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An employer who contributes to an employee’s 529 

qualified state tuition program account with 

CollegeInvest may claim a credit on their income tax 

return.   

This publication is designated to provide general 

guidance regarding the 529 employer contribution credit 

and is intended to supplement guidance provided in the 

Colorado Individual Income Tax Guide. Nothing in this 

publication modifies or is intended to modify the 

requirements of Colorado’s statutes and regulations. 

Taxpayers are encouraged to consult their tax advisors 

for guidance regarding specific situations. 

Qualifying taxpayers 

The credit for contributions to a 529 college savings plan 

is allowed only to employers doing business in the state. 

Please see Part 1 of the Corporate Income Tax Guide for 

assistance in determining whether an employer is doing 

business in Colorado. The employer may be a C 

corporation, S corporation, partnership, or sole 

proprietorship.   

Any taxpayer who is not an employer may not claim a 

credit for contributions they make to a 529 college 

savings plan. Individuals, estates, and trusts who make 

contributions may be able to claim a subtraction for 

their contributions. For additional information, please 

see Department Publication Income Tax Topics: 529 

Contribution Subtraction, available online at 

Tax.Colorado.gov/guidance-publications. 

Qualifying contributions 

The credit is allowed for contributions that meet all the 

following requirements:  

⮚ The contribution is made by the employer. 

⮚ The contribution is made to a 529 college savings 

plan with CollegeInvest.  

⮚ The account owner is an employee of the taxpayer. 

⮚ The contribution is made in an income tax year 

commencing on or after January 1, 2019, but 

prior to January 1, 2032.     

Qualifying accounts 

The credit is allowed only for contributions made to a 

qualified state tuition program account with 

CollegeInvest. Information about qualified state tuition 

programs, also known as 529 college savings plans, can 

be found online at www.collegeinvest.org.  

The credit is not allowed for a contribution made to any 

qualified state tuition program or 529 plan administered 

in a state other than Colorado. 

Qualifying employees 

The credit is allowed only for contributions made to an 

account owned by an employee of the employer making 

the contribution. An employee is any person in the 

employment of an employer for salary or for hourly 

wages, whether full-time or part-time and whether 

temporary or permanent. 

Account beneficiaries 

Every qualified state tuition program account with 

CollegeInvest must have a designated beneficiary. The 

credit is allowed irrespective of the named beneficiary 

of the account if the account owner is the employee.  

https://tax.colorado.gov/corporate-income-tax-guide
https://tax.colorado.gov/guidance-publications
http://www.collegeinvest.org/
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Calculating the credit  

In general, the allowable credit is equal to 20% of the 

contribution(s) made by the employer during the tax 

year. However, the maximum credit an employer may 

claim for each employee in a taxable year is $500.  

For example, if an employer contributed $3,000 during 

the tax year to an account owned by an employee, the 

allowable credit would be $500, rather than $600 

($3,000 x 20%), as the result of the limitation. No credit 

may be claimed, for either the current or any 

subsequent tax year, for any credit otherwise calculated 

in excess of this limit. 

Credit carryforward 

The credit cannot be transferred or refunded but can be 

carried forward on the employer’s income tax return for 

a period of up to three years if the available credit 

exceeds the income tax liability for the year in which 

the contribution is made. If any credit remains 

unclaimed past the three-year carryforward period, it 

will expire and will no longer be available as a credit 

towards income tax.  

Claiming the credit 

Employers who make qualifying contributions may claim 

the credit by filing form DR0289, Employer 

Contributions to Employee 529 Qualified State Tuition 

Program with their Colorado income tax return. 

Employers claiming the credit must also complete and 

submit the appropriate credit schedule (e.g., form DR 

0104CR, DR 0112CR, etc.) with their return. 

In the case of an employer that is a partnership or an S 

corporation, the credit passes through to the partners or 

shareholders. The partners and shareholders may claim 

their share of the credit by completing and submitting 

the form DR 0289 and the appropriate credit schedule 

with their Colorado income tax return. 

An individual who is an employer, either as a sole-

proprietor or as a partner or shareholder in a partnership 

or S corporation, cannot claim both a credit and a 

subtraction for the same contribution.  

Additional resources 

The following is a list of statutes, regulations, forms, and 

guidance pertaining to the 529 employer contribution 

credit. This list is not, and is not intended to be, an 

exhaustive list of authorities that govern the tax 

treatment of every situation. Individuals and businesses 

with specific questions should consult their tax advisors. 

Statutes and regulations 

⮚ § 39-22-539 C.R.S. Credit for employer 

contributions to employee 529 qualified state 

tuition programs 

Forms and guidance 

⮚ Colorado.gov/Tax 

⮚ Employer Contributions to Employee 529 

Qualified State Tuition Program (DR0289) 

⮚ Income Tax Topics: 529 Contribution Subtraction 

https://www.colorado.gov/pacific/tax

