

Composite Nonresident Return Estimated Income Tax Instructions

Estimated tax is the method used to pay tax on income that is not subject to withholding. Individuals who are not residents of Colorado (nonresidents) must pay tax on any Colorado-source income. This is intended for nonresident individuals who are included in a form 106 composite filing. See publications FYI – Income 51 and Income 54 for more information, available at www.TaxColorado.com

General Rule

In most cases, you will pay estimated tax if an individual partner expects to owe more than \$1,000 in tax for 2017, after subtracting any withholding or refundable credits they might have. This rule must be calculated for each individual included in the composite return, and not as the composite as a whole.

Required Payments

The required annual amount to be paid by each individual included in the composite (if not excluded by the general rule) is the smaller of:

- a. 70% of the actual net Colorado tax liability.*
- b. 100% of the preceding year's net Colorado tax liability. This rule only applies if the preceding year was a 12-month tax year, the individual filed a Colorado return, and the federal adjusted gross income on that return was \$150,000 or less (or, if married filing separately, \$75,000 or less).
- c. 110% of the preceding year's net Colorado tax liability. This amount only applies if the preceding year was a 12-month year, and the individual filed a Colorado return.

*The net Colorado tax liability is defined as the sum of Colorado tax, alternative minimum tax, and the recapture of prior year credits, minus the sum of all credits other than withholding and/or estimated tax credits.

Calculating the Payment

Use the provided Worksheet to calculate the amount of estimated tax owed for each nonresident individual included in the composite. Reference the previous year Colorado income tax return form and instructions for help determining taxable income. Submit payments according to the due date table provided.

It is strongly recommended that these payments be submitted electronically to avoid problems and delays. The single form can be copied and used for each of the four quarterly payments if an electronic payment cannot be made for any reason.

Penalties

Failure to timely remit estimated tax as necessary will result in an Estimated Tax Penalty. Exceptions will be given to farmers or fishermen who file and remit full payment by March 1. Otherwise, penalty will be calculated for each missed or late payment. For calculation specifics, or to remit this penalty before being billed, see Form 204.

Refunds

Estimated tax payments can only be claimed as prepayment credit on the 2017 Colorado income tax return. Therefore, estimated payments cannot be refunded in any manner until such time that the Colorado income tax return is filed.

Go Green with Revenue Online

www.Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline allows taxpayers to file taxes, make payments and monitor their accounts. Form 106EP is not required if an electronic payment is remitted through this site. Please be advised that a nominal processing fee may apply to online payments.

Pay by Electronic Funds Transfer (EFT)

EFT payments can be made safely and for free, and can be scheduled up to 12 months ahead of time to avoid forgetting to make a payment. This requires pre-registration before payments can be made. Visit www.Colorado.gov/revenue/eft for registration information.

Additional information, FYI Publications and forms are available at *www.TaxColorado.com*, or you can call 303-238-SERV (7378) for assistance.

DR 0106EP ((07/15/16)

COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE

Denver, CO 80261-0008

www.TaxColorado.com





2017 Colorado Composite Nonresident Estimated Tax Payment Form

DO NOT CUT - Return Full Page

DR 0106EP (07/15/16)			
For the calendar year 2017 or the fiscal year:			
Beginning (MM/DD/YY)	Ending (MM/DD/YY)		
Return the DR 0106EP with check or money order payable to 80261-0008. Write your Colorado Account Number and "2017 send cash. Enclose, but do not staple or attach, your paymer estimated tax.	' Form 0106EP" on your ch	neck or money ord	der. Do not
FEIN			
Colorado Account Number			
Organization Name			
Address			
City			
State		ZIP	Due Date (MM/DD/YY)
If No Payment Is Due, Do Not File This Form. The State may convert your check to a one time electronic banking transaction. Yo bank account may be debited as early as the same day received by the State. If converted, your check will not be returned. If your check is rejected due to insufficient or uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may collect the payment amount directly from your bank account electronically.			
			.00