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Income-qualified seniors may claim a refundable housing tax 

credit on their 2022 Colorado income tax return. Anyone 

who claims the Senior Property Tax Exemption for 2022 does 

not qualify for the credit. The credit is allowed only for tax 

year 2022 and is not allowed for any other tax year. 

This publication is designed to provide general guidance 

regarding the income-qualified senior housing tax credit 

and to supplement the guidance provided in the Colorado 

Individual Income Tax Guide. Nothing in this publication 

modifies or is intended to modify Colorado’s statutes or 

regulations. Taxpayers are encouraged to consult their 

tax advisors for guidance regarding specific situations. 

Income-qualified seniors 

The credit is allowed to qualifying seniors who meet age 

and income requirements and who have not claimed a 

property tax exemption. To qualify, a taxpayer must 

satisfy all of the following requirements: 

➢ They must be either a full-year or part-year 

Colorado resident for tax year 2022; 

➢ They must be 65 years or older at the end of 2022; 

➢ Their federal adjusted gross income for tax year 

2022 must be $75,000 or less; and 

➢ They must not have claimed a property tax 

exemption for tax year 2022 under section 39-3-203, 

C.R.S., discussed later in this publication. 

Income-qualified seniors who satisfy all of the preceding 

requirements qualify for the credit regardless of 

whether they own their homes, rent their homes, or 

have other living arrangements. 

Property tax exemption under section 39-3-203 

Section 39-3-203, C.R.S., authorizes a partial property 

tax exemption, commonly known as the Senior Property 

Tax Exemption or the Senior Homestead Exemption. The 

partial exemption is allowed to qualifying seniors, their 

surviving spouses, and qualifying disabled veterans. Any 

senior, surviving spouse, or disabled veteran who claims 

the partial property tax exemption authorized by section 

39-3-203, C.R.S., may not claim the income-qualified 

senior housing tax credit. Information about the Senior 

Property Tax Exemption can be found online at 

agingstrategy.colorado.gov/sites/agingstrategy/files/A

pplication%20Form%20Senior%20Property%20Tax%20Exe

mption.pdf. 

Credit calculation 

The allowable credit depends on the qualifying senior’s 

filing status and federal adjusted gross income for the 

tax year. Specific credit amounts can be found in the 

2022 Individual Income Tax Booklet (DR 0104 Book) 

available online at Tax.Colorado.gov/2022-individual-

income-tax-forms.   

Single and joint filers 

The allowable credit is the same whether it is claimed 

by one taxpayer filing a single return or two taxpayers 

filing a joint return. The credit is $1,000 for qualifying 

seniors whose federal adjusted gross income for the tax 

year is less than $25,500. The amount of the allowable 

credit decreases proportionally (“phases out”) for 

qualifying seniors whose federal adjusted gross income 

is $25,500 or more, but not more than $75,000. 

Taxpayers whose federal adjusted gross income exceeds 

$75,000 do not qualify for the credit.  

https://tax.colorado.gov/individual-income-tax-guide
https://tax.colorado.gov/individual-income-tax-guide
https://agingstrategy.colorado.gov/sites/agingstrategy/files/Application%20Form%20Senior%20Property%20Tax%20Exemption.pdf
https://agingstrategy.colorado.gov/sites/agingstrategy/files/Application%20Form%20Senior%20Property%20Tax%20Exemption.pdf
https://agingstrategy.colorado.gov/sites/agingstrategy/files/Application%20Form%20Senior%20Property%20Tax%20Exemption.pdf
https://tax.colorado.gov/2022-individual-income-tax-forms
https://tax.colorado.gov/2022-individual-income-tax-forms
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Married filing separately 

In the case of two taxpayers who share the same primary 

residence and who may legally file a joint return but 

actually file separate returns, both taxpayers may claim 

the credit, provided they satisfy all of the requirements 

for income-qualified seniors discussed earlier in this 

publication. The allowable credit is $500 if their federal 

adjusted gross income is less than $25,500. The amount 

of the allowable credit decreases proportionally 

(“phases out”) for qualifying seniors whose federal 

adjusted gross income is $25,500 or more, but not more 

than $75,000. Taxpayers whose federal adjusted gross 

income exceeds $75,000 do not qualify for the credit.  

Claiming the credit 

Qualifying seniors may claim the credit on their Colorado 

Individual Income Tax Return (DR 0104). A completed 

and Individual Credit Schedule (DR 0104CR) must be 

submitted with the return to claim the credit. If the 

allowable credit exceeds the qualifying senior’s tax 

liability, the excess credit will be refunded to them.  

Additionally, the Department will evaluate any filed 

Colorado Property Tax/Rent/Heat Rebate Application 

(DR 0104PTC) to determine if the applicant qualifies for 

the credit. If the Department can verify the applicant’s 

eligibility for both the tax/rent/heat rebate and the 

income-qualified senior housing tax credit, the 

Department will issue the applicant a refund for the 

credit. If the applicant is a qualifying senior, but the 

Department cannot verify their eligibility for the credit 

based on the rebate application (DR 0104PTC), the 

qualifying senior may file a Colorado Individual Income 

Tax Return (DR 0104) along with an Individual Credit 

Schedule (DR 0104CR) to claim the credit. 

Additional resources 

The following is a list of statutes, regulations, forms, and 

guidance pertaining to the income-qualified senior 

housing tax credit. This list is not, and is not intended to 

be, an exhaustive list of authorities that govern the tax 

treatment of every situation. Individuals and businesses 

with specific questions should consult their tax advisors. 

Statutes and regulations 

⮚ § 39-22-544, C.R.S. Credit against tax - qualifying 

seniors.  

Forms and guidance 

⮚ Colorado.gov/Tax 

⮚ Tax.Colorado.gov/2022-individual-income-tax-

forms 

⮚ Colorado Individual Income Tax Return (DR 0104) 

⮚ Individual Credit Schedule (DR 0104CR) 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/tax
https://tax.colorado.gov/2022-individual-income-tax-forms
https://tax.colorado.gov/2022-individual-income-tax-forms

