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For income tax year commencing on or after January 1,
2024, but before January 1, 2027, employers may claim
a credit for contributions they make to their
employees’ qualifying home savings accounts.
Employees may claim a subtraction for employer
contributions to their accounts, to the extent those
employer contributions are included in the employee’s
federal taxable income. Both the credit and the
subtraction are subject to recapture under certain
circumstances.

This publication is designed to provide general
guidance regarding employer contributions to home
savings accounts and to supplement guidance provided
in the Colorado Individual Income Tax Guide and the
Colorado Corporate Income Tax Guide. Nothing in this
publication modifies or is intended to modify the
requirements of Colorado’s statutes and regulations.
Taxpayers are encouraged to consult their tax advisors
for guidance regarding specific situations.

Qualifying home savings accounts

Employers who establish qualifying home savings
accounts must develop policies for the accounts,
including procedures for each of the following:

> employer contributions;

> employee contributions the employer withholds
from their earnings; and

employee withdrawals for eligible expenses.

Y

Employer credit

Any employer with one or more employees in Colorado
may establish one or more qualifying home savings
accounts for their employees. Employees may use funds
deposited in their accounts for eligible expenses in
connection with their purchase of a property for their
primary resident. Eligible expenses are any down payment
and any closing costs included on a real estate settlement
statement, including but not limited to appraisal fees,
mortgage origination fees, and inspection fees.

Employers may make contributions to their employees’
accounts. Additionally, employees may authorize an
employer to withhold and deposit in their account a
portion of their earnings.

For any income tax year commencing on or after
January 1, 2024, but before January 1, 2027, an income
tax credit is allowed to any employer that makes a
monetary contribution to an employee’s qualifying
home savings account during the income tax year.
Subject to multiple limitations, the credit is equal to
5% of the amount of the employer contribution. An
employer cannot claim a credit of more than $5,000 for
any one employee or a total credit of more than
$500,000 for any tax year.

Required recordkeeping

An employer that claims a credit must keep records
related to the credit. Notwithstanding any other
requirements of the department, records maintained
by an employer must show:

» the number of employees to whom the employer
made employer contributions in the tax year;

» the amount the employer contributed to each
employee during the tax year;

» the number of employees who expended money
from a savings account during the tax year for
eligible expenses for a home purchase; and

» the total amount of any employer contributions
that an employee has forfeited during the tax year
as described later in this publication.

Revised April 2024


https://tax.colorado.gov/individual-income-tax-guide
https://tax.colorado.gov/corporate-income-tax-guide

Income Tax Topics: Employer Contributions to Home Savings Accounts

COLORADO

Department of Revenue
Taxation Division

Lo

Credit carryforward

If the amount of the credit allowed exceeds the
amount of income taxes otherwise, the amount of the
credit that exceeds the tax may be carried forward to
the following tax year. Credits may be carried forward
up to five years but must be applied first to the earliest
income tax year possible. Any credit remaining after
the period may not be refunded or credited to the
employer.

Employee subtraction

The employer must repay the entire amount of the
credit previously claimed for employer contributions to
the account. The recapture of the prior year credits
must be reported on the applicable line of the
employer’s return.

The employee must report as an “other addition” on
their Colorado return the full amount of employer
contributions that the employee previously subtracted
on prior years’ returns.

Additional resources

For tax years 2024 through 2026, individuals may claim
a subtraction for any employer contribution received
from the employer and included in the employee’s
federal taxable income. Employees may not claim any
subtraction for contributions they make to their own
accounts.

Recapture

Both the credit claimed by the employer and the
subtraction claimed by the employee are subject to
recapture in the following circumstances:

» the employee ends their employment with the
employer; or

» the employee uses the money they contributed to
the account for something other than an eligible
expense.

In either of these situations, the employee forfeits all
of the employer contributions made to the account
along with any interest earned thereon. The employer
must disburse to the employee any remaining amount
of employee contributions in the account plus any
interest earned thereon.

The following is a list of statutes, regulations, forms,
and guidance pertaining to employer contributions to
qualifying home savings accounts. This list is not, and is
not intended to be, an exhaustive list of authorities
that govern the tax treatment of every situation.
Individuals and businesses with specific questions
should consult their tax advisors.

Statutes and regulations
> §39-22-558, C.R.S. Tax credit for employer’s

contribution to employee for eligible expenses in
connection with a qualifying home purchase.

Forms and guidance

> Tax.Colorado.gov

> Colorado Individual Income Tax Guide

> Colorado Corporate Income Tax Guide
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