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A subtraction from federal taxable income is allowed to 

individuals for interest and other income earned on 

money in a first-time home buyer savings account, 

provided certain conditions are met. This publication is 

designed to provide general guidance regarding the 

subtraction and to supplement the guidance provided 

in the Colorado Individual Income Tax Guide. Nothing 

in this publication modifies or is intended to modify 

Colorado’s statutes and regulations authorizing these 

exemptions. Taxpayers are encouraged to consult their 

tax advisors for guidance regarding specific situations. 

First-time home buyer savings accounts 

Any individual may open a savings account and designate 

it, in its entirety, as a first-time home buyer savings 

account to pay or reimburse a qualified beneficiary's 

eligible expenses for the purchase of a primary 

residence in Colorado. The savings account may be 

opened with any of the following financial institutions: 

 a state bank,  

 a state trust company,  

 a savings and loan association,  

 a federally chartered credit union doing business 

in Colorado,  

 a credit union chartered by the state of Colorado,  

 a national bank,  

 a broker-dealer,  

 a mutual fund,  

 an insurance company, or  

 any other similar financial entity qualified to do 

business in the state of Colorado.  

An individual may be the account holder of multiple 

accounts, and an individual may jointly own the account 

with another person if they file a joint income tax return. 

Qualified beneficiary 

An account holder must designate a qualified beneficiary 

of the first-time home buyer savings account no later than 

April 15th of the year following the tax year during which 

the account is established. The account holder may 

designate himself or herself as the qualified beneficiary. 

The account holder may change the designated qualified 

beneficiary at any time, but there may not be more than 

one qualified beneficiary at any time. An account holder 

cannot have multiple accounts with the same qualified 

beneficiary, but an individual may be designated as the 

qualified beneficiary of multiple accounts. 

An individual may be designated as the qualified 

beneficiary of a first-time home buyer savings account 

only if either: 

 the individual has never owned or purchased under 

contract for deed, either individually or jointly, a 

single-family, owner-occupied primary residence, 

including, but not limited to, a condominium unit 

or a manufactured or mobile home that is assessed 

and taxed as real property; or 

 as a result of the individual's dissolution of marriage, 

the individual has not been listed on a property title 

for at least three consecutive years or more.  

Account limitations 

Several limitations apply to first-time home buyer 

savings accounts. 

 The maximum contribution an individual can make 

to an account during a tax year is $14,000. 

 The maximum contribution account holders who file 

a joint return can make to a first-time home buyer 

savings account during a tax year is $28,000. 

 The maximum amount of all contributions for all 

tax years to an account is $50,000. 

 The maximum total amount in an account is 

$150,000. 
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Eligible expenses 

Money withdrawn from a first-time home buyer savings 

account may be used to pay or reimburse a qualified 

beneficiary's eligible expenses for the purchase of a 

primary residence in Colorado. Any amounts withdrawn 

and used for any other purpose or withdrawn within a 

year since the first deposit was made to the account 

may be subject to recapture and penalty, as discussed 

later in this publication.  

Eligible expenses payable with money withdrawn from 

the account are a down payment and any closing costs 

included on a real estate settlement statement, 

including, but not limited to, appraisal fees, mortgage 

origination fees, and inspection fees.  

The money in the account may be: 

1) used for eligible expenses related to a qualified 

beneficiary's purchase of his or her primary 

residence in the state; 

2) used for eligible expenses related to a qualified 

beneficiary's purchase of his or her primary 

residence in or outside the state, if the qualified 

beneficiary is active-duty military and was 

stationed in Colorado for any time after the 

creation of the account; 

3) used for expenses that would have qualified under 

(1) or (2) above, but the contract for purchase did 

not close; 

4) transferred to another newly created first-time 

home buyer savings account; or 

5) used to pay a service fee that is deducted by the 

financial institution. 

The money in an account may be used or transferred as 

described above, regardless of whether the qualified 

beneficiary is the sole owner of the primary residence 

or the joint owner of the primary residence with 

another person who is not a qualified beneficiary. 

The money in a first-time home buyer savings account 

may not be used for the purchase of a manufactured or 

mobile home that is not taxed as real property. 

The account holder may not use money in an account 

to pay expenses of administering the account; except 

that a service fee may be deducted from the account 

by the financial institution.  

Documentation 

The account holder is responsible for maintaining 

documentation for the first-time home buyer savings 

account and for eligible expenses related to the qualified 

beneficiary's purchase of his or her primary residence. 

Subtraction 

A subtraction is allowed and may be claimed on the 

Colorado Subtractions from Income Schedule 

(DR 0104AD) for an amount equal to any interest and 

other income earned on the investment of the money 

in a first-time home buyer savings account during the 

tax year, to the extent such interest or other income is 

included in a taxpayer’s federal taxable income. To be 

eligible for the subtraction, an account holder must 

comply with all of the requirements established in 

section 39-22-4704, C.R.S. 

No subtraction is allowed for any interest or other income 

earned on the investment of money in an account after 

any of the following account limitations are exceeded: 

Limitation Amount 

Contributions made during any tax year by 
an individual account holder 

$14,000 

Contributions made during any tax year by 
account holders who file a joint return 

$28,000 

Total contributions made during all tax years $50,000 

Total amount in an account $150,000 
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Annual filing 

To be eligible for the subtraction, an account holder must 

annually file with his or her Colorado individual income 

tax return form DR 0350, First-time Home Buyer Savings 

Account Interest Deduction and copies of the IRS Form 

1099 for the account issued by the financial institution. 

Upon withdrawal, the account holder must also submit a 

real estate settlement statement that shows that the 

withdrawal was used for an eligible expense. 

Recapture 

Money withdrawn from a first-time home buyer savings 

account is subject to recapture in the tax year in which 

it is withdrawn if either: 

 at the time of the withdrawal, it has been less 

than a year since the first deposit was made in the 

first-time home buyer savings account; or 

 the money is used for any purpose other than 

those specified in the section of this publication 

titled Eligible expenses. 

If an amount withdrawn is subject to recapture, the 

account holder must enter the required amount as an 

“Other Addition” on the applicable line of the Colorado 

Individual Income Tax Return (Form 104). The amount 

that must be entered as an addition is calculated by 

multiplying the full amount withdrawn by a fraction, 

the numerator of which is the total amount claimed as 

a subtraction in all prior tax years and the denominator 

of which is the total amount in the account.   

If the account holder dies, then all of the money in the 

account that was subtracted from taxable income is 

subject to recapture in the tax year of their death. If 

the account is jointly owned and all account holders 

die, then all of the money in the account that was 

subtracted from taxable income is subject to recapture 

in the tax year of their deaths. 

Money may remain in a first-time home buyer savings 

account for an unlimited period of time without the 

interest or income being subject to recapture. 

Penalty 

In general, if any money is subject to recapture, the 

account holder must also pay a penalty in the same tax 

year as the recapture. However, the penalty does not 

apply if: 

 the money is used for eligible expenses related to 

a qualified beneficiary's purchase of his or her 

primary residence outside of the state; 

 the money is from a first-time home buyer savings 

account for which the qualified beneficiary dies 

and the account holder does not designate a new 

qualified beneficiary during the same taxable 

year; or 

 the recapture results from the death(s) of the 

account holder(s). 

The amount of the penalty depends, in part, on the 

amount of time between the first deposit in the 

account and the date of the withdrawal that is subject 

to recapture. 

 If the withdrawal was made ten or fewer years 

after the first deposit in the account, then the 

penalty is equal to 5% of the amount subject to 

recapture. 

 If the withdrawal was made more than ten years 

after the first deposit in the account, then the 

penalty is equal to 10% of the amount subject to 

recapture.  
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Additional resources 

The following is a list of statutes, regulations, forms, 

and guidance pertaining to the first-time home buyer 

savings account subtraction. This list is not, and is not 

intended to be, an exhaustive list of authorities that 

govern the tax treatment of every situation. Individuals 

and businesses with specific questions should consult 

their tax advisors. 

Statutes and regulations 

 § 39-22-4703, C.R.S. Definitions. 

 § 39-22-4704, C.R.S. First-time home buyer savings 

account. 

 § 39-22-4705, C.R.S. Eligible expenses – penalties 

for other uses. 

 § 39-22-4706, C.R.S. Forms. 

Forms and guidance 

 Tax.Colorado.Gov 

 First-time Home Buyer Savings Account Interest 

Deduction (DR 0350) 

 Subtractions from Income Schedule (DR 0104AD) 

https://tax.colorado.gov/

