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For tax years 2022 through 2025, early childhood
educators who satisfy certain statutory requirements
may claim a refundable credit on their Colorado income
tax return. The credit is allowed only to individuals
whose federal adjusted gross income does not exceed
certain limitations. If the credit allowed exceeds the
taxpayer’s Colorado tax liability, the excess credit is
refunded to the taxpayer.

This publication is designed to provide general guidance
regarding the early childhood educator credit and is
intended to supplement guidance provided in the
Colorado Individual Income Tax Guide. Nothing in this
publication modifies or is intended to modify the
requirements of Colorado’s statutes and regulations.
Taxpayers are encouraged to consult their tax advisors
for guidance regarding specific situations.

Eligible early childhood educators

An early childhood educator must meet all the following
requirements relating to credentialing, qualifying
licensure or employment, and income limitations to
qualify for the credit.

Early childhood professional credentials

The eligible childhood educator must hold an early
childhood professional credential issued by the
Department of Early Childhood. The credential must
designate them as an Early Childhood Professional I, I,
I, 1V, V, or VI. They must hold the professional
credential for at least part of the income tax year for
which the credit is claimed. Additional information
about credentialing can be found online
atCDEC. Colorado.gov/professional-certifications .

Qualifying licensure or employment

The early childhood educator must be either the
licensee of an eligible program or be employed by an
eligible program for at least six months of the income

tax year for which the credit is claimed. Eligible
programs for purposes of the early childhood educator
credit can be either of the following:

> licensed childcare programs that provide
childcare and education to children five years of
age or younger; or

> licensed family childcare homes.

Eligible programs must be licensed by the Department of
Early Childhood, Division of Early Learning Licensing and
Administration, and must have held at least a level one
quality rating pursuant to the Colorado Shines Quality
Rating and Improvement System for the income tax year
for which the credit is claimed. Additional information
about eligible programs and ratings can be found online
at Coloradoshines.com/programs.

Income limitations

An individual may claim the credit only if their adjusted
gross income (AGI) for the tax year does not exceed the
following limits:

Income Limitations

| Filing Status | AGI Limitation |

Single $75,000

Joint $150,000

If the taxpayer’s AGI exceeds these limitations, they
may not claim the early childhood educator credit.
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Allowable credit

The amount of credit an eligible early childhood
educator may claim is based on the level of early
childhood professional credential they hold during the
tax year and the tax year for which the credit is claimed.
The credit amounts for tax years after 2022 are adjusted
for inflation.

Credit Amounts Based on Credential Level and Tax Year

Tax Year | Tax Year | Tax Year

ial Level
Credential Leve 2022 2023 2024

Professional | $750 $850 $852

Professional Il $1,000 $1,080 $1,136

Professional lll,

IV, V or VI $1,500 | $1,620 | $1,705

Each eligible early childhood educator is only allowed
one credit per income tax year. If two taxpayers filing
jointly are both eligible early childhood educators, they
may both claim the credit on their return.

If an early childhood educator earns early childhood
professional credentials at multiple levels in the same
year, the credit is based on the highest early childhood
professional credential obtained during the income tax
year. For example, if an individual holds a level Il
credential for most of the year and attains a level lll
credential within the same tax year, they may claim the
credit for the level Il credential.

Claiming the credit

If two taxpayers filing jointly are both eligible early
childhood educators, they must each complete the
applicable section of the DR1703 attesting to their
eligibility for the credit.

Forms and instructions are available online at
Tax.Colorado.gov/individual-income-tax-forms.

Refund for excess credit

If the amount of the early childhood educator credit
exceeds the taxpayer’s Colorado tax liability, the excess
credit will be refunded to the taxpayer.

Additional resources

Eligible early childhood educators must file a Colorado
Individual Income Tax Return (DR 0104) with both of the
following attachments to claim the credit:

> Individual Credit Schedule (DR 0104CR)

> Early Childhood Educator Income Tax Credit (DR 1703)

The following is a list of statutes, regulations, forms, and
guidance pertaining to the early childhood educator
credit. This list is not, and is not intended to be, an
exhaustive list of authorities that govern the tax
treatment of every situation. Individuals with specific
questions should consult their tax advisors.

Statutes and regulations

> §39-22-547, C.R.S. Early childhood educator
income tax credit.

> §26.5-2-202, C.R.S. Definitions.

> §26.5-5-303, C.R.S. Definitions.
Forms and guidance

» Colorado.gov/Tax

> Individual Credit Schedule (DR 0104CR)

> Early Childhood Educator Income Tax Credit (DR 1703)
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