

DR 0104EP (09/21/16) **COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE** Denver, CO 80261-0008 *www.TaxColorado.com* 

# Individual Estimated Income Tax Instructions

Estimated tax is the method used to pay tax on income that is not subject to withholding. Wages typically have withholding, but earnings from self-employment, interest, dividends, rents, etc. would be subject to estimated tax. You might also pay estimated tax if your withholdings are not enough to be excluded from the General Rule below. If you file form 1040-ES with the IRS, typically you would pay estimated tax to the Colorado Department of Revenue. See publication FYI Income 51 for more information, which is

available at www.TaxColorado.com

## **General Rule**

In most cases, you will pay estimated tax if you expect to owe more than \$1,000 in tax for 2017, after subtracting any withholding or refundable credits you might have.

## **Required Payments**

The required annual amount to be paid is the smaller of:

- a. 70% of the actual net Colorado tax liability.
- b. 100% of the preceding year's net Colorado tax liability. This rule only applies if the preceding year was a 12-month tax year, the individual filed a Colorado return, and the federal adjusted gross income on that return was \$150,000 or less (or, if married filing separately, \$75,000 or less).
- **c.** 110% of the preceding year's net Colorado tax liability. This amount applies only if the preceding year was a 12-month year, and the individual filed a Colorado return.

# **Annualized Installment Method**

Those who do not receive income evenly throughout the year may elect to file using this method. Specific instructions for the annualized installment method are available in publication FYI Income 51.

# **Carryforward of Estimated Overpayment**

Any overpayment designated for carryforward on your Colorado income tax return from the previous year must be applied to the first estimated tax payment due for this tax period.

## **Calculating the Payment**

Use the provided Worksheet to calculate the amount of estimated tax owed. Reference the previous year Colorado Income Tax Return form and instructions for help determining taxable income. Those who file joint returns must make the payment under the taxpayer name and ID number that will be listed first on the income tax return. Remit payments according to the due date table provided in the worksheet.

### Penalties

Failure to timely remit estimated tax as necessary will result in an estimated tax penalty. Exceptions will be given to farmers or fishermen who file and remit full payment by March 1. Otherwise, penalty will be calculated for each missed or late payment. For calculation specifics, or to remit this penalty before being billed, see Form 204, Underpayment of Individual Estimated Tax.

### Refunds

Estimated tax payments can only be claimed as prepayment credit on the 2017 Colorado income tax return. Therefore, estimated payments cannot be refunded in any manner until such time that the Colorado income tax return is filed.

#### Go Green with Revenue Online

*www.Colorado.gov\RevenueOnline* allows taxpayers to file taxes, remit payments and monitor their tax accounts. Form 104EP is not required if electronic payment is remitted through this site. Please be advised that a nominal processing fee may apply to electronic payments.

#### Pay by Electronic Funds Transfer

EFT payments can be made safely and for free, and can be scheduled up to 12 months ahead of time to avoid forgetting to make a quarterly payment. This requires pre-registration before payments can be made. Visit *www.Colorado.gov/revenue/eft* for registration information.

Additional information, FYI publications, and forms are available at *www.TaxColorado.com* or you can call 303-238-SERV (7378) for assistance.



# Colorado Estimated Tax – Individuals Worksheet

1. Estimated 2017 Colorado taxable income							\$	00
2. Estimated 2017 Colorado income tax — 4.63% of line 1							\$	00
3. Estimat	ed 2017 Colorad	\$	00					
4. Estimat	\$	00						
5. Total of lines 2, 3 and 4							\$	00
6. Estimated 2017 Form 104CR credits							\$	00
7. Line 5 I	minus line 6	\$	00					
8. Estimated 2017 Colorado withholding tax							\$	00
9. Net estimated tax, line 7 minus line 8							\$	00
Payment Number	Net Amount	t Due	2016 Overpayment Ap	plied	Payme	nt Due	Due Dates	
1	\$	00	\$	00	\$	00	April 18	
2	\$	00	\$	00	\$	00	June 15	
3	\$	00	\$	00	\$	00	September 15	
4	\$	00	\$	00	\$	00	January 16, 2018	

Round your payment to the nearest dollar. If paying by check, the amount on the check and the amount entered on the payment form must be the same. This will help maintain accuracy in your tax account. It is strongly recommended that estimated payments be submitted online at *www.Colorado.gov/RevenueOnline* or by EFT at *www.Colorado.gov/revenue/eft* to avoid problems or delays with the 2017 income tax return.

Due Dates: If the due date falls on a weekend or federal holiday, payment will be due the next business day.

DR 0104EP (09/21/16) COLORADO DEPARTMENT OF REVENUE Denver, CO 80261-0008 www.TaxColorado.com





# 2017 Colorado Estimated Income Tax Payment Form

#### DO NOT CUT – Return Full Page

DR 0104EP (06/02/16)		(0012)	)						
Return the DR 0104EP with check or money order payable to the Colorado Department of Revenue, Denver, Colorado 80261-0008. Write your Social Security number and "2017 DR 0104EP" on your check or money order. Do not send cash. Enclose, but do not staple or attach, your payment with this form. File only if you are making a payment of estimated tax and are unable to pay online or by EFT.									
SSN									
Your Last Name									
Your First Name		Middle Initi	al						
Spouse SSN									
Spouse Last Name									
Spouse First Name		Middle Initi	ial						
Address									
City									
State	ZIP								
f No Payment Is Due, Do Not File This Form. The State may convert your check to a one time electronic banking transaction. Your ank account may be debited as early as the same day received by the State. If converted, your check will not be returned. If your check is rejected due to insufficient or uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may collect the payment amount directly from your bank account electronically.		Amount of Payment							
		.00	)						

DO NOT CUT – Return Full Page