return. If submitting a paper return, put the negative amount in parentheses, for 
example ($1,234).
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Line 32 Nontaxable Social Security Income
Refer to your federal income tax form 1040, 1040 SR, or 1040 SP lines 6a and 6b. Subtract line 6b 
from line 6a and enter the result here.

Line 33 Nontaxable Interest Income from State and Local Bonds
Refer to the DR 0104 line 8. If you entered any bond interest on line 8, enter the amount of bond 
interest income here.

Line 34 Modified AGI for TABOR Amount
Sum of lines 31 through 33.

Line 35 TABOR State Sales Tax Refund
To be eligible for this refund:

•	 You must be a full-year Colorado resident;

•	 Your return must be postmarked or transmitted by October 15, 2025;

•	 In general, you must be 18 or older as of January 1, 2024. If you were under 18 as of January 1, 
2024, you must either have a Colorado tax liability (line 2 must be greater than 0) or be claiming a 
refund of Colorado wage withholding on a W-2;

•	 You must not have been convicted of a felony and incarcerated in a correctional facility operated 
by or under contract with the Colorado Department of Corrections or Federal Bureau of Prisons 
for 180 days or more during the year; and

•	 A deceased person must have met all applicable requirements as of the date of their death.
If you are eligible, look up your TABOR state sales tax refund amount in the table. First, find the 
column for your modified AGI from line 34. Then go down that column to the row for your filing status. 
Enter the amount from that box on line 35.
The TABOR state sales tax refund will be applied first against your income tax liability for this year. 
We will also intercept your refund if you owe other taxes or debts to the State of Colorado or the IRS. 
For more information, see the “Intercepted Refunds” section in these instructions.

Line 36 Sum of lines 30 and 35
Enter the sum of line 30 (Subtotal) and line 35 (TABOR State Sales Tax Refund).
Compare lines 20 and 36. If line 20 is greater, skip to line 40. If line 36 is greater, 
continue to line 37.

Line 37 Overpayment
If line 36 is greater than line 20, subtract line 20 from line 36.

Line 38 Estimated Tax Carryforward
Enter any amount from line 37 that you would like to be available for 2025 estimated tax.

Line 39 Refund
Subtract line 38 from line 37. This is your refund. You may authorize the Department to directly 
deposit your refund to your bank or CollegeInvest account. Otherwise, a refund check will be mailed 
to the address entered on this return.

•	 Direct Deposit: Enter the routing number, account number, and account type. The routing 
number is 9 digits. Account numbers can be up to 17 characters with numbers and letters. Include 
hyphens, but do not enter spaces or special symbols. Contact your financial institution to ensure 
you are using the correct information and they will honor a direct deposit. See the sample check 
below to assist you in finding the account and routing numbers.
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You can direct deposit your tax refund into a new or existing CollegeInvest account. Call 1-800-
448-2424 or visit CollegeInvest.org for more information.

• Intercepted Refunds: The Department will intercept your refund if you owe taxes or other debts 
to the State of Colorado or the IRS. If you are filing a joint return and only one party is responsible 
for the unpaid debt, you may submit a written claim to: Colorado Department of Revenue, Injured 
Spouse Desk, PO Box 17087, Denver, CO 80217-0087. Claims must include a copy of your 
federal income tax return, federal form 8379, and all W-2, W-2G, and 1099 statements received 
by both parties. Do not include your claim with this return because it will not be processed.

Line 40 Net Tax Due
If line 36 is less than line 20, subtract line 36 from line 20. This is the amount you owe with this return. 
If you are filing after the due date or you owe estimated tax penalty, continue to the next line. If you 
are filing timely and do not owe penalty or interest, go to line 44.

Line 41 Delinquent Payment Penalty
Calculate any penalty owed for delinquent filing or payment. The penalty is the greater of $5 or 5% 
of the net tax due for the first month after the due date and increased by 0.5% for each additional 
month past the due date. The maximum penalty is 12%. If you prefer not to calculate this penalty, the 
Department will bill you.

Line 42 Delinquent Payment Interest
Calculate any interest owed for delinquent filing or payment. For more information, see Tax Topics: 
Penalties and Interest at Tax.Colorado.gov/guidance-publications.

Line 43 Estimated Tax Penalty
To calculate this penalty, complete form DR 0204. Enter any estimated tax penalty owed on 
this line. You must submit the DR 0204 with your return. If you over compute your estimated 
tax penalty from what the Department calculates, any amount of overpayment of penalty will be 
refunded to you.

Scan and submit the DR 0204 through Revenue Online E-Filer Attachments or submit the form 
with your paper return.

Line 44 Amount You Owe
Enter the sum of lines 40 through 43. Please note: Any assessment made by the Department will 
likely include delinquent payment penalty and interest. The only way to avoid paying penalty and 
interest is to pay in full by the filing due date. You have three payment options:

• Pay Online: After submitting your return on Revenue Online, you will be given the 
opportunity to submit an online payment. A small processing fee may apply. If you file a 
paper return, you may still choose to pay electronically. See the payment options available at 
Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline.

• Pay by Mail: For a paper return, you may mail a check or money order with your return. If you 
file electronically but want to pay by mail, complete form DR 0900 and mail it with your payment. 

http://CollegeInvest.org
https://tax.colorado.gov/guidance-publications
https://www.colorado.gov/revenueonline/_/
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Make your check or money order payable to “Colorado Department of Revenue” and clearly write 
your Social Security number and “2024 DR 0104” on the memo line. Be sure to keep a copy of the 
money order or note the check number with your tax records. 

• Payment Plan: The Department will issue a bill for any unpaid balance due. When you receive 
the bill, you may set up a payment plan as instructed on the bill. 

Third Party Designee
Mark the “Yes” box to appoint the person entered on your return as the designee to receive and 
inspect confidential tax information related to this tax return. If a firm or organization is listed, this tax 
information authorization will apply to any of its employees. The designee may:

• Call the Department for information about the return, including processing time and refund status;

• Request copies of notices, bills or transcripts related to the return; and

• Respond to inquiries regarding calculations and supporting documentation for the return.
However, a designee cannot sign any form or protest, request any other change to the account, 
receive any refund, or otherwise represent or act on behalf of the taxpayer with the Department. 
This authorization expires four years after the date the return is signed. A taxpayer may change 
or revoke it, or an appointee may withdraw from it. For more information, see the instructions 
for form DR 0145.

Sign Below
The law requires the return to be signed under penalty of perjury.

W-2s and 1099s 
All W-2s and 1099s that show Colorado income tax withholding must be submitted with your 
return. For a paper return, mail copies with your return. For an electronic return, attach scanned 
copies to the return. If you are unable to attach copies to your e-filed return, submit an e-Filer 
Attachment at, Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline, or mail with form DR 1778.

Taxpayer Service and Assistance
Revenue Online and Secure Messaging
The Department offers many services through Revenue Online. You can file or amend a return, submit 
required return attachments, monitor your account activity, pay taxes, check the status of a refund, file a 
protest and send a secure message to Department staff. Visit Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline to get started.

Taxation Website
Visit the official Colorado Department of Revenue’s Taxation Division website, Tax.Colorado.gov, for 
tax forms, guidance publications, education resources, legal research and more.

Call Center
Representatives are available Monday through Friday, 8 a.m. to 4:30 p.m.
303-238-SERV (7378)
TTY/TDD 800-659-2656

Taxpayer Service Centers
If you need assistance, information, forms, or have questions, we have 5 service center locations 
across the state in Colorado Springs, Denver Metro, Grand Junction, Fort Collins, and Pueblo. 
Addresses, directions, operating hours, and appointment scheduling are available on our webpage at 
Tax.Colorado.gov/Visit-a-Service-Center.  

https://www.colorado.gov/revenueonline/_/
https://tax.colorado.gov/
http://Tax.Colorado.gov/Visit-a-Service-Center
https://www.colorado.gov/revenueonline/_/
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Common Issues
Did Not Receive W-2 Statement from Your Employer

• Contact your employer to request a copy, or

• Use the year-to-date (YTD) Colorado wages and withholding amounts from your final paycheck 
stub to complete a Substitute W-2, form DR 0084. Submit both the final paycheck stub and 
DR 0084 with your return.

Records Retention
Keep all documentation you used to prepare your return at least 4 years after the due date, which 
is the statute of limitations for the Department to make changes to your return. However, if the 
Department does not receive your return, they may file on your behalf using the best information 
available. There is no statute of limitations for assessment if a return is not filed.

Correcting Errors or Changing a Return
You may amend your return using our free and secure system at Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline, even 
if the original return was filed on paper. Revenue Online has all the information from your original 
return, so you will not need to re-enter everything. 

• If you cannot amend online, you can mail form DR 0104X. Make sure you use the appropriate 
form version for the year you are amending. 

• You must amend your Colorado return to report any change to an item or amount determined 
under the Internal Revenue Code that is used to compute Colorado income tax. You must file an 
amended return regardless of whether the federal adjustment results from an IRS audit or other 
action, or your filing of an amended federal return. An amended Colorado return is due within 
180 days after a federal adjustment is finalized. See Part 8 of the Colorado Individual Income Tax 
Guide for more information. 
It is very important that you submit all schedules and supporting documentation for any 
changes with your amended return. You must submit all schedules, even if you are not 
changing those values.

Estimated Tax Requirements
If you expect next year’s Colorado tax liability to be greater than $1,000 after subtracting credits, 
you should make estimated tax payments using the DR 0104EP. We recommend that you read the 
Individual Income Tax Guide for additional information.

Filing Errors and Incomplete Information
It is important to read all the information available for your specific tax situation and to submit all 
required documentation with your return. Failure to do so may result in delayed processing of your 
return and refund, if any. We recommend that you file using Revenue Online to avoid common 
mathematical errors. You may also opt to use a commercial tax preparation software program or a 
paid tax professional to help you complete your return.

Earned Income and Child Tax Credits and Colorado Insurance Programs
Individuals with lower income or qualifying children may be eligible for the refundable 
federal and state Earned Income and Child Tax Credits and low-cost health insurance 
through Child Health Plan Plus (CHP+). For more information about these tax credits, go to 
Tax.Colorado.gov/CTC-EITC or call Colorado United Way at 211. For more information about CHP+, 
go to HCPF.Colorado.gov/chp or call 1-800-359-1991.

https://www.colorado.gov/revenueonline/_/
http://Tax.Colorado.gov/CTC-EITC
https://hcpf.colorado.gov/chp
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Instructions for the DR 0104AD - Subtractions from Income Schedule
If you use this schedule to claim any subtractions from your income, you must 
submit it with the DR 0104.
Line 1 State Income Tax Refund
Refer to your federal income tax return to complete this line. If you did not complete federal Schedule 
1, Form 1040, 1040SR, 1040NR, or 1040SP, enter $0. Otherwise, enter the amount from line 1, 
Schedule 1, Form 1040, 1040 SR, 1040 NR, or 1040 SP.

Line 2 U.S. Government Interest
Enter the sum of all interest earned from U.S. government bonds, treasury bills and other obligations 
of the U.S. or its territories, possessions and agencies that you reported on your federal income tax 
return and is calculated as part of your federal taxable income. We recommend that you read the 
Individual Income Tax Guide if this applies to you.

Do not include interest earned from Federal National Mortgage Association and Government 
National Mortgage Association (Fannie Mae and Ginnie Mae). Dividends from mutual funds may 
not be 100% exempt.

Line 3 Social Security Benefits
You may be able to subtract some or all of the social security benefits you received that were included 
in your federal taxable income. If you were 65 years of age or older on December 31, 2024, you 
may claim the subtraction for the entire amount of the social security benefits you received that 
were included in your federal taxable income. If you were under age 65 on December 31, 2024, the 
subtraction you may claim is limited to $20,000. Additionally, if you were under age 55 on December 
31, 2024, you can claim the subtraction only for social security benefits you received due to the death 
of the person originally entitled to the benefits.
If the filing status for your federal return was single, married filing separately, or head of household, 
enter on line 3 the amount from line 6b of your Federal Form 1040, but if you were under age 65 on 
December 31, 2024, do not enter more than $20,000. If you filed a joint return, enter on line 3 only the 
primary taxpayer’s social security benefits from line 6b of the federal return. Submit copies of all SSA 1099 
statements with your return. See Department publication Income Tax Topics: Social Security, Pensions, 
and Annuities if you are filing a joint return and both you and your spouse received social security benefits.

Line 4 Pension and Annuity Subtraction
You might be eligible to subtract the income you earned from a pension or annuity. We recommend 
that you read publication Income Tax Topics: Social Security, Pensions & Annuities if this applies to 
you. This subtraction is allowed only for pension or annuity income that is included in your federal 
taxable income. Do not enter any social security benefits on line 4. Instead, qualifying individuals may 
claim a subtraction for social security benefits on line 3. The amount of subtraction you can claim is 
also limited based upon your age. As of December 31, 2024, if you were: 

•	 Age 65 or older, then you may subtract $24,000 minus any amount entered on line 3, or the total 
amount of your taxable pension/annuity income, whichever is smaller; if the amount in line 3 of this form 
is greater than $24,000, you may not claim any subtraction for pension and annuity income on line 4; or 

•	 At least 55 years old, but not yet 65, then you may subtract $20,000 minus any amount entered 
on line 3, or the total amount of your taxable pension/annuity income, whichever is smaller; if 
the amount on line 3 of this form is $20,000, you may not claim any subtraction for pension and 
annuity income on line 4; or 

•	 Younger than 55 years old and you received pension/annuity income as a secondary beneficiary 
(widow, dependent child, etc.) due to the death of the person who earned the pension/annuity, 
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then you may subtract $20,000 minus any amount entered on line 3, or the total amount of your 
secondary beneficiary taxable pension/ annuity income, whichever is smaller; if the amount on line 3 
of this form is $20,000, you may not claim any subtraction for pension and annuity income on line 4.

Pension/annuity income should not be intermingled between spouses. Each spouse must meet the 
requirements for the subtraction separately and claim the subtraction only on their pension/annuity 
income. Any qualifying spouse pension/annuity income should be reported on line 6. Submit copies of 
all 1099R statements with your return. Submit using Revenue Online or include with your paper return.

Line 5 Spouse Social Security Benefits
A secondary taxpayer listed on a jointly filed return may be able to subtract some or all of the social 
security benefits they received that were included in their federal taxable income. If the secondary 
taxpayer was 65 years of age or older on December 31, 2024, they can claim the subtraction for 
the entire amount of social security benefits they received that were included in their federal taxable 
income. If the secondary taxpayer was under age 65 on December 31, 2024, the subtraction 
they may claim is limited to $20,000. Additionally, if the secondary taxpayer was under age 55 on 
December 31, 2024, they can claim the subtraction only for social security benefits they received due 
to the death of the person originally entitled to the benefits.
Enter on line 5 only the secondary taxpayer’s social security benefits included on line 6b of Federal 
Form 1040, but do not enter more than $20,000 if the secondary taxpayer was under age 65 on 
December 31, 2024. See Department publication Income Tax Topics: Social Security, Pensions, and 
Annuities if both you and your spouse received social security benefits. The sum of the amounts 
entered on lines 3 and 5 of form DR 0104AD cannot exceed the total amount entered on line 6b of 
Federal Form 1040. Submit copies of all SSA 1099 statements with your return.

Line 6 Spouse Pension and Annuity Subtraction 
If the secondary taxpayer listed on a jointly filed return is eligible for the pension and annuity subtraction, 
enter the qualifying amount on this line. Review the instructions for line 4 for information about 
qualifications and limitations. Qualifying spouses may claim a subtraction for social security benefits on 
line 5. We recommend that you read publication Income Tax Topics: Social Security Benefits, Pensions, 
and Annuities if this applies to you. Take precautions to report the subtraction on the correct line. The 
first person listed on the return shall report on line 4 and the second person listed shall report on line 6.

Line 7 Military Retirement Subtraction 
You might be eligible to subtract the income you earned from your military retirement benefits. We 
recommend that you read publication Income Tax Topics: Military Servicemembers if this applies to 
you. This subtraction is allowed only for military retirement income that is included in your federal 
taxable income. To qualify, you must have been 54 years of age or younger as of December 31, 2024. 
If you meet the age requirement, then you are entitled to subtract $15,000 or the total amount of your 
taxable military retirement benefits, whichever is smaller.

Military retirement benefits should not be intermingled between spouses. Each spouse must meet 
the requirements for the subtraction separately and claim the subtraction only on their military 
retirement benefits. Any qualifying spouse military retirement benefits should be reported on line 8. 
Submit copies of all 1099R statements with your return. Submit as attachments when e-filing or 
using Revenue online, or include with your paper return. 

Line 8 Spouse Military Retirement Subtraction 
If the secondary taxpayer listed on a jointly filed return is eligible for the military retirement 
subtraction, enter the qualifying amount on this line. Review the instructions for line 7 to see 
what amount qualifies. We recommend that you read publication Income Tax Topics: Military 
Servicemembers if this applies to you. 
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Take precautions to report the subtraction on the correct line. The first person listed on the return 
must report on line 7 and the second person listed must report on line 8.

Line 9 Colorado Agricultural Land Capital Gain Subtraction
If you are required to file federal Schedule F (Profit or Loss from Farming), and you sold agricultural 
land in Colorado, you might be eligible to subtract some or all of the capital gain included in your 
federal taxable income. The amount of this subtraction is limited to $100,000. We recommend that 
you read Income Tax Topics: Colorado Capital Gain Subtraction if this applies to you.

You must complete each item on the DR 1316 and submit it with your return. Be as detailed 
as possible, especially when providing property descriptions, ownership, and dates of 
acquisition and sale.
You must include a copy of the most recent property tax statement for the property sold, federal 
Schedule F, and either federal Schedule D or federal form 4797 with your return.

Line 10 CollegeInvest Contribution
Individuals can claim a subtraction on their Colorado income tax returns for qualifying contributions they 
made to a qualified state tuition program administered by CollegeInvest, subject to certain limitations. We 
recommend that you read the publication Income Tax Topics: 529 Contribution Subtraction if this applies to you.
Taxpayers claiming a subtraction for a CollegeInvest contribution must complete the applicable fields 
for line 10 to indicate the amount of the contribution, the account holder’s name, and the account 
holder’s social security number (S S N) or individual taxpayer identification number (I T I N). These 
fields for line 10 must be completed even if the taxpayer or their spouse is the account holder. If you 
made qualifying contributions to more than one CollegeInvest account, you must file electronically.
Do not deduct contributions made to a tuition savings plan for another state or any tuition you paid 
while attending school. Do not deduct contributions made by your employer or business to your 
College Invest account on this line. To claim pass-through credits for employer contributions to 
employee 529 qualified state tuition accounts, please refer to the instructions on form DR 0289 and 
report the credit on the applicable credit schedule.
The amount a taxpayer can subtract is limited. The limitation applies with respect to each beneficiary 
for whom the taxpayer makes qualifying contributions and depends in part on whether the taxpayer 
files their return as a joint or single filer. For taxpayers filing a joint return, the limitation applies jointly, 
rather than separately. If the taxpayer makes contributions to both a qualified state tuition program 
and a qualified ABLE program for the same beneficiary during the tax year, the aggregate subtraction 
the taxpayer can claim for these contributions is subject to the limitation. Per-Beneficiary Limits for the 
2024 tax year: Single Filers: $22,700, Joint Filers: $34,000.
If you are claiming for more than one beneficiary, you must file electronically.

Line 11 Colorado ABLE Contribution
Individuals can claim a subtraction for qualifying contributions they made during the tax year to 
a qualified Achieving a Better Life Experience (ABLE) program administered by Colorado ABLE, 
subject to certain limitations. We recommend that you read the publication Income Tax Topics: ABLE 
Contribution Subtraction if this applies to you.
Taxpayers claiming a subtraction for an ABLE contribution must complete the applicable fields for line 
11 to indicate the amount of the contribution, the account holder’s name, and the account holder’s social 
security number (S S N) or individual taxpayer identification number (I T I N). These fields for line 11 must be 
completed even if the taxpayer or their spouse is the account holder. If you made qualifying contributions 
to more than one ABLE account, you must file electronically. Do not deduct contributions made to a 
qualified ABLE program for another state.
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The amount a taxpayer can subtract is limited. The limitation applies with respect to each beneficiary 
for whom the taxpayer makes qualifying contributions and depends in part on whether the taxpayer 
files their return as a joint or single filer. For taxpayers filing a joint return, the limit applies jointly, 
rather than separately. If the taxpayer makes contributions to both a qualified state tuition program 
and a qualified ABLE program for the same beneficiary during the tax year, the aggregate subtraction 
the taxpayer can claim for these contributions is subject to the limitation. Per-Beneficiary Limits for the 
2024 tax year: Single Filers: $22,700, Joint Filers: $34,000.
If you are claiming for more than one beneficiary, you must file electronically.

Line 12 Qualifying Charitable Contributions
Taxpayers who make charitable contributions that would be eligible for a federal income tax 
deduction, but do not claim federal itemized deductions on Schedule A of form 1040, 1040SR, 
1040NR, or 1040SP, might be eligible to deduct a portion of their contribution on this form. We 
recommend that you read publication Income Tax Topics: Charitable Contributions if this applies to 
you. Use the following worksheet to determine your qualifying contribution.
(a) Did you itemize your deductions on Schedule A of federal form 1040, 1040SR, 

1040NR, or 1040SP?  Yes No

(b) Did you deduct charitable contributions on Schedule A of federal form 1040, 
1040SR, 1040NR, or 1040SP?  Yes No

If you answered Yes on either (a) or (b) above, enter $0 on line 12; you do not qualify for this 
subtraction. If you answered No on both (a) and (b) above, continue below.
(c) Enter the amount you could have deducted as charitable contributions on lines 11  

and 12 of federal Schedule A (lines 2 and 3 on Schedule A of federal form 1040NR)  $
(d) Colorado adjustment 
(e) Subtract line (d) from line (c). This is the qualifying amount. If the amount is 

greater than $0, transfer to line 12  
Enter the total contributions in the space provided and the subtraction after the $500 adjustment on line 12.

Do not enter an amount on this line if you already deducted your charitable donation on 
Schedule A of the federal form 1040, 1040SR, 1040NR, or 1040SP. Otherwise, you will be 
issued an assessment that will likely include penalty and interest.
For claims greater than $5,000, submit the receipts you received at the time of donation. For in-kind 
donations, submit an itemized list of the donated items and their fair market value. Submit using Revenue 
Online or include with your paper return. Do not send receipts of items that were purchased for donation. 

Line 13 Qualified Reservation Income
List any amount of income that was derived wholly from reservation sources by an enrolled tribal member 
who lives on the reservation, which was included as taxable income on the Federal income tax form.

Submit proof of tribal membership, residence, and source of income. This must be submitted 
every three years by taxpayers claiming this subtraction.

Line 14 PERA/DPSRS Subtraction
If you made contributions to PERA between July 1, 1984, and December 31, 1986, or to Denver 
Public Schools District No. 1 Retirement during 1986 and your 2024 federal taxable income includes 
pension income, see Department publication Income Tax Topics: Social Security, Pensions, and 
Annuities to determine if you can take a subtraction for any of your pension income.

$500
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Submit a copy of your previously taxed contribution. PERA statements can be obtained from 
COPERA.org or by calling 1-800-759-7372. Submit using Revenue Online or include with 
your paper return.
Do not list the amount of contributions you made as an employee this past year.

Line 15 Railroad Benefit
List any railroad retirement benefits that you reported on your federal income tax return and is 
calculated as part of your federal taxable income. We recommend that you read Department 
publication Income Tax Topics: Social Security, Pensions, and Annuities if this applies to you.

Submit copies of all RRB-1099 and RRB-1099R Statements. Submit using Revenue Online or 
submit with your paper return.

Line 16 Wildfire Mitigation Measures
Enter 50% of the amount of your qualifying costs incurred in performing wildfire mitigation on your 
land, up to $2,500. We recommend that you read Department publication Income Tax Topics: Wildfire 
Mitigation to properly calculate this subtraction.

Submit copies of receipts for qualified costs for wildfire mitigation for your property. Submit using 
Revenue Online or submit with your paper return.

Line 17 Colorado Marijuana and Natural Medicine Business Deduction
For Colorado-licensed marijuana or natural medicine businesses, list any expenditure that is eligible 
to be claimed as a federal income tax deduction but is disallowed by section 280E of the Internal 
Revenue Code because marijuana and natural medicine are controlled substances under federal law.
To calculate this deduction, you must create pro forma federal schedule(s) for Business Profit or 
Loss as if the federal government would have allowed the expenditures from the marijuana or natural 
medicine business. The Colorado deduction is the difference between the profit or loss as calculated 
on the actual schedule(s) filed with the federal return and the pro forma schedule(s) described above. 

You must submit the pro forma schedule(s), the actual federal schedule(s), and your license 
number from the Colorado Marijuana Enforcement Division (M E D) or Natural Medicine Division 
(N M D) with your Colorado return. Submit using Revenue Online or submit with your paper return.

Line 18 Nonresident Disaster Relief Worker Subtraction
For nonresident individuals, enter the amount of compensation earned for performing disaster-
related work in the state during a declared state disaster emergency and for the 60 days thereafter. 
Disaster-related work includes repairing, renovating, installing, building, or rendering services that 
relate to infrastructure that has been damaged, impaired, or destroyed by a declared state disaster 
emergency or providing emergency medical, firefighting, law enforcement, hazardous material, 
search and rescue, or other emergency service related to a state declared disaster emergency. Enter 
the executive order number(s) from the Colorado governor’s office that declared the state disaster 
emergency in format “D YYYY-###.”

This subtraction is only available to nonresident individuals. If you are a full-year resident of 
Colorado, you are not eligible for this subtraction.

Line 19 Reacquisition of Colorado Residency During Active Duty Military Service Subtraction
This subtraction is only allowed to military servicepersons who meet several requirements. In 
order to qualify for the subtraction the serviceperson must (1) have Colorado as his or her home 
of record, (2) after enlisting in the military, have acquired legal residency in a state other than 
Colorado, and (3) on or after January 1, 2016, have reacquired Colorado residency. If you meet 
these three requirements, enter the amount of compensation included in your federal taxable 
income that you received for active duty service after reacquiring Colorado residency.

https://copera.org/
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In order to have acquired residency in another state, you must have:
1. been physically present in that state;
2. intended to make that state your permanent home, and;
3. intended to abandon your previous state of legal residence.

In order to reacquire residency in Colorado, you need not be physically present in Colorado, but you 
must intend to both make Colorado your permanent home and to abandon your previous state of 
legal residence. 

Submit with your return: (1) a military form showing Colorado as his or her home of record, (2) 
evidence of acquiring residency in another state, and (3) evidence of reacquiring residency in 
Colorado during the tax year. Evidence of acquiring residency in another state and reacquiring 
residency in Colorado must come in one of the following forms:

1. voter registration;
2. records reflecting the purchase of residential property or an unimproved residential lot;
3. motor vehicle titling and registration;
4. notification to your prior state of legal residence of your intention to change your state of legal residence;
5. preparation of a new last will and testament reflecting your state of legal residence.

Line 20 First-time Home Buyer Savings Account Interest Deduction
You must complete the DR 0350 and submit with your return if you are claiming this deduction. You 
may only deduct the amount of taxable interest or other income earned on the qualified account in the 
tax year claimed. This deduction is subject to recapture.

Line 21 Employee Subtraction for Employer Contribution to Home Savings Account
Enter on the amount of any employer contribution received and included in your federal taxable 
income that qualified for the employer assistance for home purchase credit. Do not enter any amount 
that is not included in your federal taxable income. Please see Department publication Income Tax 
Topics: Employer Contributions to Home Savings Accounts for additional information.

Line 22 F A M L I Benefits Received
Enter the amount of any Family and Medical Leave Insurance (F A M L I) benefits included in federal 
taxable income. If you received F A M L I benefits during the year, you should receive IRS form 1099-
G from the F A M L I Division (Colorado Department of Labor and Employment) unless the benefits 
were paid by a private plan. Subtract only the amount of F A M L I benefits, if any, included on line 7 
of Schedule 1 (IRS form 1040, 1040-SR, and 1040-NR). For example, if you reduced the amount 
reported on line 7 for contributions, you may only subtract the reduced amount. If you received form 
1099-G from the F A M L I Division, include a copy with your return.

Line 7 of Schedule 1 may also include unemployment compensation paid during the tax year. 
You may not subtract any amount related to unemployment compensation. If you received 
and reported both unemployment compensation and F A M L I benefits during the tax year, 
you must limit your subtraction to the amount of F A M L I benefits reported on line 7. If you 
received only unemployment compensation during the tax year, you are not allowed to take any 
subtraction on this line.

Line 23 Other Subtractions from Federal Taxable Income
Enter the sum of all other allowable subtractions. For more information about what to enter on this 
line, see the Income Tax – Subtractions page on Tax.Colorado.gov.

https://tax.colorado.gov/
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Do not include amounts that were earned outside Colorado, net operating losses, military 
income, wage adjustments, repayments for which IRC section 1341 credits were claimed, or 
donations made to the Military Family Relief Fund on this line. Include a clear explanation of the 
subtraction being claimed on your return.

Line 24 Subtractions Allowed Under HB21-1002 
Under HB21-1002, taxpayers may claim a subtraction for tax years commencing in 2021 in relation to 
certain retroactive provisions of the CARES Act that were required to be added to federal taxable income 
under HB20-1420. For complete instructions on how to calculate this subtraction, please see the CARES 
Act guidance publication available at Tax.Colorado.gov/individual-income-tax-guidance-publications. 
This line is for any carryforward subtractions from the 2021 tax year. 

Line 25 Subtotal
Enter the sum of lines 1 through 24.

https://Tax.Colorado.gov/individual-income-tax-guidance-publications
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Instructions for Select Credits from the DR 0104CR
Line 1 Child Tax Credit
You may be allowed to claim a Colorado child tax credit if you have a qualifying child and your 
adjusted gross income does not exceed applicable limits. You must complete the DR 0104CN and 
attach it to your return. See the DR 0104CN for additional instructions on eligibility. Transfer the 
amount from line 11 of the DR 0104CN into this line if you are a full-year resident. If you are a part-
year resident, enter the amount from line 13 of the DR 0104CN.

Line 2 Child Care Expenses Credit (DR 0347 and DR 0104CR Part I)
Taxpayers who pay child care expenses during the year and whose Adjusted Gross Income is 
$60,000 or less may be able to claim a child care expenses credit. Use form DR 0347 to calculate this 
credit and submit it along with the form DR 0104CR. 

Lines 3 through 6 Colorado Earned Income Tax Credit (E I T C) for S S N Filers:
Line 3 Earned income calculated for your federal return
In order to calculate your Federal earned income tax credit, you must determine your amount 
of earned income. You may use the Earned Income Credit Worksheet (EIC Worksheet) and the 
Earned Income Credit (EIC) Table in the instruction booklet for Federal Form 1040, 1040SR, or 
1040SP or use the E I T C Assistant Tool online: 
IRS.gov/Credits-&-Deductions/Individuals/Earned-Income-Tax-Credit/Use-the-EITC-Assistant. It is 
available in both English and Spanish.
Line 4 Federal E I T C
Enter the amount from Federal Form 1040, 1040SR, or 1040SP line 27.
Line 5 C O E I T C
Multiply line 4 by 50% (0.50) to calculate your Colorado E I T C.
Line 6 Part-Year Residents Only
Multiply line 5 by the percentage on the DR 0104PN line 34. (If the percentage exceeds 100%, 
use 100%.) This is the portion of the Colorado E I T C you are allowed.

Line 7 Business Personal Property Credit for Individual Business Owners
If you paid business personal property tax in 2024, calculate and claim this credit as follows. Real 
property (real estate) is not eligible for this credit.

1. Either find the actual value of your personal property on your assessor statement, or find your 
assessed value and assessment rate and use this formula:

Actual Value = Assessed Value / Assessment Rate
The assessment rates for tax year 2023 paid in 2024 are 26.4% (0.264) for agricultural or 
renewable energy production property or 27.9% (0.279) for all other nonresidential property. 
For example, an assessed value of $6,975 and an assessment rate of 27.9% would give a 
calculation of $6,975 divided by 0.279 for an actual value of $25,000.
If you are claiming credit as partner or shareholder in a partnership or S corporation that paid business 
personal property tax, you must include in this calculation your distributive or pro rata share of the total 
actual value of the personal property on which the partnership or S corporation paid the tax.

2. Determine your credit amount, which is equal to the tax on up to $18,000 of the actual value of 
your personal property.
(a) If the actual value is less than or equal to $18,000, your credit is equal to 

the tax assessment.

https://www.IRS.gov/Credits-&-Deductions/Individuals/Earned-Income-Tax-Credit/Use-the-EITC-Assistant
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(b)	 If the actual value is more than $18,000, use this formula:
Credit = (18,000 / Actual Value) * Tax Assessment

For example, an actual value of $25,000 and tax of $2,000 would give the following 
calculation: Divide $18,000 by $25,000, then multiply by $2,000, resulting in a credit of 
$1,440, which is 72% of the tax.
If you are claiming credit as partner or shareholder in a partnership or S corporation that paid 
business personal property tax, you must include in this calculation your distributive or pro rata 
share of the business personal property tax paid by the partnership or S corporation.

3.	Enter the credit on your return, and you must submit a copy of the assessor statement with your return.
Line 8 Refundable Renewable Energy Tax Credit
If you earned renewable energy investment tax credits by placing renewable energy investments in 
service after January 1, 2015, but before January 1, 2021, and you made an election to make such 
credits refundable, complete form DR 1366 and enter the refundable credit amount from line 27 of 
that form. You must submit the DR 1366 with your return.

Line 9 C O E I T C for I T I N Filers or Certain Filers Under Age 25
You may be able to claim a Colorado Earned Income Tax Credit (C O E I T C) on this line if you could 
not claim a federal E I T C because: 

•	 You, your spouse, or your dependents have an Individual Taxpayer Identification Number (I T I N) 
or a Social Security Number (S S N) that is not valid for employment; or

•	 You had no qualifying children but meet the requirements for certain filers under age 25.
In addition, if you were able to claim a federal E I T C, but you were not able to include some of your 
dependents only because they have an I T I N or S S N that is not valid for employment, then you may 
be able to claim a higher C O E I T C on this line. 
In order to claim this credit:

1.	Complete the eligibility checklist included with form DR 0104TN. 
2.	If you are eligible, complete form DR 0104TN to calculate the credit. 
3.	Enter your C O E I T C on line 9 of form DR 0104CR.
4.	Submit your DR 0104TN with your return. For more information, see the DR 0104TN instructions.

Line 10 Early Childhood Educator Income Tax Credit
If you were an early childhood educator for at least six months during tax year 2024, you might 
be able to claim a credit based on your credentials. You can claim this credit only if your adjusted 
gross income does not exceed $75,000 (if you are a single filer) or $150,000 (if you are filing jointly). 
Please see Department publication Income Tax Topics: Early Childhood Educator Credit for additional 
information. You must complete and submit form DR 1703 with your return to claim the credit.

Line 11 Partner’s or shareholder’s share of tax paid with composite return or SALT Parity election
If you were a partner in a partnership or shareholder in an S corporation, you may claim a credit for 
tax paid on your behalf with either a composite return or a SALT Parity Act election. Enter the amount 
from line 16 of any Colorado K-1 (DR 0106K) you received from the partnership or S corporation, 
as well as any amount from line 25 of the DR 0106K. If you received credit from more than one 
partnership or S corporation, enter the total of these lines from all Colorado K-1 forms received.
If any Colorado K-1 you received indicates that the partnership or S corporation made a SALT Parity 
election, you must add back your qualified business income deduction on line 3 of the DR 0104. Refer 
to the instructions for line 3 for more information.
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Submit all Colorado K-1 forms received when claiming credit on this line 11.

Line 12 Credit for conversion costs to an employee-owned business model 
A credit is available to current Colorado-headquartered businesses and their employees to provide 
an incentive to establish or expand eligible employee ownership structures. The credit must be 
certified by the Office of Economic Development and International Trade and the certificate must be 
submitted with any return claiming the credit. For additional information about the credit, please visit 
OEDIT.Colorado.gov/employee-ownership-tax-credit 

Line 13 Alternative Transportation Options Credit
Prior to claiming an alternative transportation options credit, you must file an annual employer plan 
report on form DR 1323. Information regarding the alternative transportation options credit is available 
in Department publication Income Tax Topics: Alternative Transportation Options Credit and online at 
Tax.Colorado.gov/alternative-transportation-option-tax-credit.

Line 14 Heat Pump Credit for Registered Contractors
This credit is allowed only to a heat pump tax credit contractor that is registered with the Colorado 
Energy Office. To earn the credit, the registered contractor must provide a discount from the amount 
charged for the installation of qualifying heat pump technology in Colorado, and the discount must 
be shown as a separate item on the receipt or invoice. For information about the credit, please see 
Department form DR 1322 and visit EnergyOffice.Colorado.gov/hptc.
Enter the amount from form DR 1322 line 7, but do not submit DR 1322 with your return.

Line 15 Refundable Residential Energy Storage Systems Credit 
A refundable income tax credit is available for sellers who install qualifying residential energy storage 
systems into residential buildings in Colorado and who were assigned the credit by the building 
owner. The credit is only refundable if it is assigned to the seller. The refundable credit is the amount 
from form DR 1307 line 10. If the credit was not assigned to you, you must claim the credit on Line 58 
of this form DR 0104CR.

Submit the DR 1307 when claiming this credit.

Line 16 Certified Greenhouse Gas Avoidance Credits
Submit a copy of the credit certificate issued by the Colorado Energy Office. Enter on this line any of 
the following credits certified by the Colorado Energy Office:

• Industrial Clean Energy Credit

• Geothermal Energy Expenditure Credit 

• Geothermal Energy Production Credit 

• Sustainable Aviation Fuel Production Credit

• Clean Hydrogen Credit
For information about the Industrial Clean Energy Credit and Geothermal Energy Credits, please visit 
EnergyOffice.Colorado.gov/citco and EnergyOffice.Colorado.gov/geothermal-tax-credit. 

Line 17 Food Accessibility Credit
Submit a copy of the credit certificate issued by the Colorado Department of Agriculture. For information about 
the credit, please visit AG.Colorado.gov/markets/markets-funding/community-food-access-program .

Line 18 Electric-Powered Lawn Equipment Credit for qualified retailers
For information about the credit, please see Department publication Income Tax Topics: Electric-
Powered Lawn Equipment Credit, available online at Tax.Colorado.gov/guidance-publications. 

http://OEDIT.Colorado.gov/employee-ownership-tax-credit
https://Tax.Colorado.gov/alternative-transportation-option-tax-credit
https://energyoffice.colorado.gov/hptc
https://energyoffice.colorado.gov/citco
https://energyoffice.colorado.gov/geothermal-tax-credit
https://ag.colorado.gov/markets/markets-funding/community-food-access-program
http://Tax.Colorado.gov/guidance-publications
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Line 19 Colorado Film Incentive Credit
Submit a copy of the credit certificate issued by the Colorado Office of Film, Television and Media. For 
information about the credit, please visit OEDIT.Colorado.gov/colorado-film-incentive. 

Lines 20 and 21. Income-Qualified Senior Housing Income Tax Credit
If you were (or your spouse was) 65 years of age or older at the end of 2024, you may qualify for this 
income tax credit. Please read the following instructions carefully to determine if you qualify for the 
credit, and to calculate how much you qualify for. 

1. Is your date of birth (or your spouse’s date of birth) December 31, 1959 or earlier? 
• Yes: Continue to step 2. 

• No: Stop, you do not qualify for this credit. 
2. Were you (or was your spouse) a full-year or part-year resident of Colorado for 2024? 

• Yes: Continue to step 3. 

• No: Stop, you do not qualify for this credit. 
3. Is your adjusted gross income (line 11 of your federal tax form 1040, 1040-SR, or 1040-NR) for 

this income tax year less than or equal to $75,000 ($125,00 if married filing jointly)? 
• Yes: Continue to step 4. 

• No: Stop, you do not qualify for this credit. 
4. Was the property tax exemption allowed under section 39-3-203 of the Colorado Revised 

Statutes (commonly known as the Senior Property Tax Exemption or Senior Homestead 
Exemption) allowed on or before August 15, 2024, for your primary residence exempt for the 
property tax year beginning January 1, 2024? This exemption should appear on your 2024 
property tax statement, payable in 2025, sent by your county assessor. You may have been 
approved for this exemption by applying in a prior year. This exemption is generally allowed if 
one owner of a home is 65 years old as of January 1, and has occupied the home as a primary 
residence for at least 10 consecutive years. 
• No: You qualify for this income tax credit. Continue to step 5 in order to calculate the amount of 

credit you are eligible to receive. 

• Yes: Stop, you do not qualify for this credit. 
5. Look up your federal filing status and adjusted gross income (AGI) in the table below and select 

the corresponding credit value. Transfer this amount to line 20 on the DR 0104CR.
6. Were you (or was your spouse) a part-year resident of Colorado for 2024? 

• Yes: Multiply the amount on line 20 by the percentage on line 34 of the DR 0104PN (If the 
percentage exceeds 100%, use 100%.) 

• No: Leave line 21 blank. 

Filing status

Single or 
Head of 

Household

Married 
Filing 
Joint

Married 
Filing 

Separately

AGI
Credit 

Allowed
Credit 

Allowed
Credit 

Allowed
$25,499 or less $800 $800 $400
$25,500 - $25,999 $792 $796 $396
$26,000 - $26,499 $784 $792 $392
$26,500 - $26,999 $776 $788 $388
$27,000 - $27,499 $768 $784 $384
$27,500 - $27,999 $760 $780 $380

Filing status

Single or 
Head of 

Household

Married 
Filing 
Joint

Married 
Filing 

Separately

AGI
Credit 

Allowed
Credit 

Allowed
Credit 

Allowed
$28,000 - $28,499 $752 $776 $376
$28,500 - $28,999 $744 $772 $372
$29,000 - $29,499 $736 $768 $368
$29,500 - $29,999 $728 $764 $364
$30,000 - $30,499 $720 $760 $360
$30,500 - $30,999 $712 $756 $356

https://oedit.colorado.gov/colorado-film-incentive
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Filing status

Single or 
Head of 

Household

Married 
Filing 
Joint

Married 
Filing 

Separately

AGI
Credit 

Allowed
Credit 

Allowed
Credit 

Allowed
$31,000 - $31,499 $704 $752 $352
$31,500 - $31,999 $696 $748 $348
$32,000 - $32,499 $688 $744 $344
$32,500 - $32,999 $680 $740 $340
$33,000 - $33,499 $672 $736 $336
$33,500 - $33,999 $664 $732 $332
$34,000 - $34,499 $656 $728 $328
$34,500 - $34,999 $648 $724 $324
$35,000 - $35,499 $640 $720 $320
$35,500 - $35,999 $632 $716 $316
$36,000 - $36,499 $624 $712 $312
$36,500 - $36,999 $616 $708 $308
$37,000 - $37,499 $608 $704 $304
$37,500 - $37,999 $600 $700 $300
$38,000 - $38,499 $592 $696 $296
$38,500 - $38,999 $584 $692 $292
$39,000 - $39,499 $576 $688 $288
$39,500 - $39,999 $568 $684 $284
$40,000 - $40,499 $560 $680 $280
$40,500 - $40,999 $552 $676 $276
$41,000 - $41,499 $544 $672 $272
$41,500 - $41,999 $536 $668 $268
$42,000 - $42,499 $528 $664 $264
$42,500 - $42,999 $520 $660 $260
$43,000 - $43,499 $512 $656 $256
$43,500 - $43,999 $504 $652 $252
$44,000 - $44,499 $496 $648 $248
$44,500 - $44,999 $488 $644 $244
$45,000 - $45,499 $480 $640 $240
$45,500 - $45,999 $472 $636 $236
$46,000 - $46,499 $464 $632 $232
$46,500 - $46,999 $456 $628 $228
$47,000 - $47,499 $448 $624 $224
$47,500 - $47,999 $440 $620 $220
$48,000 - $48,499 $432 $616 $216
$48,500 - $48,999 $424 $612 $212
$49,000 - $49,499 $416 $608 $208
$49,500 - $49,999 $408 $604 $204
$50,000 - $50,499 $400 $600 $200
$50,500 - $50,999 $392 $596 $196
$51,000 - $51,499 $384 $592 $192
$51,500 - $51,999 $376 $588 $188
$52,000 - $52,499 $368 $584 $184
$52,500 - $52,999 $360 $580 $180
$53,000 - $53,499 $352 $576 $176
$53,500 - $53,999 $344 $572 $172
$54,000 - $54,499 $336 $568 $168
$54,500 - $54,999 $328 $564 $164

Filing status

Single or 
Head of 

Household

Married 
Filing 
Joint

Married 
Filing 

Separately

AGI
Credit 

Allowed
Credit 

Allowed
Credit 

Allowed
$55,000 - $55,499 $320 $560 $160
$55,500 - $55,999 $312 $556 $156
$56,000 - $56,499 $304 $552 $152
$56,500 - $56,999 $296 $548 $148
$57,000 - $57,499 $288 $544 $144
$57,500 - $57,999 $280 $540 $140
$58,000 - $58,499 $272 $536 $136
$58,500 - $58,999 $264 $532 $132
$59,000 - $59,499 $256 $528 $128
$59,500 - $59,999 $248 $524 $124
$60,000 - $60,499 $240 $520 $120
$60,500 - $60,999 $232 $516 $116
$61,000 - $61,499 $224 $512 $112
$61,500 - $61,999 $216 $508 $108
$62,000 - $62,499 $208 $504 $104
$62,500 - $62,999 $200 $500 $100
$63,000 - $63,499 $192 $496 $96
$63,500 - $63,999 $184 $492 $92
$64,000 - $64,499 $176 $488 $88
$64,500 - $64,999 $168 $484 $84
$65,000 - $65,499 $160 $480 $80
$65,500 - $65,999 $152 $476 $76
$66,000 - $66,499 $144 $472 $72
$66,500 - $66,999 $136 $468 $68
$67,000 - $67,499 $128 $464 $64
$67,500 - $67,999 $120 $460 $60
$68,000 - $68,499 $112 $456 $56
$68,500 - $68,999 $104 $452 $52
$69,000 - $69,499 $96 $448 $48
$69,500 - $69,999 $88 $444 $44
$70,000 - $70,499 $80 $440 $40
$70,500 - $70,999 $72 $436 $36
$71,000 - $71,499 $64 $432 $32
$71,500 - $71,999 $56 $428 $28
$72,000 - $72,499 $48 $424 $24
$72,500 - $72,999 $40 $420 $20
$73,000 - $73,499 $32 $416 $16
$73,500 - $73,999 $24 $412 $12
$74,000 - $74,499 $16 $408 $8
$74,500 - $74,999 $8 $404 $4
$75,000 - $75,499 $0 $400 $0
$75,500 - $75,999 $0 $396 $0
$76,000 - $76,499 $0 $392 $0
$76,500 - $76,999 $0 $388 $0
$77,000 - $77,499 $0 $384 $0
$77,500 - $77,999 $0 $380 $0
$78,000 - $78,499 $0 $376 $0
$78,500 - $78,999 $0 $372 $0
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Filing status

Single or 
Head of 

Household

Married 
Filing 
Joint

Married 
Filing 

Separately

AGI
Credit 

Allowed
Credit 

Allowed
Credit 

Allowed
$79,000 - $79,499 $0 $368 $0
$79,500 - $79,999 $0 $364 $0
$80,000 - $80,499 $0 $360 $0
$80,500 - $80,999 $0 $356 $0
$81,000 - $81,499 $0 $352 $0
$81,500 - $81,999 $0 $348 $0
$82,000 - $82,499 $0 $344 $0
$82,500 - $82,999 $0 $340 $0
$83,000 - $83,499 $0 $336 $0
$83,500 - $83,999 $0 $332 $0
$84,000 - $84,499 $0 $328 $0
$84,500 - $84,999 $0 $324 $0
$85,000 - $85,499 $0 $320 $0
$85,500 - $85,999 $0 $316 $0
$86,000 - $86,499 $0 $312 $0
$86,500 - $86,999 $0 $308 $0
$87,000 - $87,499 $0 $304 $0
$87,500 - $87,999 $0 $300 $0
$88,000 - $88,499 $0 $296 $0
$88,500 - $88,999 $0 $292 $0
$89,000 - $89,499 $0 $288 $0
$89,500 - $89,999 $0 $284 $0
$90,000 - $90,499 $0 $280 $0
$90,500 - $90,999 $0 $276 $0
$91,000 - $91,499 $0 $272 $0
$91,500 - $91,999 $0 $268 $0
$92,000 - $92,499 $0 $264 $0
$92,500 - $92,999 $0 $260 $0
$93,000 - $93,499 $0 $256 $0
$93,500 - $93,999 $0 $252 $0
$94,000 - $94,499 $0 $248 $0
$94,500 - $94,999 $0 $244 $0
$95,000 - $95,499 $0 $240 $0
$95,500 - $95,999 $0 $236 $0
$96,000 - $96,499 $0 $232 $0
$96,500 - $96,999 $0 $228 $0
$97,000 - $97,499 $0 $224 $0
$97,500 - $97,999 $0 $220 $0
$98,000 - $98,499 $0 $216 $0
$98,500 - $98,999 $0 $212 $0
$99,000 - $99,499 $0 $208 $0
$99,500 - $99,999 $0 $204 $0
$100,000 - $100,499 $0 $200 $0
$100,500 - $100,999 $0 $196 $0
$101,000 - $101,499 $0 $192 $0
$101,500 - $101,999 $0 $188 $0
$102,000 - $102,499 $0 $184 $0

Filing status

Single or 
Head of 

Household

Married 
Filing 
Joint

Married 
Filing 

Separately

AGI
Credit 

Allowed
Credit 

Allowed
Credit 

Allowed
$102,500 - $102,999 $0 $180 $0
$103,000 - $103,499 $0 $176 $0
$103,500 - $103,999 $0 $172 $0
$104,000 - $104,499 $0 $168 $0
$104,500 - $104,999 $0 $164 $0
$105,000 - $105,499 $0 $160 $0
$105,500 - $105,999 $0 $156 $0
$106,000 - $106,499 $0 $152 $0
$106,500 - $106,999 $0 $148 $0
$107,000 - $107,499 $0 $144 $0
$107,500 - $107,999 $0 $140 $0
$108,000 - $108,499 $0 $136 $0
$108,500 - $108,999 $0 $132 $0
$109,000 - $109,499 $0 $128 $0
$109,500 - $109,999 $0 $124 $0
$110,000 - $110,499 $0 $120 $0
$110,500 - $110,999 $0 $116 $0
$111,000 - $111,499 $0 $112 $0
$111,500 - $111,999 $0 $108 $0
$112,000 - $112,499 $0 $104 $0
$112,500 - $112,999 $0 $100 $0
$113,000 - $113,499 $0 $96 $0
$113,500 - $113,999 $0 $92 $0
$114,000 - $114,499 $0 $88 $0
$114,500 - $114,999 $0 $84 $0
$115,000 - $115,499 $0 $80 $0
$115,500 - $115,999 $0 $76 $0
$116,000 - $116,499 $0 $72 $0
$116,500 - $116,999 $0 $68 $0
$117,000 - $117,499 $0 $64 $0
$117,500 - $117,999 $0 $60 $0
$118,000 - $118,499 $0 $56 $0
$118,500 - $118,999 $0 $52 $0
$119,000 - $119,499 $0 $48 $0
$119,500 - $119,999 $0 $44 $0
$120,000 - $120,499 $0 $40 $0
$120,500 - $120,999 $0 $36 $0
$121,000 - $121,499 $0 $32 $0
$121,500 - $121,999 $0 $28 $0
$122,000 - $122,499 $0 $24 $0
$122,500 - $122,999 $0 $20 $0
$123,000 - $123,499 $0 $16 $0
$123,500 - $123,999 $0 $12 $0
$124,000 - $124,499 $0 $8 $0
$124,500 - $124,999 $0 $4 $0
$125,000 or more $0 $0 $0
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Line 22 Refundable CHIPS Zone Credit(s)
Complete the Certified Economic Development Credit Schedule for Taxpayers with a Refund 
Certificate (DR 1370) and enter the amount from line 24 on this line 22. Submit form DR 1370, and 
any required certificates, with this schedule. Taxpayers who are claiming credits from form DR 1370 
are encouraged to file electronically to avoid processing delays. For more information, please visit 
OEDIT.Colorado.gov/CHIPS-Zones-Program.

Lines 24-31 Credit for Tax Paid to Another State
Colorado resident individuals may claim a credit for income tax accrued to another state for the 
same tax year. The credit is subject to limitations computed on lines 24-31 of the form. Please 
see Department publication Income Tax Topics: Credit for Tax Paid to Another State for applicable 
requirements and other information about this credit.
If you have income or loss from more than one state, you must file electronically and provide information 
for such states, including states to which you paid no tax. You must submit a copy of the tax return for each 
other state when claiming this credit. The portion of the return submitted must include the adjusted gross 
income calculation, any disallowed federal deductions by that state, and the tax calculation for that state. 
If you are claiming credit for tax paid to another state on your behalf by a partnership or S corporation, 
you must provide a copy of the statement the partnership or S corporation provided to you reporting your 
distributive or pro rata share of the tax paid and the income derived from sources in that state.

Line 32 Plastic Recycling Investment Credit
This credit was allowed only for tax years 2022 and prior. If the allowable credit exceeds the taxpayer’s 
tax for the tax year, the excess credit can be carried forward up to five years, but must be applied first to 
the earliest year possible. Please see section 39-22-114.5, C.R.S., for information about the credit.

Line 33 Colorado Minimum Tax Credit
If you claimed and were allowed a federal income tax credit for prior year minimum tax on federal 
Form 8801, you may claim a Colorado minimum tax credit. The Colorado credit is generally equal to 
12% of your federal minimum tax credit but cannot exceed your Colorado income tax liability. Enter 
the amounts of both the federal and Colorado credits in the space provided. Please see Department 
publication Income Tax Topics: Colorado Minimum Tax Credit for information.

There are two credits that are available for the preservation of historic properties and 
structures. Each credit has a different certification process and is subject to different 
limitations and qualification requirements. 

Line 34 Historic Property Preservation Credit
The carry forward of prior year Historic Property Preservation credit (§39-22-514, C.R.S.) must be 
claimed on line 34 of the DR 0104CR. For more information on this credit, review (§39-22-514, C.R.S.). 
Lines 48-50 Preservation of Historic Structures Credit
The Preservation of Historic Structures credit (§39-22-514.5, C.R.S.) must be claimed on lines 
48 through 50 of the DR 0104CR. For more information on this credit, review resources available 
online from the Colorado Office of Economic Development or from History Colorado.

Line 35 Child Care Center Investment Credit
If you operated a child care center, family child care home, or foster care home, you may be able 
to claim a credit for investments you made in qualified tangible personal property to be used in the 
operation of that child care center or home. The credit is equal to 20% of the qualified investment. You 
must submit a copy of the facility license issued by the Department of Early Childhood (formerly by 
the Department of Human Services) and a list of depreciable tangible personal property for which the 
credit is being claimed. For more information, please see section 39-22-517, C.R.S.

https://oedit.colorado.gov/chips-zones-program
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Line 36 Employer Child Care Facility Investment Credit
If you were an employer that provided licensed child care facilities for the benefit of your employees, 
you may be able to claim a credit for investments you made in qualified tangible personal property to 
be used in the operation of that facility. The credit is equal to 10% of the qualified investment during 
the tax year in qualified tangible personal property to be used in the operation of the child care facility. 

You must submit a copy of the facility license issued by the Department of Early Childhood 
(formerly by the Department of Human Services) and a list of depreciable tangible personal 
property for which the credit is being claimed. For more information, please see section 
39-22-517, C.R.S.

Line 37 School-to-Career Investment Credit
You may claim a credit for making a qualified investment in a qualified school-to-career program. The 
program must integrate school curriculum with job training, encourage placement of students in jobs 
or internships that will teach them new skills and improve their school performance, and be approved 
by an appropriate authority under the statute. The credit is equal to 10% of the money directly 
expended for wages, workers’ compensation insurance, unemployment insurance, and training 
expenses to employ a student to work or to allow a student to participate in an internship through the 
program. Please see section 39-22-520, C.R.S., for additional information. 

You must submit with your return a letter from the appropriate authority certifying the program 
which includes you being an approved participant of the program. 

Line 38 Colorado Works Program Credit
You may claim a credit if you were a Colorado employer that made an investment to provide eligible 
services to employees who receive public assistance pursuant to the Colorado Works Program. The 
credit may not be claimed for more than two years with respect to each employee. Please see section 
39-22-521, C.R.S., for additional information. 

You must submit a copy of the letter from the county Department of Social/Human Services 
with your return.

Line 39 Child Care Contribution Credit
You may claim a credit for any qualifying monetary contribution you made to a qualifying child care 
facility or program in Colorado. The facility must be either licensed by the applicable state agency, 
such as the Department of Early Childhood or the Department of Human Services, or registered with 
the Department of Revenue. The credit is 50% of the total qualifying contribution, subject to certain 
limitations. Please see Department publication Income Tax Topics: Child Care Contribution Credit for 
additional information.

You must submit with your return a Child Care Contribution Tax Credit Certification (DR 1317) 
from the organization receiving the contribution.

Line 40 Long-term Care Insurance Credit
You may be able to claim a credit if you are a Colorado resident who purchases or makes payments 
for a long-term care insurance policy. In general, you can only claim the credit if your federal 
taxable income does not exceed $50,000. If you are filing a joint return and have two policies or for 
a joint policy that covers you and your spouse separately, you can claim the credit if your federal 
taxable income does not exceed $100,000. The amount of the credit is generally equal to 25% of 
the amount paid for the policy during the tax year, but the credit cannot exceed $150 per policy. 
Please see Department publication Income Tax Topics: Long-Term Care Insurance Credit for 
additional information.

You must submit a year-end statement to show premiums paid.
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Line 41 Aircraft Manufacturer New Employee Credit 
This credit was allowed only for tax years 2022 and prior. If the allowable credit exceeds the taxpayer’s 
tax for the tax year, the excess credit can be carried forward up to five years, but must be applied first to 
the earliest year possible. Please see section 39-35-104, C.R.S., for information about the credit.

Line 42 Remediation of Contaminated Land Credit
You may claim for the approved environmental remediation of contaminated property you own 
in Colorado. You may also claim any credit duly transferred to you. The approved environmental 
remediation expenditures, and any transfer of the credit, must be certified by the Department of 
Public Health and Environment (“C D P H E”). Please see Department publication Income Tax Topics: 
Remediation of Contaminated Land Credit for additional information.

You must submit a copy of the C D P H E certification and Department form DR 0349 
with your return.

Line 43 Colorado Job Growth Incentive Credit
You may claim the credit certified by the Economic Development Commission for an approved project. 
Information regarding the credit is available at OEDIT.Colorado.gov/job-growth-incentive-tax-credit. 

You must submit certification from the Office of Economic Development and International Trade 
with your return.

Line 44 Certified Colorado Disability Funding Committee License Fee Credit
A credit is allowed to a taxpayer who buys the right to use a motor vehicle registration number 
selected for auction by the Colorado Disability Funding Committee because it is likely to be worth 
substantially more than the average value of a registration number. The credit is equal to 20% of the 
purchase price paid to the committee for the right to use the registration number.

You must submit a copy of the committee certification with your return.

Line 45 Advanced Industry Investment Credit
A credit is allowed for a qualified investment in a qualified small business that is in an 
advanced industry. Investors must apply to the Colorado Office of Economic Development and 
International Trade (“O E D I T”) for certification. Information regarding the credit is available at 
OEDIT.Colorado.gov/advanced-industries-investment-tax-credit.

You must submit a copy of the O E D I T certification with your return.

Line 46 Affordable Housing Credit
A credit is allowed to a qualified taxpayer who owns a direct or indirect interest in a qualified 
affordable housing development. The credit is allowed in an amount determined by the Colorado 
Housing and Finance Authority (“C H F A”). Please visit chfainfo.com/rental-housing/housing-credit 
for additional information.

You must submit the C H F A certification with your return.

Line 47 Credit for Food Contributed to Hunger-Relief Charitable Organizations
This credit was allowed only for tax years 2019 and prior. If the allowable credit exceeds the 
taxpayer’s tax for the tax year, the excess credit can be carried forward up to five years, but must 
be applied first to the earliest year possible. Please see section 39-22-536, C.R.S., for information 
about the credit.

Line 51 Rural Jump–Start Zone Credit
You may be able to claim a credit if you either owned or worked for an approved business operating 
in a Rural Jump-Start Zone. Information about the credits and the Rural Jump-Start Zone Program is 
available online at OEDIT.Colorado.gov/rural-jump-start-program. 

https://oedit.colorado.gov/job-growth-incentive-tax-credit
https://oedit.colorado.gov/advanced-industries-investment-tax-credit
https://www.chfainfo.com/rental-housing/housing-credit
https://oedit.colorado.gov/rural-jump-start-program
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You must submit form DR 0113 and the credit certificate from the Office of Economic 
Development and International Trade.

Line 52 Rural & Frontier Health Care Preceptor Credit
In order to claim this credit, the taxpayer must:

• Receive certification that the preceptor satisfied all requirements to receive the credit from the 
institution for which the preceptor teaches or from the regional A H E C office with jurisdiction 
over the area in which the preceptorship took place. This certification must be completed 
on the DR 0366.

• Send an electronic copy of the completed certification (DR 0366) to the Department by email to 
dor_preceptor@state.co.us.

• If the preceptor receives notification from the Department that the taxpayer is entitled to claim the 
credit, file a Colorado income tax return and claim the credit on the return. You must submit the 
DR 0366 with your return.

Line 53 Retrofitting a Residence to Increase a Residence’s Visitability Credit
An income tax credit of up to $5,000 is available to help people with an illness, impairment or 
disability retrofit their residence for greater accessibility and independence. Additional credits of 
up to $5,000 are allowed with respect to each qualifying person with a disability in the family. To 
claim the credit, you must have been issued a tax credit certificate from the Colorado Department 
of Local Affairs, Division of Housing. For more information about the application process, 
visit DOH.Colorado.gov/home-modification-tax-credit.

Please provide a copy of your tax credit certificate(s) from the Department of Local Affairs, 
Division of Housing when claiming this credit.

Line 54 Credit for Employer Contributions to Employee 529 Plan
Enter the amounts from form DR 0289 lines 3 and 4.

Submit the DR 0289 when claiming this credit.

Line 55 Credit for Employer Paid Leave of Absence for Live Organ Donation 
An income tax credit is available for employers who incurred expenses during the tax year by paying 
an employee during his or her leave of absence period (not to exceed ten working days or the hourly 
equivalent of ten working days per employee) for live organ donation and for the cost of temporary 
replacement help, if any, during an employee’s leave of absence period. The amount of credit allowed 
is 35% of eligible expenses, as defined in statute.(39-22-540, C.R.S.). You may not claim a tax credit 
related to a leave of absence period for an employee who you pay $80,000 or more in wages during 
the income tax year. Review the instructions on form DR 0375 for more information. 

Submit the DR 0375 when claiming this credit.

Line 56 Wildfire Mitigation Expense Credit
A nonrefundable income tax credit is available for landowners who perform wildfire mitigation 
measures on their real property during the tax year. The amount of credit is 25% of the costs incurred 
up to the first $2,500 of costs, resulting in a maximum credit of $625. The credit may not be claimed 
if your federal taxable income (F T I) is greater than $126,300. The credit is subject to other limitations 
and requirements. We strongly recommend that you read Department publication Income Tax Topics: 
Wildfire Mitigation Measures to properly calculate and claim this credit. 

Submit copies of receipts for qualified costs for wildfire mitigation for your property.

https://doh.colorado.gov/home-modification-tax-credit
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Line 57 Enterprise Zone Contribution Credit
You may claim a credit for monetary or in-kind contributions you made to an enterprise zone 
administrator or to a certified enterprise zone. The credit is generally equal to 25% of the value of the 
contribution, but is limited to $100,000, with additional limitations applicable to in-kind contributions. 
Please see Department publication Income Tax Topics: Enterprise Zone Contribution Credit for 
additional information.

You must submit the credit certificate from the Office of Economic Development and International 
Trade with your return.

Line 58 Nonrefundable Residential Energy Storage Systems Credit if Not Assigned 
A nonrefundable income tax credit is available for building owners who install qualifying residential energy 
storage systems into residential buildings in Colorado and who do not assign the credit to the seller. The 
amount of the credit that exceeds the building owner’s income tax due is not refunded and may not be carried 
forward to any future years’ income tax due. The amount of the credit is the amount calculated on Line 3 of 
the Residential Energy Storage System Credit Eligibility Certification and Assignment Election (DR 1307).

Submit the DR 1307 when claiming this credit.

Line 59 and 60. Homeless Contribution Credit
You may claim a credit for monetary or in-kind contributions you made to an eligible homelessness 
related project approved by the Colorado Division of Housing on line 59. Enter your credit certificate 
number on line 60. Please visit DOH.Colorado.gov/hctc for additional information. 

You must submit the credit certificate issued by the nonprofit organization administering the 
approved project with your return.

Line 61 Employer Assistance for Home Purchase Credit
You may be able to claim a credit if you are an employer that establishes one or more qualifying 
home savings accounts for your employees in Colorado. The credit is generally equal to 5% of the 
amount of the contribution, subject to certain limitations. Please see Department publication Income 
Tax Topics: Employer Contributions to Home Savings Accounts for additional information.

https://doh.colorado.gov/hctc
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2024 Colorado Income Tax Table with tax rate of 4.25%
To find your tax from the table below, read down the taxable income column to the line containing your 
Colorado taxable income from DR 0104 line 11. Then read across to the tax column and enter this 
amount on DR 0104 line 12. Part-year residents and nonresidents, enter tax on DR 0104PN line 35. 

Taxable Income
TAXOver But 

not over
$0 $10 $0

$10 $30 $1
$30 $50 $2
$50 $75 $3
$75 $100 $4

$100 $200 $6
$200 $300 $11
$300 $400 $15
$400 $500 $19
$500 $600 $23

$600 $700 $28
$700 $800 $32
$800 $900 $36
$900 $1,000 $40

$1,000 $1,100 $45

$1,100 $1,200 $49
$1,200 $1,300 $53
$1,300 $1,400 $57
$1,400 $1,500 $62
$1,500 $1,600 $66

$1,600 $1,700 $70
$1,700 $1,800 $74
$1,800 $1,900 $79
$1,900 $2,000 $83
$2,000 $2,100 $87

$2,100 $2,200 $91
$2,200 $2,300 $96
$2,300 $2,400 $100
$2,400 $2,500 $104
$2,500 $2,600 $108

$2,600 $2,700 $113
$2,700 $2,800 $117
$2,800 $2,900 $121
$2,900 $3,000 $125
$3,000 $3,100 $130

$3,100 $3,200 $134
$3,200 $3,300 $138
$3,300 $3,400 $142
$3,400 $3,500 $147
$3,500 $3,600 $151

$3,600 $3,700 $155
$3,700 $3,800 $159
$3,800 $3,900 $164
$3,900 $4,000 $168
$4,000 $4,100 $172

$4,100 $4,200 $176
$4,200 $4,300 $181
$4,300 $4,400 $185
$4,400 $4,500 $189
$4,500 $4,600 $193

$4,600 $4,700 $198
$4,700 $4,800 $202
$4,800 $4,900 $206
$4,900 $5,000 $210
$5,000 $5,100 $215

Taxable Income
TAXOver But 

not over
$5,100 $5,200 $219
$5,200 $5,300 $223
$5,300 $5,400 $227
$5,400 $5,500 $232
$5,500 $5,600 $236

$5,600 $5,700 $240
$5,700 $5,800 $244
$5,800 $5,900 $249
$5,900 $6,000 $253
$6,000 $6,100 $257

$6,100 $6,200 $261
$6,200 $6,300 $266
$6,300 $6,400 $270
$6,400 $6,500 $274
$6,500 $6,600 $278

$6,600 $6,700 $283
$6,700 $6,800 $287
$6,800 $6,900 $291
$6,900 $7,000 $295
$7,000 $7,100 $300

$7,100 $7,200 $304
$7,200 $7,300 $308
$7,300 $7,400 $312
$7,400 $7,500 $317
$7,500 $7,600 $321

$7,600 $7,700 $325
$7,700 $7,800 $329
$7,800 $7,900 $334
$7,900 $8,000 $338
$8,000 $8,100 $342

$8,100 $8,200 $346
$8,200 $8,300 $351
$8,300 $8,400 $355
$8,400 $8,500 $359
$8,500 $8,600 $363

$8,600 $8,700 $368
$8,700 $8,800 $372
$8,800 $8,900 $376
$8,900 $9,000 $380
$9,000 $9,100 $385

$9,100 $9,200 $389
$9,200 $9,300 $393
$9,300 $9,400 $397
$9,400 $9,500 $402
$9,500 $9,600 $406

$9,600 $9,700 $410
$9,700 $9,800 $414
$9,800 $9,900 $419
$9,900 $10,000 $423

$10,000 $10,100 $427

$10,100 $10,200 $431
$10,200 $10,300 $436
$10,300 $10,400 $440
$10,400 $10,500 $444
$10,500 $10,600 $448

Taxable Income
TAXOver But 

not over
$10,600 $10,700 $453
$10,700 $10,800 $457
$10,800 $10,900 $461
$10,900 $11,000 $465
$11,000 $11,100 $470

$11,100 $11,200 $474
$11,200 $11,300 $478
$11,300 $11,400 $482
$11,400 $11,500 $487
$11,500 $11,600 $491

$11,600 $11,700 $495
$11,700 $11,800 $499
$11,800 $11,900 $504
$11,900 $12,000 $508
$12,000 $12,100 $512

$12,100 $12,200 $516
$12,200 $12,300 $521
$12,300 $12,400 $525
$12,400 $12,500 $529
$12,500 $12,600 $533

$12,600 $12,700 $538
$12,700 $12,800 $542
$12,800 $12,900 $546
$12,900 $13,000 $550
$13,000 $13,100 $555

$13,100 $13,200 $559
$13,200 $13,300 $563
$13,300 $13,400 $567
$13,400 $13,500 $572
$13,500 $13,600 $576

$13,600 $13,700 $580
$13,700 $13,800 $584
$13,800 $13,900 $589
$13,900 $14,000 $593
$14,000 $14,100 $597

$14,100 $14,200 $601
$14,200 $14,300 $606
$14,300 $14,400 $610
$14,400 $14,500 $614
$14,500 $14,600 $618

$14,600 $14,700 $623
$14,700 $14,800 $627
$14,800 $14,900 $631
$14,900 $15,000 $635
$15,000 $15,100 $640

$15,100 $15,200 $644
$15,200 $15,300 $648
$15,300 $15,400 $652
$15,400 $15,500 $657
$15,500 $15,600 $661

$15,600 $15,700 $665
$15,700 $15,800 $669
$15,800 $15,900 $674
$15,900 $16,000 $678
$16,000 $16,100 $682

Taxable Income
TAXOver But 

not over
$16,100 $16,200 $686
$16,200 $16,300 $691
$16,300 $16,400 $695
$16,400 $16,500 $699
$16,500 $16,600 $703

$16,600 $16,700 $708
$16,700 $16,800 $712
$16,800 $16,900 $716
$16,900 $17,000 $720
$17,000 $17,100 $725

$17,100 $17,200 $729
$17,200 $17,300 $733
$17,300 $17,400 $737
$17,400 $17,500 $742
$17,500 $17,600 $746

$17,600 $17,700 $750
$17,700 $17,800 $754
$17,800 $17,900 $759
$17,900 $18,000 $763
$18,000 $18,100 $767

$18,100 $18,200 $771
$18,200 $18,300 $776
$18,300 $18,400 $780
$18,400 $18,500 $784
$18,500 $18,600 $788

$18,600 $18,700 $793
$18,700 $18,800 $797
$18,800 $18,900 $801
$18,900 $19,000 $805
$19,000 $19,100 $810

$19,100 $19,200 $814
$19,200 $19,300 $818
$19,300 $19,400 $822
$19,400 $19,500 $827
$19,500 $19,600 $831

$19,600 $19,700 $835
$19,700 $19,800 $839
$19,800 $19,900 $844
$19,900 $20,000 $848
$20,000 $20,100 $852

$20,100 $20,200 $856
$20,200 $20,300 $861
$20,300 $20,400 $865
$20,400 $20,500 $869
$20,500 $20,600 $873

$20,600 $20,700 $878
$20,700 $20,800 $882
$20,800 $20,900 $886
$20,900 $21,000 $890
$21,000 $21,100 $895

$21,100 $21,200 $899
$21,200 $21,300 $903
$21,300 $21,400 $907
$21,400 $21,500 $912
$21,500 $21,600 $916

Taxable Income
TAXOver But 

not over
$21,600 $21,700 $920
$21,700 $21,800 $924
$21,800 $21,900 $929
$21,900 $22,000 $933
$22,000 $22,100 $937

$22,100 $22,200 $941
$22,200 $22,300 $946
$22,300 $22,400 $950
$22,400 $22,500 $954
$22,500 $22,600 $958

$22,600 $22,700 $963
$22,700 $22,800 $967
$22,800 $22,900 $971
$22,900 $23,000 $975
$23,000 $23,100 $980

$23,100 $23,200 $984
$23,200 $23,300 $988
$23,300 $23,400 $992
$23,400 $23,500 $997
$23,500 $23,600 $1,001

$23,600 $23,700 $1,005
$23,700 $23,800 $1,009
$23,800 $23,900 $1,014
$23,900 $24,000 $1,018
$24,000 $24,100 $1,022

$24,100 $24,200 $1,026
$24,200 $24,300 $1,031
$24,300 $24,400 $1,035
$24,400 $24,500 $1,039
$24,500 $24,600 $1,043

$24,600 $24,700 $1,048
$24,700 $24,800 $1,052
$24,800 $24,900 $1,056
$24,900 $25,000 $1,060
$25,000 $25,100 $1,065

$25,100 $25,200 $1,069
$25,200 $25,300 $1,073
$25,300 $25,400 $1,077
$25,400 $25,500 $1,082
$25,500 $25,600 $1,086

$25,600 $25,700 $1,090
$25,700 $25,800 $1,094
$25,800 $25,900 $1,099
$25,900 $26,000 $1,103
$26,000 $26,100 $1,107

$26,100 $26,200 $1,111
$26,200 $26,300 $1,116
$26,300 $26,400 $1,120
$26,400 $26,500 $1,124
$26,500 $26,600 $1,128

$26,600 $26,700 $1,133
$26,700 $26,800 $1,137
$26,800 $26,900 $1,141
$26,900 $27,000 $1,145
$27,000 $27,100 $1,150
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Colorado Income Tax Table (Continued)
Taxable Income

TAXOver But 
not over

$27,100 $27,200 $1,154
$27,200 $27,300 $1,158
$27,300 $27,400 $1,162
$27,400 $27,500 $1,167
$27,500 $27,600 $1,171

$27,600 $27,700 $1,175
$27,700 $27,800 $1,179
$27,800 $27,900 $1,184
$27,900 $28,000 $1,188
$28,000 $28,100 $1,192

$28,100 $28,200 $1,196
$28,200 $28,300 $1,201
$28,300 $28,400 $1,205
$28,400 $28,500 $1,209
$28,500 $28,600 $1,213

$28,600 $28,700 $1,218
$28,700 $28,800 $1,222
$28,800 $28,900 $1,226
$28,900 $29,000 $1,230
$29,000 $29,100 $1,235

$29,100 $29,200 $1,239
$29,200 $29,300 $1,243
$29,300 $29,400 $1,247
$29,400 $29,500 $1,252
$29,500 $29,600 $1,256

$29,600 $29,700 $1,260
$29,700 $29,800 $1,264
$29,800 $29,900 $1,269
$29,900 $30,000 $1,273
$30,000 $30,100 $1,277

$30,100 $30,200 $1,281
$30,200 $30,300 $1,286
$30,300 $30,400 $1,290
$30,400 $30,500 $1,294
$30,500 $30,600 $1,298

$30,600 $30,700 $1,303
$30,700 $30,800 $1,307
$30,800 $30,900 $1,311
$30,900 $31,000 $1,315
$31,000 $31,100 $1,320

$31,100 $31,200 $1,324
$31,200 $31,300 $1,328
$31,300 $31,400 $1,332
$31,400 $31,500 $1,337
$31,500 $31,600 $1,341

Taxable Income
TAXOver But 

not over
$31,600 $31,700 $1,345
$31,700 $31,800 $1,349
$31,800 $31,900 $1,354
$31,900 $32,000 $1,358
$32,000 $32,100 $1,362

$32,100 $32,200 $1,366
$32,200 $32,300 $1,371
$32,300 $32,400 $1,375
$32,400 $32,500 $1,379
$32,500 $32,600 $1,383

$32,600 $32,700 $1,388
$32,700 $32,800 $1,392
$32,800 $32,900 $1,396
$32,900 $33,000 $1,400
$33,000 $33,100 $1,405

$33,100 $33,200 $1,409
$33,200 $33,300 $1,413
$33,300 $33,400 $1,417
$33,400 $33,500 $1,422
$33,500 $33,600 $1,426

$33,600 $33,700 $1,430
$33,700 $33,800 $1,434
$33,800 $33,900 $1,439
$33,900 $34,000 $1,443
$34,000 $34,100 $1,447

$34,100 $34,200 $1,451
$34,200 $34,300 $1,456
$34,300 $34,400 $1,460
$34,400 $34,500 $1,464
$34,500 $34,600 $1,468

$34,600 $34,700 $1,473
$34,700 $34,800 $1,477
$34,800 $34,900 $1,481
$34,900 $35,000 $1,485
$35,000 $35,100 $1,490

$35,100 $35,200 $1,494
$35,200 $35,300 $1,498
$35,300 $35,400 $1,502
$35,400 $35,500 $1,507
$35,500 $35,600 $1,511

$35,600 $35,700 $1,515
$35,700 $35,800 $1,519
$35,800 $35,900 $1,524
$35,900 $36,000 $1,528
$36,000 $36,100 $1,532

Taxable Income
TAXOver But 

not over
$36,100 $36,200 $1,536
$36,200 $36,300 $1,541
$36,300 $36,400 $1,545
$36,400 $36,500 $1,549
$36,500 $36,600 $1,553

$36,600 $36,700 $1,558
$36,700 $36,800 $1,562
$36,800 $36,900 $1,566
$36,900 $37,000 $1,570
$37,000 $37,100 $1,575

$37,100 $37,200 $1,579
$37,200 $37,300 $1,583
$37,300 $37,400 $1,587
$37,400 $37,500 $1,592
$37,500 $37,600 $1,596

$37,600 $37,700 $1,600
$37,700 $37,800 $1,604
$37,800 $37,900 $1,609
$37,900 $38,000 $1,613
$38,000 $38,100 $1,617

$38,100 $38,200 $1,621
$38,200 $38,300 $1,626
$38,300 $38,400 $1,630
$38,400 $38,500 $1,634
$38,500 $38,600 $1,638

$38,600 $38,700 $1,643
$38,700 $38,800 $1,647
$38,800 $38,900 $1,651
$38,900 $39,000 $1,655
$39,000 $39,100 $1,660

$39,100 $39,200 $1,664
$39,200 $39,300 $1,668
$39,300 $39,400 $1,672
$39,400 $39,500 $1,677
$39,500 $39,600 $1,681

$39,600 $39,700 $1,685
$39,700 $39,800 $1,689
$39,800 $39,900 $1,694
$39,900 $40,000 $1,698
$40,000 $40,100 $1,702

$40,100 $40,200 $1,706
$40,200 $40,300 $1,711
$40,300 $40,400 $1,715
$40,400 $40,500 $1,719
$40,500 $40,600 $1,723

Taxable Income
TAXOver But 

not over
$40,600 $40,700 $1,728
$40,700 $40,800 $1,732
$40,800 $40,900 $1,736
$40,900 $41,000 $1,740
$41,000 $41,100 $1,745

$41,100 $41,200 $1,749
$41,200 $41,300 $1,753
$41,300 $41,400 $1,757
$41,400 $41,500 $1,762
$41,500 $41,600 $1,766

$41,600 $41,700 $1,770
$41,700 $41,800 $1,774
$41,800 $41,900 $1,779
$41,900 $42,000 $1,783
$42,000 $42,100 $1,787

$42,100 $42,200 $1,791
$42,200 $42,300 $1,796
$42,300 $42,400 $1,800
$42,400 $42,500 $1,804
$42,500 $42,600 $1,808

$42,600 $42,700 $1,813
$42,700 $42,800 $1,817
$42,800 $42,900 $1,821
$42,900 $43,000 $1,825
$43,000 $43,100 $1,830

$43,100 $43,200 $1,834
$43,200 $43,300 $1,838
$43,300 $43,400 $1,842
$43,400 $43,500 $1,847
$43,500 $43,600 $1,851

$43,600 $43,700 $1,855
$43,700 $43,800 $1,859
$43,800 $43,900 $1,864
$43,900 $44,000 $1,868
$44,000 $44,100 $1,872

$44,100 $44,200 $1,876
$44,200 $44,300 $1,881
$44,300 $44,400 $1,885
$44,400 $44,500 $1,889
$44,500 $44,600 $1,893

$44,600 $44,700 $1,898
$44,700 $44,800 $1,902
$44,800 $44,900 $1,906
$44,900 $45,000 $1,910
$45,000 $45,100 $1,915

Taxable Income
TAXOver But 

not over
$45,100 $45,200 $1,919
$45,200 $45,300 $1,923
$45,300 $45,400 $1,927
$45,400 $45,500 $1,932
$45,500 $45,600 $1,936

$45,600 $45,700 $1,940
$45,700 $45,800 $1,944
$45,800 $45,900 $1,949
$45,900 $46,000 $1,953
$46,000 $46,100 $1,957

$46,100 $46,200 $1,961
$46,200 $46,300 $1,966
$46,300 $46,400 $1,970
$46,400 $46,500 $1,974
$46,500 $46,600 $1,978

$46,600 $46,700 $1,983
$46,700 $46,800 $1,987
$46,800 $46,900 $1,991
$46,900 $47,000 $1,995
$47,000 $47,100 $2,000

$47,100 $47,200 $2,004
$47,200 $47,300 $2,008
$47,300 $47,400 $2,012
$47,400 $47,500 $2,017
$47,500 $47,600 $2,021

$47,600 $47,700 $2,025
$47,700 $47,800 $2,029
$47,800 $47,900 $2,034
$47,900 $48,000 $2,038
$48,000 $48,100 $2,042

$48,100 $48,200 $2,046
$48,200 $48,300 $2,051
$48,300 $48,400 $2,055
$48,400 $48,500 $2,059
$48,500 $48,600 $2,063

$48,600 $48,700 $2,068
$48,700 $48,800 $2,072
$48,800 $48,900 $2,076
$48,900 $49,000 $2,080
$49,000 $49,100 $2,085

$49,100 $49,200 $2,089
$49,200 $49,300 $2,093
$49,300 $49,400 $2,097
$49,400 $49,500 $2,102
$49,500 $49,600 $2,106

$49,600 $49,700 $2,110
$49,700 $49,800 $2,114
$49,800 $49,900 $2,119
$49,900 $50,000 $2,123Worksheet for taxable incomes over $50,000

Colorado Taxable Income from Form 104 line 11  

Multiply by 4.25%   

Colorado Tax   

$

$

X .0425
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(0013)

2024 Colorado Individual Income Tax Return
Residency Status

Full-Year

Part-Year or Nonresident (or combination of full-year, part-year, or nonresident). You must submit form DR 0104PN 
with your return.

Abroad on due date 

Taxpayer Information

Your Last Name Your First Name Your Middle Initial

Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY) S S N or I T I N
Deceased: Yes - �If checked and claiming a refund, you 

must include the DR 0102 and death 
certificate with your return.

Enter the following information from your current driver license or state identification card.

State of Issue Last 4 characters of ID number Date of Issuance

Spouse’s Information

If Joint, Spouse’s Last Name Spouse’s First Name Spouse’s Middle Initial

Date of Birth (MM/DD/YYYY) S S N or I T I N
Deceased: Yes - �If checked and claiming a refund, you 

must include the DR 0102 and death 
certificate with your return.

Enter the following information from your spouse’s current driver license or state identification card.

State of Issue Last 4 characters of ID number Date of Issuance

This page is required.
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Your Last Name (match page 1) Your First Name (match page 1) Your Middle Initial

S S N or I T I N (match page 1)

Contact Information

Mailing Address Phone Number

City State ZIP Code

Foreign Country (if applicable)

Dependents 
If you have more than 5 dependents, you must file electronically.

Dependent 1: Child Tax Credit: Yes Deceased: Yes

Last Name First Name S S N or I T I N Year of Birth

Dependent 2: Child Tax Credit: Yes Deceased: Yes

Last Name First Name S S N or I T I N Year of Birth

Dependent 3: Child Tax Credit: Yes Deceased: Yes

Last Name First Name S S N or I T I N Year of Birth

Dependent 4: Child Tax Credit: Yes Deceased: Yes

Last Name First Name S S N or I T I N Year of Birth

Dependent 5: Child Tax Credit: Yes Deceased: Yes

Last Name First Name S S N or I T I N Year of Birth

This page is required.
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Your Last Name (match page 1) Your First Name (match page 1) Your Middle Initial

S S N or I T I N (match page 1)

To see if you or members of your household qualify for free or reduced-cost health coverage, 
check this box if:
• You are a Colorado resident and at least one person in your household does not have 

health coverage and
• You give permission for the Colorado Department of Revenue to share the information on Form 

DR 0104EE with Connect for Health Colorado (the Colorado Health Benefit Exchange) and the 
Department of Health Care Policy & Financing.

Round To The Nearest Dollar 
1. Federal Taxable Income from your federal income tax form: 

1040, 1040 SR, or 1040 SP line 15  

Additions to Federal Taxable Income
2. State and Local Income taxes or general sales taxes claimed 

on federal form 1040, Schedule A, line 5a. (see instructions)  

3. Qualified Business Income Deduction Addback  
(see instructions)  

4. Standard or Itemized Federal Deduction Addback  
(see instructions)  

5. Business meals deducted pursuant to section 274(k) of the 
Internal Revenue Code  

6. Nonqualified CollegeInvest Tuition Savings Account 
distributions (see instructions)  

7. Nonqualified Colorado ABLE Account distributions  
(see instructions)  

8.  Other Additions, explain (see instructions)  

Explain:

9. Subtotal, sum of lines 1 through 8  
This page is required.

00
1

00
2

00
3

00
4

00
5

00
6

00
7

00
8

00
9
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Your Last Name (match page 1) Your First Name (match page 1) Your Middle Initial

S S N or I T I N (match page 1)

Colorado Subtractions 
10. Subtractions from the DR 0104AD Schedule, line 25, you 

must submit the DR 0104AD schedule with your return  

11. Colorado Taxable Income, subtract line 10 from line 9  

Tax, Prepayments and Credits: see 104 Book for full-year tax table and part-year DR 0104PN Schedule
12. Colorado Tax from tax table or the DR 0104PN line 36, you 

must submit the DR 0104PN with your return if applicable  

13. Alternative Minimum Tax from the DR 0104AMT line 8, you 
must submit the DR 0104AMT with your return  

14. Recapture of prior year credits  

15. Subtotal, sum of lines 12 through 14  

16. Nonrefundable Credits from the DR 0104CR line 63, the 
sum of lines 16, 17, 18, and 19 cannot exceed line 15, you 
must submit the DR 0104CR with your return  

17. Nonrefundable Enterprise Zone credits used – as 
calculated, or from the DR 1366 line 26, the sum of lines 
16, 17, 18, and 19 cannot exceed line 15, you must submit 
the DR 1366 with your return  

18. Nonrefundable CHIPS Zone Credit from 1370, line 22, the 
sum of lines 16, 17, 18, and 19 cannot exceed line 15, you 
must submit DR 1370 with your return  

19. Strategic Capital Tax Credit from DR 1330, the sum of lines 
16, 17, 18, and 19 cannot exceed line 15, you must submit 
the DR 1330 with your return  

20. Net Income Tax, sum of lines 16, 17, 18, and 19. Subtract 
that sum from line 15  

21. Colorado Income Tax Withheld from W-2s and 1099s, you 
must submit the W-2s and/or 1099s claiming Colorado 
withholding with your return  

This page is required.

00
10

00
11

00
12

00
13

00
14

00
15

00
16

00

17

00
19

0020

00
21

00
18
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Your Last Name (match page 1) Your First Name (match page 1) Your Middle Initial

S S N or I T I N (match page 1)

Tax, Prepayments and Credits (continued):

22. Prior-year Estimated Tax Carryforward  

23. Estimated Tax Payments, enter the sum of the quarterly 
payments remitted for this tax year  

24. Extension Payment remitted with the DR 0158-I  

25. Other Prepayments:

26. Gross Conservation Easement Credit from the DR 1305G 
line 33, you must submit the DR 1305G with your return  

27. Innovative Motor Vehicle and Innovative Truck Credit for a 
vehicle you purchased or leased from form DR 0617, you 
must submit the DR 0617(s) with your return  

28. Refundable Credits from the DR 0104CR line 23, you must 
submit the DR 0104CR with your return  

29. Additional credit from form DR 0619, line 3 and 10, you  
must submit the DR 0619 with your return  

30. Subtotal, sum of lines 21 through 29  

DR 0104BEP DR 1079

Modified Adjusted Gross Income (AGI) for TABOR Sales Tax Refund
Lines 31 through 34 are only used to calculate your TABOR amount and do not affect your 
Colorado tax liability.

31. Federal Adjusted Gross Income from your federal income 
tax form: 1040, 1040 SR, or 1040 SP line 11  

32. Nontaxable Social Security Income  

33. Nontaxable interest income from state and local bonds  

34. Sum of lines 31 through 33:  
Modified AGI for TABOR amount  

This page is required.

23

22 00

24

00

25

00

26

00

27

00

28

00

29

00

30

00
31

00
32

00
33

00
34

00

00
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Your Last Name (match page 1) Your First Name (match page 1) Your Middle Initial

S S N or I T I N (match page 1)

Modified A G I Tiers for TABOR State Sales Tax Refund

If line 34 is: $53,000  
or less

$53,001 – 
$105,000

$105,001 – 
$166,000

$166,001 – 
$233,000

$233,001 – 
$302,000

$302,001 
or more

Single Filers Enter $177 $240 $277 $323 $350 $565

Joint Filers Enter $354 $480 $554 $646 $700 $1,130

35. TABOR State Sales Tax Refund: For full-year Colorado 
residents, born before 2006, or full-year Colorado residents 
who are under the age of eighteen but are required to file 
a return. Your return must be postmarked or transmitted 
by the extension due date. Use the amount on line 34 and 
reference the table above.  

36. Sum of lines 30 and 35  

37. Overpayment, if line 36 is greater than line 20 then subtract 
line 20 from line 36  

38. Estimated Tax Credit Carryforward to 2025 first quarter,  
if any  

If you have an overpayment on line 39 below and would like to donate all or a portion of your 
overpayment to a qualified Colorado charity, include Form DR 0104CH to contribute.

39. Refund, subtract line 38 from line 37  

Direct Deposit
Routing Number

Account Number

Type: Checking Savings CollegeInvest 529

For questions regarding CollegeInvest direct deposit or to open an account, visit CollegeInvest.org or 
call 800-448-2424.

This page is required.

00
35

00
36

00
37

00
38

00
39

http://CollegeInvest.org
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Your Last Name (match page 1) Your First Name (match page 1) Your Middle Initial

S S N or I T I N (match page 1)

40. Net Tax Due, subtract line 36 from line 20  

41. Delinquent Payment Penalty (see instructions)  

42. Delinquent Payment Interest (see instructions)  

43. Estimated Tax Penalty, you must submit the DR 0204 with 
your return (see instructions)  

44. Amount You Owe, sum of lines 40 through 43  
The State may convert your check to a one-time electronic banking transaction. Your bank account may be debited as 
early as the same day received by the State. If converted, your check will not be returned. If your check is rejected due 
to insufficient or uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may collect the payment amount directly from your bank 
account electronically.

Third Party Designee

Do you want to allow another person to discuss this return and any related information with the 
Colorado Department of Revenue? See the instructions.

No Yes. Complete the following:

Designee’s Name Phone Number

This page is required.

00
40

00
41

00
42

00
43

44



*240104==89999* DR 0104 (10/15/24) 
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Tax.Colorado.gov
Page 8 of 8

Your Last Name (match page 1) Your First Name (match page 1) Your Middle Initial

S S N or I T I N (match page 1)

Sign Below
Under penalties of perjury, I declare that to the best of my knowledge and belief, this return is true, 
correct, and complete.

Your Signature Date (MM/DD/YY)

Spouse’s Signature. If joint return, both must sign. Date (MM/DD/YY)

Paid Preparer’s Name Paid Preparer’s Phone

Paid Preparer’s Address

City State ZIP Code

File and Pay

You may file and pay at: Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline or  

If you are mailing this return with a check or payment, please send all eight required pages to:

Colorado Department of Revenue  
Denver, CO 80261-0006

If you are mailing this return without a check or payment, please send all eight required pages to:

Colorado Department of Revenue  
Denver, CO 80261-0005

These ZIP codes are exclusive to the Colorado Department of Revenue, so a street address is not required.

This page is required.

http://Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline
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Colorado Easy Enrollment Information Form

Colorado taxpayers can now share certain information from their tax return with the Colorado Health Benefit 
Exchange (Connect for Health Colorado) and the Colorado Department of Health Care Policy & Financing to 
find out if they qualify for free or reduced-cost health coverage (Colorado Law: 39-21-113(25) C.R.S).

By submitting this form (DR 0104EE) and checking the corresponding checkbox with my income tax 
return (form DR 0104 or DR 0104EZ), I give permission for the Colorado Department of Revenue to 
share the information included on this form with the Colorado Health Benefit Exchange (Connect for 
Health Colorado) and the Department of Health Care Policy & Financing.

Note: If you agree to share this information, please complete (or verify) this form to the best of your 
ability and include it with your tax return. If filing by paper, ensure that it is mailed with your return. 
If filing electronically through your tax preparer or a software program, this form may be completed 
using the software. If you do not agree to share this information, please do not complete this form and 
do not include it with your return.

Section A: Household Contact Information
 Last Name  First Name  Middle Initial

 Phone Number  Email Address

 Mailing Address (Line 1)

 Mailing Address (Line 2)

 City  State  ZIP Code



Section B: Household Member and Income Information
Complete this section with information for all members of your tax household. For purposes of obtaining health coverage, 
your tax household typically consists of yourself, your spouse, and any person that you claim as a tax dependent on your 
federal income tax return. For more information about who may be claimed as a tax dependent on your federal income 
tax return and would be considered a part of your tax household, review IRS Publication 501.

1. Enter your tax household size here. Include yourself, your spouse, and all individuals 
that you claim as a dependent on your federal income tax return (i.e. a household 
with spouses filing jointly and one tax dependent child = household size of 3; enter 
“3” in this field).   1

2. Enter your adjusted gross income from your federal form 1040, 1040 SR , or  
1040 SP, line 11.  2 0 0

3. Enter information about yourself, your spouse, and all individuals that you claim as a dependent on your federal 
income tax return in the table below.

 Last Name  First Name  Middle Initial  Date of Birth  SSN or ITIN (optional)

*240104EE29999* DR 0104EE (08/09/24)
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Tax.Colorado.gov
Page 2 of 2
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Name SSN or ITIN

If line 39 of DR 0104 or line 9 of DR 0104EZ is NOT greater than zero, STOP. You cannot complete this schedule.

1. Colorado Nongame Conservation and Wildlife Restoration Cash Fund  1 0 0

2. Colorado Domestic Abuse Program Fund  2 0 0

3. Homeless Prevention Activities Program Fund  3 0 0

4. Western Slope Military Veterans Cemetery Fund  4 0 0

5. Pet Overpopulation Fund  5 0 0

6. Military Family Relief Fund  6 0 0
7. American Red Cross Colorado Disaster Response, Readiness, and 

Preparedness Fund  7 0 0

8. Habitat for Humanity of Colorado Fund  8 0 0

9. Special Olympics of Colorado Fund  9 0 0

10. Colorado Healthy Rivers Fund  10 0 0

11. Alzheimer’s Association Fund  11 0 0

12. Colorado Cancer Fund  12 0 0

2024 Voluntary Contributions Schedule
If you are making a voluntary contribution and filing by paper,  

you must submit this schedule with your return.
Instructions:

Use this form to make voluntary contributions using your refund to selected Colorado charities. If you 
would like to donate all or a portion of your refund to one of the organizations available to receive voluntary 
contributions, enter the desired amount here. See the back of the 104 Book for more information about 
each of these charitable organizations. You must submit this form along with the DR 0104 or DR 0104EZ 
to ensure that your selected organizations receive the donations you have designated.



Name (Matching to taxpayer on page 1). SSN or ITIN

DR 0104CH (11/06/24)
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
Tax.Colorado.gov
Page 2 of 2

*240104CH29999*

This form is used to request a donation to a qualified charity or charities from your tax refund.  The amount of your 
donation(s) requested on this form may be decreased if a reduction is made to your refund after processing of 
your return. Donation(s) will also be decreased if you owe back taxes or if you owe a balance to another Colorado 
government agency or the IRS. Amounts cannot be changed once your return has been submitted. Donation requests 
cannot be changed with an amended return.

13. Make-A-Wish Foundation of Colorado Fund  13 0 0

14. Unwanted Horse Fund  14 0 0

15. Feeding Colorado Fund  15 0 0

16. Donate to a Colorado Nonprofit Fund  16 0 0
 Enter the 11-digit Secretary of State Registration Number for the Registered Charitable Organization

 Enter the Name of the Registered Charitable Organization

17. Total of lines 1 through 16. This cannot exceed the amount on line 39 of DR 0104 or 
line 9 of DR 0104EZ.  17 0 0

18. Subtract line 17 from the amount on line 39 of DR 0104 or line 9 of DR 0104EZ.  
This is your net refund. (See box below)  18 0 0

DO NOT CUT – Return Full Page
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2024 DR 0104AD – Subtractions from Income Schedule
If claiming a subtraction and filing by paper, you must submit this schedule with your return.

Use this schedule to report any subtractions from your Federal Taxable Income. These subtractions will 
change your Colorado Taxable Income from the amount of Federal Taxable Income. See instructions 
in the income tax booklet for additional guidance on completing this schedule. Do not enter negative 
amounts. You must submit this form along with the DR 0104 if claiming any subtractions.

Name SSN or ITIN

Subtractions from Federal Taxable Income
1. Taxable refunds, credits, and offsets of state and local taxes from Federal Form 

1040, Schedule 1, line 1.  1 0 0

2. U.S. Government Interest  2 0 0
3.  Primary Taxpayer Social Security Benefits (including SSDI) received that 

were included in Federal Taxable Income (see instructions)  3 0 0
4. Primary Taxpayer Pension, Annuity, IRA, 

or Disability Income (not including SSDI) 
(see instructions)

 Deceased SSN or ITIN

 4 0 0
5.  Spouse Social Security Benefits (including SSDI) received that were 

included in Federal Taxable Income (See instructions)  5 0 0
6. Spouse Pension, Annuity, IRA, or 

Disability Income (not including SSDI) 
(see instructions)

 Deceased SSN or ITIN

 6 0 0
7. Primary Taxpayer Military Retirement Benefits (under age 55), you must submit 

copies of all 1099R statements with your return (see instructions)  7 0 0
8. Spouse Military Retirement Benefits (under age 55), you must submit copies of all 

1099R statements with your return (see instructions)  8 0 0
9. Colorado Agricultural Land Capital Gain Subtraction. You must submit a DR 1316 

with your return to qualify for this subtraction.  9 0 0

10. CollegeInvest Contribution: 
(see instructions)

 Owner’s SSN or ITIN

 10 0 0
 Total Contribution  Owner’s Name



*240104AD29999* DR 0104AD (09/30/24)
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Name (match page 1) SSN or ITIN (match page 1)

11. Colorado ABLE Contribution:  
(see instructions)

 Owner’s SSN or ITIN

 11 0 0
 Total Contribution  Owner’s Name

12. Qualifying Charitable Contribution

 Total Contribution

 12$ 0 0

13. Qualified Reservation Income  13 0 0
14. PERA/DPSRS Subtraction, for PERA contributions made in 1984–1986 or 

DPSRS contributions made in 1986  14 0 0

15. Railroad Benefit Subtraction  15 0 0

16. Wildfire Mitigation Measures Subtraction  16 0 0

17. Colorado Marijuana and Natural Medicine Business Deduction   17 0 0

18. Non-Resident Disaster Relief Worker Subtraction   18 0 0
  Natural Disaster: Enter the executive order number(s) from the Colorado governor’s office that declared the state disaster emergency “D YYYY-###” 
(see instructions)

19. Reacquisition of Colorado Residency During Active Duty Military 
Service Subtraction  19 0 0

20. First Time Home Buyer Savings Account Interest Deduction, you must submit form 
DR 0350(s) with your return  20 0 0

21. Employee Subtraction for Employer Contribution to Home Savings Account  21 0 0

22. FAMLI benefits received and included in federal taxable income  22 0 0

23. Other Subtractions, explain below   23 0 0
Explain

24. Carryforward Subtractions Allowed Under HB21-1002 (see instructions)  24 0 0
25. Subtotal, sum of lines 1 through 24, transfer the amount to  

line 10 on the DR 0104  25 0 0



*240900==19999* DR 0900 (06/26/24)
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(0011)

2024 Individual Income Tax Payment Form
(Calendar year — Due April 15, 2025)

Caution!
This form must accompany your payment if you filed electronically and wish to pay by check. If you 
paid electronically or do not owe a payment do not file this form.
The Department strongly recommends that you file using Revenue Online (Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline) 
or another electronic filing method and remit your payment electronically.
To pay by mail, make the check or money order payable to the “Colorado Department of Revenue.” 
Be sure to round your payment to the nearest dollar. Clearly write your Social Security number or 
ITIN and “2024 DR 0104” on the memo line. Be sure to keep a copy of the money order or note the 
check number with your tax records.
Complete the form below. The amount on the check and the amount entered on the payment form 
must be the same. This will help maintain accuracy in your tax account.
Do Not submit the DR 0104 if you have already filed electronically.

DO NOT CUT – Return Full Page
DR 0900

Return the DR 0900 with check or money order payable to the “Colorado Department of Revenue”. Mail payments to Colorado 
Department of Revenue, Denver, Colorado 80261-0008. This address and zip code is exclusive to the Colorado Department of 
Revenue, so a street address is not required. Write your Social Security number or ITIN and “2024 DR 0104” on your check or money 
order. Do not send cash. Enclose, but do not staple or attach, your payment with this form.
SSN or ITIN

Your Last Name First Name Middle Initial

Spouse’s SSN or ITIN

Spouse’s Last Name (if joint) Spouse’s First Name Middle Initial

Address

City State ZIP Code

 
The State may convert your check to a one-time electronic banking transaction. Your bank account may be debited as early as 
the same day received by the State. If converted, your check will not be returned. If your check is rejected due to insufficient or 
uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may collect the payment amount directly from your bank account electronically.

Amount of Payment

$

DO NOT CUT – Return Full Page. IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT FILE THIS FORM.

http://Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline




*DO=NOT=SEND* DR 0158-I (06/26/24)
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Denver CO 80261-0008
Tax.Colorado.gov

2024 Extension Payment for Colorado Individual Income Tax
Instructions

Automatic Filing Extension
Colorado offers an automatic six-month extension to file your income tax return if you cannot submit 
your return by the April 15 due date. This means that you can file your return by October 15.

While there is an extension to file, there is not an extension to the payment due date. Penalty and 
interest are assessed if certain payment criteria are not met. Please review Tax Topics: Penalties and 
Interest for more information on penalty and interest. If you must wait until October 15 to file your 
return, use the following worksheet to calculate whether you need to remit a payment on April 15. If 
the due date falls on a weekend or legal holiday, payment will be due the next business day.

Persons Traveling or Residing Abroad
If you are traveling or residing outside the United States on April 15, the deadline for filing your return 
is June 15. The extension due date for filing remains October 15. If the due date falls on a weekend 
or legal holiday, payment will be due the next business day.

Pay Online
Visit Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline to pay online. Online payments reduce errors and provide instant 
payment confirmation. Revenue Online also allows users to submit various forms and to monitor their 
tax account. 

The DR 0158-I is not required to be sent if an online payment is made. Please be advised that a small 
processing fee may apply to e-check or credit card payments.

http://Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline




*240158-I19999* DR 0158-I (06/26/24)
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Denver CO 80261-0008
Tax.Colorado.gov
Page 1 of 1

(0019)

2024 Extension Payment for Colorado Individual Income Tax
Filing extensions are granted automatically, only return this form if you need to 

make an additional payment of tax.

DR 0158-I Tax Payment Worksheet – Photocopy for your records before returning

1. Income tax you expect to owe 

2. Tax payments and credits:

a. Colorado income tax withheld 

b. Colorado estimated income tax payments 

c. Other payments and credits 

d. Total tax payments and credits – Add lines 2a through 2c 

3. Tax due–Subtract line 2d from line 1. Enter the result here and on the form below 

Return the DR 0158-I with check or money order payable to the “Colorado Department of Revenue”. Mail 
payments to Colorado Department of Revenue, Denver, Colorado 80261-0008. This address and zip code is 
exclusive to the Colorado Department of Revenue, so a street address is not required. Write your Social Security 
number or ITIN and “2024 DR 0158-I” on your check or money order. Do not send cash. Enclose, but do not 
staple or attach, your payment with this form. File only if you are making a payment by check or money order.

SSN or ITIN

Your Last Name First Name Middle Initial

Spouse’s SSN or ITIN

Spouse’s Last Name (if joint) Spouse’s First Name Middle Initial

Address

City State ZIP Code

The State may convert your check to a one-time electronic banking transaction. Your bank account may be debited as early as 
the same day received by the State. If converted, your check will not be returned. If your check is rejected due to insufficient or 
uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may collect the payment amount directly from your bank account electronically.

Amount of Payment

$ 
DO NOT CUT – Return Full Page. IF NO PAYMENT IS DUE, DO NOT FILE THIS FORM.
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Form 104PN
Part-Year Resident/Nonresident 
Tax Calculation Schedule 2024

Taxpayer’s Name SSN or ITIN

Use this form if you and/or your spouse were a resident of another state for all or part of 2024. This form apportions your 
gross income so that Colorado tax is calculated for only your Colorado income. Complete this form after you have filled 
out lines 1 through 11 of the DR 0104. If you filed federal form 1040NR, see the instructions.

Beginning (MM/YY) Ending (MM/YY)
1.  Taxpayer is (mark one): Full-Year Nonresident Part-Year Resident from

Full-Year Resident Nonresident 305-day rule Military

Beginning (MM/YY) Ending (MM/YY)
2.  Spouse is (mark one): Full-Year Nonresident Part-Year Resident from

Full-Year Resident Nonresident 305-day rule Military

3.  Mark the federal form you filed: 1040 1040 NR 1040 SR Other

Federal Information Colorado Information
4. Enter all income from your federal form 1040,  

line 1z.  4 00
5. Enter income from line 4 that was earned while working in Colorado and/or earned 

while you were a Colorado resident. Part-year residents should include moving 
expense reimbursements only if paid for moving into Colorado.  5 00

6. Enter the sum of all taxable interest and ordinary 
dividends from your federal form 1040.  6 00

7. Enter income from line 6 that was earned while you were a resident of Colorado or 
derived from the ownership of real or tangible personal property located in Colorado.  7 00

8. Enter Unemployment or FAMLI Compensation from 
your federal form 1040, Schedule 1, line 7.  8 00

9. Enter income from line 8 that is from Colorado unemployment or FAMLI benefits or  
is from another state’s benefits received while you were a Colorado resident.  9 00

10. Enter all capital gains and (losses) from  
both your federal form 1040, line 7 and  
1040, Schedule 1.  10 00

11. Enter income from line 10 that was earned during that part of the year you were a 
Colorado resident and/or was earned on property located in Colorado.  11 00

DR 0104PN (09/30/24)
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Tax.Colorado.gov
Page 1 of 3



Federal Information Colorado Information
12. Enter the sum of all income from your federal form 

1040, lines 4b, 5b, and 6b.  12 00
13. Enter income from line 12 that was received during that part of the year you were a 

Colorado resident.  13 00
14. Enter the sum of all business income or (loss) and farm 

income or (loss) from your federal form 1040. These 
amounts are found on two separate lines.  14 00

15. Enter income from line 14 that was earned during that part of the year you were a 
Colorado resident and/or was earned from Colorado sources.  15 00

16. Enter all supplemental income and (loss) found on your 
federal form 1040, Schedule E, line 41.  16 00

17. Enter income from line 16 that was earned from Colorado sources; and/or rent and 
royalty income received or credited to your account during the part of the year you 
were a Colorado resident; and/or partnership/S corporation/fiduciary income that is 
taxable to Colorado during the tax year.  17 00

18. Enter the sum of all other income from your federal 
form 1040, Schedule 1, line 10.  18 00

List Type

19. Enter income from line 18 that was earned during that part of the year you were a 
Colorado resident and/or was derived from Colorado sources.  19 00

List Type

20. Total Income. Enter total other income amount found 
on your federal form 1040.  20 00

21. Total Colorado Income. Enter the total from the Colorado column, lines 5, 7, 9, 11, 
13, 15, 17 and 19.  21 00

22. Enter all federal adjustments from your federal  
form 1040.  22 00

List Type

23. Enter adjustments from line 22 as follows  23 00
List Type

• Educator expenses, IRA deduction, business expenses of reservists, performing artists and fee-basis 
government officials, health savings account deduction, self-employment tax, self-employed health insurance 
deduction, SEP and SIMPLE deductions are allowed in the ratio of Colorado wages and/or self-employment 
income to total wages and/or self-employment income.

• Student loan interest deduction and tuition and fees deduction are allowed in the Colorado to federal total 
income ratio (line 21 / line 20).

• Penalty paid on early withdrawals made while a Colorado resident.
• Moving expenses for members of the Armed Forces.
For treatment of other adjustments reported on federal form 1040, 1040 SR, or 1040 SP, line 10, see the Colorado 
Individual Income Tax Guide and/or the Income Tax Topics: Part-Year Residents & Nonresidents.

DR 0104PN (09/30/24)
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Tax.Colorado.gov
Page 2 of 3
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Federal Information Colorado Information
24. Adjusted Gross Income. Enter amount from your 

federal form 1040.  24 00

25. Colorado Adjusted Gross Income. Subtract line 23 from line 21.  25 00
26. Additions to Adjusted Gross Income. Enter the sum of 

lines 5 through 8 of Colorado Form 104 excluding any 
charitable contribution adjustments.  26 00

27. Additions to Colorado Adjusted Gross Income. Enter any amount from  
line 26 that is from non-Colorado state or local bond interest earned while  
a Colorado resident.*   27 00

28. Total of lines 24 and 26  28 00

29. Total of lines 25 and 27  29 00
30. Subtractions from Adjusted Gross Income. Enter the 

amount from line 10 of Colorado Form 104 excluding 
any qualifying charitable contributions.  30 00

31. Subtractions from Colorado Adjusted Gross Income. 
Enter any amount from line 30 as follows:  31 00
• The state income tax refund subtraction to the extent included on line 19 above
• The federal interest subtraction to the extent included on line 7 above
• The pension/annuity subtraction and the PERA or DPS retirement subtraction to the extent included on line 13 above
• The Colorado Agricultural capital gain subtraction to the extent included on line 20 above
 For treatment of other subtractions, see the Individual Income Tax Guide and/or the Income Tax Topics: 

Part-Year Residents & Nonresidents.
32. Modified Adjusted Gross Income. Subtract line 30 

from line 28.  32 00

33. Modified Colorado Adjusted Gross Income. Subtract line 31 from line 29.  33 00
34. Divide line 33 by line 32. Round to the fourth decimal 

place, i.e. xxx.xxxx  34 %

35. Tax from the tax table based on income reported on the DR 0104 line 11.  35 00
36. Apportioned tax. Multiply line 35 by the percentage on 

line 34. Enter here and on DR 0104 line 12.  36 00

*  See the Individual Income Tax Guide and/or the Income Tax Topics: Part-Year Residents & Nonresidents for 
treatment of other additions.

Name (match page 1) SSN or ITIN (match page 1)
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Form 104CR
Individual Credit Schedule 2024

Taxpayer’s Last Name First Name Middle Initial SSN or ITIN

Use this schedule to calculate your income tax credits. For best results, visit Tax.Colorado.gov to research eligibility 
requirements and other information about these credits before following the line-by-line instructions contained below.

• Be sure to submit the required supporting documentation as indicated for each credit. Most e-file software and tax 
preparers have the ability to submit this schedule and attachments electronically. However, Revenue Online can 
also be used to file your return and attachments electronically. Otherwise, include all required documents with your 
paper return.

• If you received any of these credits from a partnership or S corporation, be sure to provide the entity’s name and 
account number and your ownership percentage where required. If credits were passed through from multiple entities, 
submit with your return a written statement that includes all relevant information.

• Round all dollar amounts to the nearest whole dollar. Calculate percentages to four decimal places (i.e., xxx.xxxx).

Part I — Refundable Credits
1. CO Child tax credit from line 11 or 13 of the DR 0104CN. You must submit the 

DR 0104CN with your return.  1 00
2. Child Care Expenses Credit from the DR 0347, you must submit the DR 0347 with 

your return.  2 00

SSN Filers Only - Earned Income Tax Credit (EITC) - full or part-year Colorado residents who claim the federal EITC 
are allowed an earned income tax credit against their income tax. Complete the table on your DR 0104 for each 
qualifying child. Read the instructions in the 104 book and Income Tax Topics: Earned Income Tax Credit for additional 
guidance on completing this section. If you were not able to claim the federal EITC (including your spouse and up to 
three of your dependents, if applicable), see form DR 0104TN.

3. Earned Income calculated from your federal return, see the  
Form 1040 Instructions.  3 00

4. Federal EITC from Form 1040, 1040 SR, or 1040 SP, line 27.  4 00

5. COEITC, multiply line 4 by 50% (0.50).  5 00
6. Part-year residents only, multiply line 5 by the percentage on line 34 of the 

DR 0104PN (If the percentage exceeds 100%, use 100%.)  6 00
7. Business Personal Property Credit: Use the calculation in the 104 Book instructions. 

You must submit a copy of the assessor’s statement with your return.  7 00
8. Refundable Renewable Energy Tax Credit from line 28 of the DR 1366. You must 

submit the DR 1366 with your return.  8 00
9. ITIN Filers or Certain Filers Under Age 25 Only - COEITC from line 18 (or 19) of 

DR 0104TN. You must submit DR 0104TN with your return.  9 00
10. Early Childhood Educator Income Tax Credit. 

You must submit the DR 1703 with your return.  10 00

DR 0104CR (09/30/24)
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
Tax.Colorado.gov
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11. Partner’s or shareholder’s share of tax paid with composite return  
or SALT Parity election  11 00

12. Credit for conversion costs to an employee-owned business model. You must 
submit the certificate from the Office of Economic Development with your return.  12 00

13. Alternative Transportation Options Credit  13 00

14. Heat Pump Credit for Registered Contractors from DR 1322, line 7.  14 00
15. Refundable Residential Energy Storage Systems Credit (assigned to you by the 

building owner) from line 10 of DR 1307, which you must submit with your return.  15 00
16. Certified Greenhouse Gas Avoidance Credits. You must submit certificate(s)  

from the Colorado Energy Office with your return.  16 00

17. Food Accessibility Credit, certified by the Department of Agriculture.  17 00

18. Electric-Powered Lawn Equipment Credit for qualified retailers.  18 00

19. Colorado Film Incentive Credit.  19 00

20. Income-Qualified Senior Housing Income Tax Credit (see instructions).  20 00
21. Part-year residents only, multiply line 20 by the percentage on line 34 of the 

DR 0104PN (If the percentage exceeds 100%, use 100%.)  21 00
22. Refundable CHIPS Zone Credit(s) from the DR 1370 line 24, you must submit the 

DR 1370 with your return.  22 00
23. Total refundable credits, sum of lines 1, 2, 5 (or 6), 7-19, 20 (or 21), and 22.  

Enter the sum on the DR 0104 line 28.  23 00

Part II — Credit for Tax Paid to Another State

• Colorado nonresidents do not qualify for this credit.
• Part-year residents generally do not qualify for this credit.
• If you have income or loss from more than one state, you must file electronically. Lines 25 through 28 must be 

calculated and reported separately for each even if there was no tax liability to the state.

Submit a copy of the tax return for each other state when claiming this credit. The portion of the return submitted must include 
the adjusted gross income calculation, any disallowed federal deductions by that state, and the tax calculation for that state.

24. Name of other state:

25. Total of lines 12 and 13 form DR 0104  25 00
26. Modified Colorado adjusted gross income from sources in the other state, see 

Income Tax Topics: Credit for Tax Paid to Another State.  26 00

27. Total modified Colorado adjusted gross income  27 00

28. Divide line 26 by line 27. Round to four decimal places, i.e. xxx.xxxx  28 %

29. Multiply line 25 by the percentage on line 28  29 00

30. Tax liability to the other state  30 00

31. Allowable credit, the smaller of lines 29 or 30   31 00

DR 0104CR (09/30/24)
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Tax.Colorado.gov
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Part III — Other Credits

Visit Tax.Colorado.gov/Income-Tax-Credits for limitations that are specific to each credit. Use the first column to report 
the total credit available (the amount generated this year plus any prior-year carryforward). Then, use the second 
column to report the amount you are using this year to offset your tax liability. 

Available Credit 
Column (A) 

Credit Used 
Column (B) 

32. Carry forward of prior year plastic recycling  
investment credit.  32 00 00

33. Colorado Minimum Tax Credit.  33 00 00
 2024 Federal Minimum Tax Credit (fill below):

34. Carry forward of prior year Historic Property 
Preservation credit (per §39-22-514, C.R.S.).  34 00 00

35. Child Care Center Investment credit, you must submit 
a copy of your facility license and a list of depreciable 
tangible personal property with your return.  35 00 00

36. Employer Child Care Facility Investment credit, you 
must submit a copy of your facility license and a list 
of depreciable tangible personal property with your 
return.  36 00 00

37. School-to-Career Investment credit, you must submit 
a copy of the certification with your return.  37 00 00

38. Colorado Works Program credit, you must submit 
a copy of the letter from the county Department of 
Social/Human Services with your return.  38 00 00

39. Child Care Contribution credit, you must submit each 
DR 1317 with your return.  39 00 00

40. Long-term Care Insurance credit, you must submit a 
year-end statement to show premiums paid with your 
return.   40 00 00

41. Carry forward of prior year Aircraft Manufacturer 
New Employee credit.  41 00 00

42. Remediation of Contaminated Land Credit, you must 
submit a copy of the CDPHE certification and DR 0349 
with your return.  42 00 00

43. Colorado Job Growth Incentive credit, you must  
submit certification from OEDIT with your return.  43 00 00

44. Certified Colorado Disability Funding Committee 
License Fee credit, you must submit a copy of the 
certification with your return.  44 00 00

45. Advanced Industry Investment credit, you must submit 
a copy of the certification with your return.  45 00 00

46. Affordable Housing credit, you must submit CHFA 
certification with your return.  46 00 00

DR 0104CR (09/30/24)
COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE
Tax.Colorado.gov
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Available Credit 
Column (A) 

Credit Used 
Column (B) 

47. Carry forward of prior year Credit for Food 
Contributed to Hunger-Relief Charitable 
Organizations.  47 00 00

48. Preservation of Historic Structures credit 
(per §39- 22-514.5, C.R.S.) carried forward from a 
prior year.  48 00 00

49. Preservation of Historic Structures credit (per 
§39-22- 514.5, C.R.S.), you must submit the 
certificate from OEDIT, History Colorado, or local 
granting authority with your return.  49 00 00

50. If you are claiming the Preservation of Historic Structures credit enter your credit 
certificate number issued by OEDIT, History Colorado, or local granting authority.  50

51. Rural Jump–Start Zone credit, you must submit 
certificate from Office of Economic Development 
AND the DR 0113 with your return.  51 00 00

52. Rural & Frontier Health Care Preceptor credit, you 
must submit your certification with your return.  52 00 00

53. Retrofitting a Residence to Increase a Residence’s 
Visitability Credit, you must submit certificate from 
Division of Housing.  53 00 00

 If you are claiming a Retrofitting a Residence to Increase a Residence’s Visitability Credit, enter your credit certificate number issued by Division of Housing

54. Credit for employer contributions to employee 529 
plan, you must submit DR 0289 with your return.  54 00 00

55. Credit for employer paid leave of absence for live 
organ donation. Employer must complete and submit 
form DR 0375 with their return.  55 00 00

56. Wildfire Mitigation Expenses Credit  56 00 00
57. Enterprise Zone Contribution Credit, you must  

submit the certificate from OEDIT with your return.  57 00 00
58. Nonrefundable Residential Energy Storage Systems 

Credit from line 3 of DR 1307, which you must submit 
with your return.  58 00 00

59. Homeless Contribution Credit, you must submit the 
certificate (to substantiate your contribution).  59 00 00

60. If you are claiming a Homeless Contribution Credit, enter your credit certificate 
number.  60

61. Employer Assistance for Home Purchase Credit.  61 00 00
62. Total of column A lines 32 through 61  

(exclude lines 50 and 60 certificate numbers).  62 00
63. Nonrefundable Credits Used, total of column B plus any amount from line 31, exclude 

lines 50 and 60 certificate numbers. Also enter this amount on the DR 0104 line 16. 
Credit used cannot exceed credit available.  63 00

Name SSN or ITIN
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Child Care Expenses Credit
Instructions

Use this form to determine if you can claim the Colorado Child Care Expenses credit or Low-Income 
Child Care Expenses tax credit. You may be able to claim the credit if you pay someone to care for 
your dependent who is under age 13. For information about any federal form or publication listed 
below, please visit IRS.gov

Eligibility
To be able to claim the Colorado credit for child care expenses, you must file federal form 1040, 
1040SR, 1040SP, or 1040NR and you (and/or your spouse) must have been a part or full-year 
resident of Colorado. Colorado non-resident filers may not claim this credit. 

If you were not required to file a federal income tax return, you may still be eligible for the Low Income 
Child Care Expenses credit. However, you may need to complete a pro-forma federal income tax 
return in order to complete the required calculations. To claim the credit, you must meet all of the 
following tests:

1. The care must be for one or more qualifying persons.
2. You (and your spouse if filing jointly) must have earned income during the year.
3. You must pay child care expenses so you (and your spouse if filing jointly) can work or look for 

work. Qualifying expenses are defined under Section 21 of the Internal Revenue Code.
4. You must make payments for child and dependent care expenses to someone you (and your 

spouse) cannot claim as a dependent. If you make payments to your child, he or she cannot be your 
dependent and must be age 19 or older by the end of the year. You cannot make payments to:
a. Your spouse, or
b. The parent of your qualifying person if your qualifying person is your child and under the age of 13.

5. You cannot claim this credit if your federal filing status is Married Filing Separate.
6. You must identify the care provider on this form.
It is recommended that you fully review IRS Publication 503 for eligibility tests and the definition of 
qualifying income and children. All of the information in this form is required and your credit may be 
denied if it is incomplete.

Part I – Person or Organization Who Provided the Care
Use this section to list the name, address and Social Security or Federal Employer ID number of the 
child care provider(s) you used. If you are unable to provide the Social Security or Federal Employer 
ID number of the child care provider, you must show that you attempted to obtain the required 
information by including such proof with this form.

List the total amount paid for the full year of child care, paid to each provider. If you have more than 
two care providers or if the provider is non-profit, please file your return electronically.
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Part II – Qualifying Child Information
For lines 2a – 2d, list each qualifying child, their year of birth and their Social Security number. You 
must also list the amount of child care expenses for each specific child. The dependent information 
entered here must match the dependent information on your individual income tax return, DR 0104.

Complete lines 2e through 4 as instructed on the form. If the amount on line 4 is greater than $60,000 
do not continue because you do not qualify for this credit.

If line 4 is $60,000 or less, enter the amount from line 9a of federal form 2441, Child and Dependent 
Care Expenses, on line 5 of this form DR 0347.

For line 6 enter your tax from your federal income tax form 1040, 1040SR, 1040SP, or 1040NR 
line 18. If you claimed a Federal Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit, continue to Part III. 
Otherwise, if you could not not claim a Federal Child and Dependent Care Expenses Credit and your 
adjusted gross income is $25,000 or less, skip to Part IV.

If you have more than four qualifying children, please file your return electronically.

Part III – Child Care Expenses Credit
For line 8 enter the amount from line 11 of federal form 2441.

For line 9 multiply line 8 by the decimal on line 7.

Full-year residents, enter the amount from line 9 on form DR 0104CR line 2. Part-year residents 
continue to Part V.

Part IV – Low-Income Child Care Expenses
If you were not required to file a federal income tax return or were unable to claim the Federal Child 
and Dependent Care Expenses Credit and the amount of line 4 is $25,000 or less, use Table A to 
calculate the credit. Otherwise, go back to Part III to calculate your credit.

For line 11 multiply line 3 by the decimal on line 10.

For line 12 enter the smaller amount of line 11 or the appropriate amount from Table A.

Full-year residents, enter the amount from line 12 on form DR 0104CR line 2. Part-year residents 
continue to Part V.

Part V – Part Year Resident Limitation
Complete this part only if you were a part-year resident of Colorado in 2024. For line 13, enter the 
percentage from DR 0104PN line 34.

For line 14 multiply the amount from line 9 or line 12 by the percentage from line 13. Enter this 
amount on line 2 of DR 0104CR.
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 For Tax Year

You MUST submit this form with your complete Colorado Individual Income Tax Return, including forms DR 0104 
and DR 0104CR. You must also submit a copy of your federal income tax return and IRS form 2441 with your 
Colorado return.
Thoroughly read the instructions to be certain you are eligible for this credit. Be sure to complete all required information. 
Failure to do so may result in a denied credit or delayed refund.
Taxpayer Name SSN or ITIN

Part I –  Persons or Organizations Who Provided the Care – You must complete this part. 
If you have more than two care providers or if the provider is non-profit, see the instructions.

 1(a). Care Provider’s First Name or Business Name  Last Name  Middle Initial  (b) SSN, ITIN or FEIN

 (c) Address  City  State  ZIP  (d) Amount Paid

$
 (e) Care Provider’s First Name or Business Name  Last Name  Middle Initial  (f) SSN, ITIN or FEIN

 (g) Address  City  State  ZIP  (h) Amount Paid

$
Part II –  Qualifying Child Information – You must complete this part. 

If you have more than four qualifying children, see the instructions.
 2(a). Child’s First Name  Last Name  Middle Initial  Year of Birth

 SSN or ITIN

Qualified expenses you paid in 2024 for the person listed in 2(a) $
 2(b). Child’s First Name  Last Name  Middle Initial  Year of Birth

 SSN or ITIN

Qualified expenses you paid in 2024 for the person listed in 2(b) $

*240347==19999*

2024 Child Care Expenses Tax Credit
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Taxpayer Name (match page 1) SSN or ITIN (match page 1)

 2(c). Child’s First Name  Last Name  Middle Initial  Year of Birth

 SSN or ITIN

Qualified expenses you paid in 2024 for the person listed in 2(c) $
 2(d). Child’s First Name  Last Name  Middle Initial  Year of Birth

 SSN or ITIN

Qualified expenses you paid in 2024 for the person listed in 2(d) $

2(e). Enter the sum of all qualified child care expenses $

2(f).Enter your earned income $

2(g). If filing a joint return, enter the earned income of the other person $

3. Enter the smallest of line 2(e), 2(f) [or 2(g) only if filing a joint return]   3 $
4. Enter your adjusted gross income from your federal income tax 

form 1040, 1040-SR, 1040-SP, or 1040-NR line 11   4 $
If the amount of line 4 is greater than $60,000 STOP – you do not qualify for this credit.

5. Enter the amount from line 9a of federal form 2441, child and dependent care 
expenses. If you did not complete federal form 2441, enter $0.   5 $

6. Enter your tax from your federal income tax form 1040, 1040-SR, 1040-SP, or 
1040-NR line 18   6 $

If you claimed a credit on federal form 2441, continue to Part III. Otherwise, go to Part IV.

Part III – Child Care Expenses Credit – Complete this part if line 6 is greater than $0 AND line 4 is $60,000 or less

7. Allowable percentage of federal credit. 7 0.50
8. Enter the amount from line 11 of federal Form 2441, child and dependent care 

expenses   8
9.  Multiply line 8 by the decimal on line 7. Full-year residents, enter this amount on 

DR0104CR line 2, Part-year residents, continue to Part V. 9

Part IV – Low-Income Child Care Expenses Credit – Complete this part if line 6 is $0 AND line 4 is $25,000 or less.

10. Allowable percentage of low-income child care expenses. 10 0.25

11. Multiply line 3 by the decimal on line 10   11
Table A

One qualifying child .............................. $500 Two or more qualifying children ...........$1,000
12. Enter the smaller of line 11 or the appropriate amount from Table A. Full-year residents, 

enter this amount on DR 0104CR line 2, Part-year residents, continue to Part V.   12

Part V – Part-Year Resident Limitation
13. Part-year residents ONLY – Enter the percentage from DR 0104PN line 34. 

If the percentage exceeds 100%, enter 100%. 13 %
14. Multiply the amount from line 9 or line 12 by the percentage from line 13. 

Enter the result on line 2 of DR 0104CR.   14 $
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Voluntary Contribution Eligible Funds
A simple way to give.
Complete form DR 0104CH Voluntary 
Contributions Schedule to contribute to any of 
these charitable funds. 

Colorado Nongame Conservation and 
Wildlife Restoration Cash Fund
Nongame wildlife includes 750 species of wildlife 
that cannot be hunted, fished for or trapped. 
Funds go to projects that manage or recover 
wildlife such as lynx, river otter, black-footed 
ferret, green back cutthroat, and others. The 
nongame program receives no state tax dollars 
and depends on voluntary contributions.

Domestic Abuse Program Fund
Donations to this fund help support critical 
services provided by community-based 
domestic abuse programs across Colorado. 
These agencies provide 24-hour crisis line 
response, emergency safe shelter, counseling 
and advocacy services for victims of domestic 
violence and their children and information 
and referrals for their communities, and 
community education.

Homeless Prevention Activities 
Program Fund
Approximately 52,000 people in Colorado are 
at risk of becoming homeless this year. Keeping 
people in their homes saves tax dollars and is an 
effective and humane way of helping families in 
crisis. Your contribution will be used to support 
activities and programs which help prevent 
people from becoming homeless.

Western Slope Military Veterans 
Cemetery Fund
Funds assist in the maintenance of the Veterans 
Memorial cemetery of Western Colorado. The 
veterans cemetery is intended as a dignified final 
resting place for Colorado’s veterans and eligible 
dependents. It is a place of quiet contemplation 
for the veterans community. Please help maintain 
this solemn beauty for Colorado veterans.

Pet Overpopulation Fund
The Pet Overpopulation Fund provides funding to 
local animal care and control organizations and 
veterinarians for sterilization surgeries for pets 
owned by Coloradans in areas of the state with 
the greatest need. The Fund also supports efforts 
to educate the public about the importance of 
preventing pet overpopulation.

Military Family Relief Fund
Provides emergency grants for financial 
hardships to members of Colorado National 
Guard or Reservist and their families when 
ordered to Active Military duty and to Active 
Duty Military Personnel stationed in Colorado 
and their family members when the Active Duty 
military member is deployed to a declared 
hostile fire zone.

American Red Cross Colorado 
Disaster Response, Readiness, and 
Preparedness Fund
The American Red Cross prevents and alleviates 
human suffering in the face of emergencies. 
In Colorado, the Red Cross teaches tens of 
thousands of people lifesaving skills every year, 
provides critical services for members of the 
military and their families and responds to, on 
average, a disaster a day.

Habitat for Humanity of Colorado Fund
Seeking to put God’s love into action, Habitat for 
Humanity brings people together to build homes, 
communities and hope. Through volunteer labor 
and donations, Habitat for Humanity builds and 
rehabilitates simple, decent homes in partnership 
with hardworking low-income individuals and 
families in 45 Colorado communities.

Special Olympics of Colorado Fund
Special Olympics Colorado provides year-round 
athletic competition in 22 sports for over 19,000+ 
athletes with intellectual disabilities from 2 to 80+ 
years old. We create inclusive and welcoming 
schools for children with all differences through 
unified sports and youth leadership. Programs 
are free of charge to athletes and their families.
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Voluntary Contribution Eligible Funds (Continued)
Colorado Healthy Rivers Fund
This fund protects Colorado’s lands and 
waterways. The state’s streams, wetlands, 
mountains and forests serve many needs 
including water supply, agriculture, wildlife 
and recreation. Your generous support of this 
program will fund stream restoration projects 
and assist local groups in watershed protection 
efforts. Remember, your contribution will 
make a difference!

Alzheimer’s Association Fund
One in 10 Coloradans over 65 and nearly half 
over 85 have Alzheimer’s disease with 70% 
cared for at home. 100% of your donation to 
the Alzheimer’s Association will fund essential 
education, training, and counseling services to 
urban and rural families. Without support, the 
emotional burden on caregivers is tremendous.

Colorado Cancer Fund
Cancer touches every Coloradan as it is the 
leading cause of death in our state. Your 
donation to the Colorado Cancer Fund assists 
Coloradans through education, prevention, 
treatment, and support programs. The Colorado 
Cancer Coalition, collaborating with over 250 
organizations, administers the fund to lead the 
fight against cancer.

Make-A-Wish Foundation® of  
Colorado Fund 
Since 1983, Make-A-Wish Foundation® of 
Colorado has given hope, strength and joy to 
over 3,300 Colorado children with life-threatening 
medical conditions. As one of 65 chapters in 
the U.S., and 27 international chapters on five 
continents, Make-A-Wish Foundation® is the 
largest wish granting organization in the world

Unwanted Horse Fund
Approximately 6,000 Colorado horses become 
unwanted each year because their owners no 
longer want them or can afford them. Abuse and 
abandonment are increasing whilst traditional 
outlets for unwanted horses—rescue facilities, 
therapeutic riding programs, etc., are reaching 
capacity. CUHA addresses the problem through 
grant programs, education initiatives and research.

Feeding Colorado
Feeding Colorado is an association of the five 
Feeding America food banks serving all of Colorado. 
Member food banks include Care and Share Food 
Bank for Southern Colorado, Community Food 
Share, Food Bank for Larimer County, Food Bank of 
the Rockies, and Weld Food Bank.

Donate to a Colorado Nonprofit Fund
For the first time ever, you can donate some or 
all of your state income tax refund to an eligible 
Colorado nonprofit of your choosing. It’s simple, 
fast, and puts you in charge of where your 
donation goes. Find the cause you’ll support 
here: dor-taxdonations.uc.r.appspot.com/

Please read all instructions before completing the forms.
STATE OF COLORADO 
DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE 
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Colorado Publication
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