
Filing Requirements
Every individual, corporation, business trust, partner in 
a partnership, association, estate, trust or any other legal 
entity liable for the payment of Colorado severance tax must 
file a severance tax return. This return must be made for the 
same tax year used for federal income tax purposes and is 
due on or before the 15th day of the fourth month following 
the end of the taxable year.
Controlled Group 
In case of a controlled group of corporations as defined in 
section 613A of the Internal Revenue Code or of a family (an 
individual, the individual's spouse, and their minor children) 
where more than one member of the group or family are 
subject to the severance tax, the tax must be jointly computed 
and the severance tax return must be jointly filed under the 
name of the principal taxpaying corporation, the married 
couple or the single adult. The DR 0021AS, available upon 
request from the Department of Revenue, must be attached 
in case of a controlled group of corporations.
Metallic Minerals Defined
Metallic minerals means all minerals except molybdenum, 
oil and gas, carbon dioxide, coal, oil shale, rock, gravel, 
stone products, earths, limestone, and dolomite. Minerals 
associated with molybdenum and oil shale production are 
not excluded from the definition of metallic minerals.
Taxpayer
The tax is levied against every mining operation engaged in 
the severance of metallic minerals.
Tax
The tax is 2.25% of the gross income from the mining 
operations in excess of $19,000,000 per year. The $19,000,000 
exemption need not be prorated for a taxable period of less 
than twelve months.
Gross Income
Gross income means the value of the ore immediately after  
its removal from the mine, and does not include any value 
added subsequent to mining by any treatment processes, 
such as crushing, grinding or concentration, by transportation 
from the mine, or by marketing of such ore or any products 
derived therefrom. 
Income from the extraction or processing of ores or minerals 
from mine waste or residue of previously processed ores is 
not subject to tax. Ores that are processed and abandoned 
and subsequently reclaimed by an unrelated economic interest 
shall be generally considered as waste or residue.
The tax applies to the value of the ore at the time it is severed, 
not to the sale of the ore. Ore severed during a year is taxed 
for that year even if it remains unsold at the end of the year.

Ad Valorem Tax
The ad valorem tax must be reported on the same basis  
(accrual or cash) used for filing federal income tax returns. For 
the accrual basis taxpayer, the accrual/assessment date is the 
date the actual amount of the ad valorem tax is determined 
based upon the mill levy set by the counties.  For the cash 
basis filer, the ad valorem tax is paid when it is actually paid 
to the county assessor.
Impact Assistance Credit
A credit against the severance tax is allowed with respect 
to contributions of property or money to units of local 
government for the amount of the credit must be certified by 
the Executive Director of the Department of Local Affairs.
Estimated Tax
Every corporation subject to Colorado severance tax must 
file a declaration of estimated tax, the DR 0021PA, if its 
severance tax liability for the current tax year can reasonably 
be expected to exceed its Colorado severance tax credits by 
$5,000 or more.
Interest and Penalty
If the return is filed after the due date, interest at the current 
statutory rate is due on any balance of tax due until paid. A 
penalty of the larger of $30 or 30% of the balance of tax due 
is due on any delinquently filed return. A corporation that 
underpays its estimated tax may owe an estimated tax penalty.
Direct Deposit
The Department can deposit your refund directly into your 
account at a U.S. bank or other financial institution (such 
as a mutual fund, brokerage firm, or credit union) in the 
United States. 
Extension of Time for Filing
An automatic six-month extension of time for filing the 
severance tax return is allowed. This is an extension of time 
for filing your severance tax return, not an extension of time 
for paying your tax. If you owe additional tax, use the DR 
0021SA to submit an extension payment.
Amended Return
If you find it necessary to amend your Colorado severance 
tax return, you are required to file the 
DR 0020AX with the Department of Revenue.
Information
Forms and additional information can be accessed on the 
Web site at Tax.Colorado.gov
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Taxable Year Beginning  (MM/DD/YY) Taxable Year Ending  (MM/DD/YY) Colorado Account Number FEIN

Last Name or Business Name First Name Middle Initial

Address

Foreign Country City State ZIP Phone Number

Name of facility as identified with the Colorado Department of Natural Resources

County or counties in which operation is located

Round To The 
Nearest DollarIf this is a final return, check this box	

1. Gross income from mining operation 1 0 0

2. Specific exemption (see instructions) 2 19,000,000 0 0

3. Taxable income, line 1 minus line 2. If line 2 is larger, enter zero 3 0 0

4. Tax on gross income, 2.25% of amount on line 3 4 0 0

5 0 0

5. Ad valorem tax Accrual basis or Cash basis

Check accounting method (Check Instructions)

6. 50% of the tax on line 4 6 0 0

7. Ad valorem tax credit, the smaller of lines 5 or 6 7 0 0

8. Tax, line 4 minus line 7 8 0 0

9. Impact assistance credit 9 0 0

10. Net tax, line 8 minus line 9 but not less than zero 10 0 0

11. Estimated tax and extension payments 	11 0 0

12. If line 11 is larger than line 10, enter your overpayment 12 0 0

13. Enter amount from line 12 you want refunded 	13 0 0

Direct
Deposit

Routing Number Type: Checking Savings

Account Number
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14.	Enter amount from line 12, if any you want credited to estimated tax for next year 	14 0 0

15.	 If line 10 is larger than line 11, enter the balance of tax due 	 15 0 0

16.	 Interest on balance of tax due 	16 0 0

17.	Penalty on balance of tax due 	17 0 0

18.	Estimated tax penalty 	18 0 0

	19 $ .0 0
19.	Total Amount Owed. Add lines 15 through 18 Paid by EFT

The State may convert your check to a one time electronic banking transaction. Your bank account may be debited as early as the same day received by the State. If converted, your check will 
not be returned. If your check is rejected due to insufficient or uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may collect the payment amount directly from your bank account electronically.

Under penalty of perjury in the second degree, I declare that I have examined this return and to the best of my knowledge 
and belief it is true, correct, and complete.
Signature of Taxpayer or Corporate Officer Date (MM/DD/YY)

Preparer Last Name Preparer First Name Middle Initial

Address Phone Number

City State ZIP

Mail to and make checks payable to: Colorado Department of Revenue
Denver CO 80261-0006
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