Marijuana Sales Tax | Special Districts


Retail marijuana businesses in the affected special districts will resume collecting special district sales taxes on sales of retail marijuana and retail marijuana products beginning on either May 1, 2018 or July 1, 2018, which are mutually agreed upon dates between the Department of Revenue and each of the special districts. Here is an overview of the special districts and the effective dates:

Special districts that began to collecting tax on retail marijuana on May 1, 2018:

  • Gunnison Valley RTA
  • Montezuma HSD
  • Edwards Metro District
  • Summit MHA
  • Bachelors Gulch Metro District
  • Two Rivers Metro District

Special districts began to collecting tax on retail marijuana on July 1, 2018:

  • Regional Transportation District (RTD)
  • Scientific and Cultural Facilities District (SCFD)
  • San Miguel RTA
  • Pike Peak RTA
  • Roaring Fork RTS
  • Mt. Vernon Country Club Metro District