Colorado Cash Back
1

Colorado Cash Back

#FFFFFF

Colorado Cash Back Call Center

303-951-4996

Contact the call center for questions about your TABOR refund.
*Your refund status will not be available on the Revenue Online portal. 

#FFFFFF

About Colorado Cash Back

On May 23, 2022, Gov. Jared Polis signed a new law (Senate Bill 22-233) to give Coloradans a tax rebate of $750 for individual filers and $1,500 for joint filers this summer. This law will provide immediate relief to Coloradans by sending you a check this summer instead of spring of 2023, and we at the Colorado Department of Revenue are working hard to make sure that you get the right tax refund amount as soon as possible. 

If you've already filed your Colorado state income tax return, you're all set! You will receive your Colorado Cash Back check soon.

You must have filed your state return by October 17th, 2022 to have been eligible. 

Make sure you have a current and correct address on record with the Department, as the checks will be mailed to your last known address. If you need to update your address, you can either do so by logging into or creating an account on Revenue Online or by submitting a completed Address Change Form (DR 1102).

Filed your taxes, but haven't received your refund? Fill out and return this form. The mailing address is located at the bottom of the form

Open Embed
#FFFFFF

Frequently Asked Questions

Preguntas frecuentes en Español

Open Embed

We encourage individuals to go to a financial institution they have a relationship with. Some banks are seeing higher than usual volume at branch locations so mobile deposit through your phone or through an ATM are the preferred methods of cashing or depositing your check. If you need in-person service, you can visit your local bank's branch or any Wells Fargo location.

When cashing a check at Wells Fargo, please keep the following in mind:
-If your check was made out to two people, both people need to be present. 
-You will need two forms of ID: 

  • Primary ID must be a government-issued credential with a photo
  • Secondary ID must be an identification credential with your signature (i.e. signed credit card) 

The Taxpayer Bill of Rights (TABOR) in the Colorado Constitution limits the amount of revenue the state may retain and spend in each state fiscal year. Any revenue collected above this limit must be refunded to taxpayers unless voters authorize the state to retain it. The Colorado Cash Back check Coloradans will receive this year, or early in 2023, is a refund of state revenues collected above the TABOR limit in state fiscal year 2021-22.  By fixing the refund mechanism and because of Colorado’s strong economy, Gov. Polis and the legislature are giving people back their rebates ahead of schedule.

Senate Bill 22-233 directs the Department of Revenue (DOR) to refund at least $750 to each qualified individual (joint filers will receive a joint payment of at least $1,500). This refund will be paid based on the tax return or Property Tax/Rent/Heat Credit (PTC) Rebate application filed for 2021.

$750 for individual filers and $1,500 for joint filers

To receive Colorado Cash Back, an individual must meet the following criteria:

  • Be at least 18 years of age on or before December 31, 2021;
  • Be a Colorado resident for the entire 2021 income tax year;
  • And file a state income tax return for the 2021 income tax year or apply for a Property Tax/Rent/Heat Credit (PTC) Rebate. 

Anyone moving to Colorado in 2022 is not eligible for this refund mechanism.

If you qualify, and filed by June 30, 2022, then the refund will be issued by September 30, 2022. If you qualify and file a state income tax return by the October 17, 2022, extension deadline, the refund will be issued by January 31, 2023.

Colorado Cash Back is different from the Great Colorado Payback. Colorado Cash Back is a one-time refund of state revenue from state fiscal year 2021-22. 

The Great Colorado Payback is an ongoing program from the Department of the Treasury to help Coloradans locate their unclaimed property. For more information about the Great Colorado Payback, visit the Treasurer’s Unclaimed Property website.

Coloradans who filed an income tax return or a PTC application by June 30, 2022 will receive their Colorado Cash Back check by September 30, 2022. Extension filers, who have a deadline of October 17, 2022 to file their income tax return, will not receive the refund until after they file, and would receive it by January 31, 2023.

To receive Colorado Cash Back, an individual must meet the following criteria:

  • Be at least 18 years of age on or before December 31, 2021;
  • Be a Colorado resident for the entire 2021 income tax year;
  • And file a state income tax return for the 2021 income tax year or apply for a Property Tax/Rent/Heat Credit (PTC) Rebate. 

Anyone moving to Colorado in 2022 is not eligible for this refund mechanism.

If you were a full-year resident in 2021 and filed your state income tax return, (or, if applicable, your Property Tax/Rent/Heat Credit (PTC) Rebate application) by June 30, 2022, you'll still be eligible for Colorado Cash Back.

You can change your mailing address in two ways: If you have a Revenue Online account, you can do so online. If not, you may change your address by filling out and returning this form: Address Change Form (DR 1102).

Colorado Cash Back will be sent to the last known address on the 2021 tax return and payable to both individuals jointly. The Department of Revenue cannot split the refund.

The only way to obtain the Colorado Cash Back payment is to file a 2021 state income tax return, or apply for the Property Tax/Rent/Heat Credit (PTC) Rebate, by the statutory deadlines in order to receive this refund.

A 2021 state income tax return must be filed to receive Colorado Cash Back. This filing requirement is the same requirement for the existing TABOR refund of state sales tax. Many community groups, nonprofit organizations, and volunteer programs offer income tax filing assistance at low or no cost for individuals and families. For more information, visit the Community Tax Help web page.

If you did not file your PTC application by June 30, 2022, in order to qualify for the Colorado Cash Back rebate, you must file an Individual Income Tax Return form DR 0104, found here

Yes, a qualified taxpayer in this situation is eligible for the refund, if that individual meets other requirements. The Colorado Cash Back refund will be paid to extension filers by January 31, 2023.

Colorado law allows for an automatic six month extension for filing, unlike federal filing that requires you to proactively apply for extension by submitting a special form. If you have not filed a federal extension, you still have time to submit a Colorado tax return (without additional extension paperwork) by October 17 and receive Colorado Cash Back. If you are filing after June 30, 2022, the Colorado Cash Back refund will be sent to you by January 31, 2023.

The Department of Revenue will begin mailing checks at the beginning of August but recommend Coloradans wait until at least September 30 to allow time for processing and mailing before checking on their payment status.

No. To prevent fraud, all checks will be mailed to the last known address as identified on the 2021 tax return. You can change your address in two ways:

These checks are protected by positive pay. Positive pay is a standard banking safeguard that helps detect fraud by matching the company's issued check with the check presented for payment. If you suspect fraud or theft of your check, please reach out to the Department of Revenue. 

DOR will deduct any back taxes, debts owed to other state agencies, and any IRS levies from the refund. Once that deduction occurs, the balance, if any, will be refunded to the taxpayer.

Coloradans can get the most up-to-date information at coloradocashback.com.

You can also find more information about TABOR refunds at Tax.Colorado.gov/TABOR.

To receive Colorado Cash Back, an individual must meet the following criteria:

  • Be at least 18 years of age on or before December 31, 2021;
  • Be a Colorado resident for the entire 2021 income tax year;
  • And file a state income tax return for the 2021 income tax year (or on extension by October 17, 2022) or apply for a Property Tax/Rent/Heat Credit (PTC) Rebate. 

Anyone moving to Colorado in 2022 is not eligible for this refund mechanism.

In general, an individual is a Colorado resident if either:

  • the individual is domiciled in Colorado; or
  • the individual maintains a permanent place of abode in Colorado and spends, in aggregate, more than six months of the tax year in Colorado.

Tax Rule 39-22-103(8)(a) provides additional information and guidance about residency and domicile and how those rules apply to students, particularly subparagraph (2)(e) of this rule.

If you are a resident individual, you still must file a state income tax return for the 2021 tax year on or before June 30, 2022 (or on an extension by October 17, 2022) to receive the benefit. 

If you owe a past debt to a government agency, the refund could have been intercepted to satisfy the debt. 

Instances in which a refund could be intercepted include (but are not limited to): debts for child or spousal support; overpaid Aid to the Needy Disabled (AND); overpayment of unemployment benefits; judicial fines; judicial restitution; unpaid parking tickets; any unpaid interest, fees, or surcharges owed to the Department or any other government agency; or any other unpaid debt to a government agency.

Visit the Intercepted Refund web page for more information. 

You must complete and return form DR 1102 requesting a name change to the Department. You will need to enter your SSN or ITIN and prior name at the top of page 1, and then complete the blocks at the bottom of page 1 for a name change. Indicate that you are requesting a legal name change, enter your current or previous name as well as your new name, sign and date the form, and return it along with either: a copy of your state ID or driver’s license, social security card, marriage certificate, divorce decree, or court document showing your new name. We cannot process name change requests without one of the listed documents in order to confirm your identity.

You can email the form and relevant documents to DOR_taxapplications@state.co.us or mail to:

Colorado Department of Revenue
Taxpayer Service Center
PO Box 17087
Denver, CO 80217-0087

No. The Colorado Cash Back refund is not taxable. 

If you did not receive your Colorado Cash Back refund and believe you should have we encourage you to fill out this form and mail it to the address on the bottom of the form. Please ensure you include the required supporting documentation that is requested with the form  You can also call the Colorado Cash Back hotline 303-951-4996 for more information.